We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great customer service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN El Rancho

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN El Rancho
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Mariposa, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great customer service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

This is an older motel and I was a little surprised it was part of the Best Western chain. The bed was fine. The remote control was sanitized. The grounds and room were clean. The front office staff gets give stars. The location is good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzette p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have many new updates for our older property, such as new granite vanities in all of our bathrooms. We hope that you come and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    181
    71
    27
    30
See reviews for
161
240
32
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Leandro, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

I would recommend staying at the Best Western El Rancho at Morro Bay. We will continue staying anytime we are in the area and planned holidays at the Central coast. We especially enjoy using the outdoor amenities, ie. pool and bbq. The heated pool was incredible and relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank DebraMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
We are so happy that you had a nice stay with us and that you enjoyed all of our outdoor amenities! We do have a great patio area for outdoor dinning and the 2 BBQs for outdoor cooking. We do hope that you come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

There is no better hotel in the BW chain then this hotel. They do everything right at this property, and the customer service is superior, from the manager, right down to the staff. They always have decorative themes set up based on the time of year, the rooms are clean and comfortable, as well as priced right, and the breakfast is amazing. You won't find a better hotel, so save yourself the time and trouble and book at this property, you will be glad that you did. I can't wait to get back to my fav place, Morro Bay, and my fav hotel as well. Thanks to everyone at the hotel for making our stay this time around even better then usual. G&J

Room Tip: So far every room that we have stayed in has been great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stern4422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
G and J we were so thrilled that you were back to visit us again! We love having our guest come back! It is like family has come to visit. We hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Very quaint hotel. It appears that the place has recently been updated. The room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. The staff was great. They had a big selection of DVD's to check out overnight at no additional charge. I will definitely return to this little gem

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed visiting us in Morro Bay! We do have a DVD player in every room and are glad that you were able to enjoy one of our many DVDs to watch in the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Front desk staff was friendly and helpful but the window lock was broken. Hotel staff made a temporary repair for us right away. We were in a room directly adjacent (20 feet) to the neighboring Mexican restaurant from which the exhaust directly blew towards our room. Our room was one of the farthest from the hotel office. Not sure why were were put in that far off room since there were very few cars in the hotel parking lot.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 999amym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was not all that you were hoping it would be. We are glad that the window lock was handled to your satisfaction and we apologize for any inconvenience that it may have caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, California
Level Contributor
370 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

So hubby and I wanted to stay in Paso Robles to attend a winery dinner tonight (Saturday, April 12, 2014). No rooms available. No rooms in Atascadero. So Hello Morro Bay!

I made reservations at the Best Western El Rancho, based on it's good Tripadvisor reviews.

We arrived, and were greeted by a very friendly staffer, Caroline. The lobby houses an adorable breakfast area for the complimentary continental breakfast, which we'll enjoy in the morning.

We were really impressed with some of the amenities in the small, but adequate room: Fridge, Coffee maker, Microwave. Remote control in a "fresh remote" bag, with a hand sanitizer packet!)

Nice hand soap, and real ceramic coffee cups! So many hotels just have plastic these days. All things I wasn't expecting. And a TripAdvisor card, with a link taking you to a fresh page to write your review. I've never seen a hotel do that, so since I love to write Tripadvisor reviews, It was a nice shortcut. And a 20% discount next time for posting a review!

The queen bed has nice linens, the room is freshly painted, with pleasing art on the walls. Out the window is a view of the bay and Morro Rock (from our room #302, $150.00 with tax. Yes, Best Western El Rancho, you have exceeded my expectations!

Room Tip: The 300s have a view of Morro Rock.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank astrojane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
We are so glad that they didn't have room for you in Paso Robles and that you got to stay with us instead! We are pleased that you enjoyed all of our extra room amenities that we have standard in all of our rooms. We hope that you come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert CA, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Great place to stay in a excellent location with ocean views. Would stay again for sure. Very nice rooms & very clean. Close to all restaurants. Some within walking distance. Breakfast was very good& had everything you need to start your day.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Kelly we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
#8 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
2.5 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
1.2 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN El Rancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN El Rancho

Property: BEST WESTERN El Rancho
Address: 2460 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-1552
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Morro Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN El Rancho 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN El Rancho!Escape to this Morro Bay, California hotel offering comfortable and affordable accommodations near Hearst Castle, Morro Bay Beach and Cal Poly University. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN El Rancho where guests will receive personalized customer service, quiet accommodations. Newly refurbished, this California Best Western hotel offers convenient access to many local attractions, shopping and dining options in and around Morro Bay. Guests staying at this Morro Bay hotel will enjoy single story accommodations with well-appointed guest rooms featuring cable television, coffee maker, refrigerator, microwave, iron and ironing board and free high-speed Internet access. Dining is made easy with the hotel's complimentary breakfast and a restaurant right across the parking lot as well as 2 patios for our guests' use. The outdoor heated swimming pool(SEASONAL) provides a great place for guests to unwind and refresh.enjoy the sunset view from our garden area. For added convenience, the BEST WESTERN El Rancho offers large vehicle parking.There is no better lodging choice than the BEST WESTERN El Rancho when visiting Morro Bay. Located midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, guests at the hotel will have convenient access to a variety of area attractions including views of the Pacific Ocean. Spend an afternoon touring nearby Hearst Castle or San Luis Obispo Mission, exploring Morro Bay Rock, biking or hiking through Morro Bay State Park or enjoying some beach fun at Atascadero State park. Cal Poly University and Cuesta College are both located close by making the BEST WESTERN El Rancho ideal lodging when touring the campus or visiting friends. The caring staff at the AAA-3 Diamond BEST WESTERN El Rancho is ready to ensure an enjoyable stay in Morro Bay, California. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN El Rancho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western El Rancho Hotel Morro Bay
Best Western Morro Bay
Morro Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing