We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western San Marcos Inn
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Very clean. great value. Quiet. Super close to the "main" street. Has a free wine and cheese thing from 5-7 every evening. decent free breakfast. No AC in the rooms, but the fan and leaving the sliding door open works fine since it's always cool there. Will definently stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alicia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Best Western San Marcos Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you for sharing your pleasant experience with us. We definitly had some warm weather for a few days. We look forward to seeing you again.

Pleasant journeys,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (545)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 545 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

We spent a couple of weeks touring west coast in various motels & this one had the most helpful reception staff of all. We turned up out of the blue on labour day weekend & they bent over backwards to help us & offered us a room. We checked out a few other motels in the area before accepting and the free wine & cheese (5pm to 7pm) was the bonus that swung it for us. What we did not know was that if you stay 3 or more nights you can be offered a 30% discount so 3 nights virtually for the price of two, A previous review mentions the fact the reception was closed and this is because it closes between 11pm & 7am so if you are expecting to get there then take note of the management response. We had no problems parking & the hotel was full ( that's labour day weekend for you). Breakfast was more than adequate with as much as you can eat with hot & cold selections. The lack of AC may be a problem in the sea view rooms but we had a back room on a hot weekend & did not even resort to the ceiling fan. Reception staff will also provide extra fans on request. The rooms were a good size with a good size fridge too & we slept well. The spa pool was big enough for 3 swimming strokes & we had it to ourselves most days. The location is very good with just a short walk downhill to morro bay promenade where there are plenty of restaurants or a short walk uphill to the main street where there are cafes, take aways & liquor/food shops. You can also catch the tram bus when it runs ( poss only weekends) just along the street & there are 3 routes. One along the beach, another up to the park & a third that will take you north down route 1.
We chose Morro Bay over Pismo Beach because it was a little cheaper & I thought it would be a bit quieter but it was a bit too quiet for me which is why the hotel got 4 not 5 stars. To give an example of how good the staff were, I had trouble getting the TV to work one night & one of the girls came up to the room immediately & tried her best to get it working including calling the manageress. When that failed they gave us the keys to another room.but two minutes later after fiddling some more we got the TV working so did not have to use the other room. We saw her the next day off duty in a local shop & she was still apologising. The manageress also did the same. How often do you get reception in a hotel trying to fix tour tele? I can recommend this place & if you spend an hour drinking the free wine & eating cheese each evening you will know why it hits the spot.

Room Tip: Non sea view rooms are cheaper, quieter & the sea views are not that spectacular due to building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Best Western San Marcos Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us and others know how your stay with us was. We continually work at upgrading every aspect of our inn so we can provide all our guests with a wonderful experience here in Morro Bay. We look forward to seeing you again.
Happy travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We live in the Los Angeles area, and were driving to San Franciso, with a mid-point one night stay at this hotel.
Having paid for the night in advance, my wife and I (both retirees; she with heart issues) both arrived to the hotel late at night. It was after midnight.
The hotel looks different, smaller in person. There is a small office at the front , where the lights were turned off. We could not see anyone at the counter.
The MAIN PROBLEM for us, was that THERE WAS NO AVAILABLE PARKING ANYWHERE. Not even street parking. Neither at the VERY LIMITED, INSUFFICIENT parking at the hotel proper, nor street parking nearby. ALL parking spaces were occupied.
We drove around the block where this hotel is located, several times, looking for nearby street parking. No parking space to be found.
The ONLY possible parking spot (if one could call it that) we found was a ONE spot at the curb,
partially occupied by trash bins, placed there, evidently for pickup the following morning. We were not about to park our car there.
Since we WERE NOT ABOUT TO park blocks away and walk back to the hotel at that time of night, (possibly 1:00A.M.) dragging our luggage, and hoping that we could raise some employee at the small front office, we decided to leave..
We noticed that on the side of this hotel where there are sliding glass doors (?) that several of those were open and we could hear people laughing.
WE DID NOT PAY IN ADVANCE FOR A HOTEL WITH VERY INSUFFICIENT PARKING, AND A NOISY AMBIANCE! THIS WAS ON AMONDAY AT AROUND 1:00 A.M.
As I say ,we decided to leave, and continue our trip.
We had decided to divide our trip from Los Angeles to San Ffrancisco into two segments.
We had done this because of my wife's and my health.
We were UNABLE TO STAY AT THIS HOTEL AFTER HAVING PAID FOR THAT NIGHT.
Upon returnin home in Los Angeles, we received an email from Best Western asking us for an evaluation of our experience at his hotel
We responded - of course - in very negative terms. WE EXPLAINED WHY,IN DETAIL.
We received a second eMail, stating that they were "sorry" that we were dissatisfied with this "experience".
We were also told that our payment was NON-REFUNDABLE, EVEN THOUGH WE DID NOT ACTUALLY SLEEP THERE, BECAUSE OF THE REASONS EXPLAINED!
We were also told that they have "NO CONTROL" over noisy guests.

We have stayed at MANY hotels in the U.S. and abroad. Including several Best Westerns througout California..
WE HAVE NEVER FOUND A SITUATION AND ATTITUDE LIKE THIS.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
4  Thank RetiredEngineer98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Best Western San Marcos Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

The Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn has a front desk agent at the desk until 11:00 pm. We also provide outside lock boxes for any guests that may be arriving late with a note on the front door with instructions for late arrivals. We have enough parking spaces to accomodate all our rooms with a few extra actually. We would never say we have "No Control" over noisy guests as we have an on-site manager specifically for those and other issues that may arise. That number is also posted on the front door. Our on-site manager would have been happy to help in any way possible with the parking situation had they been notified.

Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We found this hotel by chance and liked it so much we stayed two more nights! The staff here was very welcoming and friendly, the rooms were clean, the view was great and the location was even better (only 2 blocks from the waterfront). I also enjoyed all the natural light and REAL plants throughout the hotel. The free breakfast was pretty standard. There were two cons. First, the original pillows in the room were too firm for my taste but I just had to request softer ones. Two, the water pressure in the shower was terrible but to their defense they had someone working on it while we were there).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridget H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Best Western San Marcos Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to let us know what you thought of your stay. We were happy to read of your pleasant experience. Come back for our complimentary wine and cheese every evening from 5 - 7 pm.

Happy travels,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed here on a motorcycle trip. They are biker friendly. Rooms are older and could be update but the beds were fairly comfortable. There is no AC but it cools off enough at night to make it comfortable. The hotel is a block from downtown with many places for food and drink. The rock is easily walkable from the hotel and the new wine country in Paso Robles is a short drive. The indoor hottub is huge but it is not a pool. The wine and cheese hour is a nice touch and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mds100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Best Western San Marcos Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thank you so much for the nice review of your stay. We are biker friendly, we have a group that comes from New Zealand every year. We look forward to seeing you again.

Ride safe,

Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This hotel was one block from the waterfront and shops which was very nice. The hotel room was on the small side, but very clean. The interior hallway was rather noisy in the morning with guests, cleaning staff, and a water fountain. Nice breakfast in the morning. Stay over all was average.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Beth Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Best Western San Marcos Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Glad to hear you enjoyed our deluxe continental breakfast. Come back for our complimentary wine and cheese served every evening from 5-7pm.

Best regards,
Best Western Plus San Marcos inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

My husband and I decided on a monday morning to drive to Morro Bay. We didn't have a place to stay and with a baby on the way we didn't want to pay $200 to stay one night somewhere. So we stopped by the Best Western since its 1 block away from Embarcadero where you can find endless amounts of shops and restaurants. Sue was so nice she helped with giving us a great price on our room with a ocean view/balcony and a king sized bed.
We found the room to be clean, spacious and accommodating with a microwave and a refrigerator. The spa was so nice to soak your tired feet in from walking around all day. And cable/movie channels to watch late at night. They did offer a wine and cheese happy hour as well as a hot breakfast but we didn't attend either. But both looked amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with wifi capable some are hardwired. Also get a room with a balcony view its worth i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Best Western San Marcos Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Thank you for the lovely review. Try our expanded deluxe continental breakfast and our complimentary wine and cheese on your next trip to the coast.

Happy travels,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
707 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
663 reviews
0.4 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
866 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
460 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Serena Inn
La Serena Inn
#13 of 29 in Morro Bay
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western San Marcos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western San Marcos Inn

Address: 250 Pacific St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2261 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#16 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range: $81 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western San Marcos Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western San Marcos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus San Marcos Hotel Morro Bay
Best Western Morro Bay
Morro Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing