We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best westen at Morro Bay Ca.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN El Rancho

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN El Rancho
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
sanfrancisco
2 reviews
“Best westen at Morro Bay Ca.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

clean comfortable room at an affordable price. breakfast was minimal with weak coffee. the location was great, ocean view. grounds well kept. dinning area was cramped. I will continue to stay at Best western Hotels, always clean.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank mariasG7601KT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Best Western El Rancho. We are working on a better brew of coffee! One of the great features of our grounds is the many areas to sit outside to eat. We have trays available to take your breakfast outside to enjoy on one of the patios. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    181
    71
    27
    27
See reviews for
156
237
32
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

We usually look to Best Western first when searching for motor inns on our leisure travel. We've learned that the consistency that we find in almost all BWs is important. And since most are pet-friendly, we've noted those that fit our travel needs. This is the 4th stay at this BW and won't likely be the last unless our travels don't take us to Morro Bay. Each member of the staff we've met has been overly friendly and helpful. The property is not the newest of the BWs, but has clearly had a careful hand in refurbishment. The décor is in keeping with the coastal setting, and the lobby seasonal and holiday-specific decorations (very cool Halloween on this stay) are really cute, with even an album with the collection of those decorations in the lobby. It's a small, one-story facility well located near the US101. Highway noise may bother some that are particularly sensitive, but never has been a problem for us. The pet-friendly rooms have a sweet little greeting for the pets, complete with a bed-throw if four-legs uses the bed, information on local veterinarians, dog-parks, and current pet events (oh and forgot the bag of doggie biscuits. There are certainly fancier BWs, but this is a realy great price value and very clean, friendly, and bright.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope that your four-legged friend had a good time as well. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Most of the accommodation in Morro Bay area are very basic and this Best Western is no exception. We had a king bed room and it was reasonably clean and cozy. The room wasn't terribly huge but should be spacious enough for most. The bed was comfortable but the pillows lacked support. Bathroom is definitely on the small size. Even with just a shower and a sink with very little counter space, there wasn't a lot of room to move around.

Front desk staff was friendly. The breakfast room is fairly small but you can sit outside if weather is pleasant. The motel is directly facing the highway so don't expect a fantastic view. Beach access and the rock is just a short drive away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Verlisia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We have done our best to work with the building as it was built in the 50's .. We try to create a real home away from home atmosphere. Thank you for taking time to review our property. Good luck in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

I visited my daughters and their families which it had been a number of years since seeing them. The weather was perfect and my accomodations made me feel right at home. Seeing and being with them was beyond words. The only disappoitments: one flight was cancelled and quickly replaced with a new flight and one flight was late arriving which caused me to miss the connection, but a new flight brought me home the next day. It was indeed.. a trip to Heaven.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We are always thrilled to hear about our satisfied guests. Please come and visit again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Cute décor, decorations and outstanding staff. Upon check in the young lady could not have been more helpful or patient. The rooms looks very nice and were clean. This year the pool had water in it however we were told the heater was not working. Also, if you want a bathtub you are out of luck. These rooms only have showers.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Christrina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our little home away from home. We appreciate your feedback. We would however like to suggest that on your next trip you might consider booking one of our rooms with two queen beds they do have tubs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We always enjoy staying at this hotel. It is not right downtown in Morro Bay but we see that as an advantage in that we are away from most of the other tourists. There is a great access to the ocean which is just a short drive across the highway--usually the beach is deserted. The staff is especially friendly and the hotel was nicely decorated for Halloween. There are lots of seats outside to enjoy the views.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We are always thankful for our many return guests. Please come and visit us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

I thought the price of this Motel was a little over priced. The photos lead you to believe its located close to the rock, there is actually a busy freeway in between. On check in there was a mix up and a smokers room had been booked. Walking into the room the smell of smoke was so strong it was impossible to breath. The lady was helpful enough to come in and spray the room, it did nothing to take the smell away. I did ask if we could be moved to another room and there apprantley this could not be done. We did not bring in any luggage as the smell would of gotten into all our suitcases. Beds were comfy but smelly. I don't know why windows are not left open all day until next person checks in. We are smokers (but never book a smokers room) even so it was so uncomfortable, couldn't imagine if a non-smoker booked this room by mistake as we did. Very easy mistake to be made, it's not easily visible on the site we booked through. The out door area was nice and we spent as much time as possible sitting out there to air out the room. There was a mix up with the price of the room, apparently the hotel or site we used to book the room are not responsible for this and we just have to wear the extra cost, uncanny how no one is responsible. Wifi offered but did not work all night until the next morning.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We did look into your Expedia reservation and it does state on the reservation that you ordered a smoking room. We researched the Expedia site about the false information about our location. We could not find any pictures that showed Morro rock except in the distance behind our pool. Perhaps you were looking at another Best Western hotel in town? As for the problem with the price difference, Expedia has on its reservations the rate of the room and the tax amount as "unknown". The difference that I believe you are referring to is the tax amount. The front desk clerk that sprayed your room said that you seemed satisfied with the result of the spray and we were not aware that there were any further issues. We wish you safe travels in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
2.5 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#13 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN El Rancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN El Rancho

Property: BEST WESTERN El Rancho
Address: 2460 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-1552
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Morro Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN El Rancho 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN El Rancho!Escape to this Morro Bay, California hotel offering comfortable and affordable accommodations near Hearst Castle, Morro Bay Beach and Cal Poly University. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN El Rancho where guests will receive personalized customer service, quiet accommodations. Newly refurbished, this California Best Western hotel offers convenient access to many local attractions, shopping and dining options in and around Morro Bay. Guests staying at this Morro Bay hotel will enjoy single story accommodations with well-appointed guest rooms featuring cable television, coffee maker, refrigerator, microwave, iron and ironing board and free high-speed Internet access. Dining is made easy with the hotel's complimentary breakfast and a restaurant right across the parking lot as well as 2 patios for our guests' use. The outdoor heated swimming pool(SEASONAL) provides a great place for guests to unwind and refresh.enjoy the sunset view from our garden area. For added convenience, the BEST WESTERN El Rancho offers large vehicle parking.There is no better lodging choice than the BEST WESTERN El Rancho when visiting Morro Bay. Located midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, guests at the hotel will have convenient access to a variety of area attractions including views of the Pacific Ocean. Spend an afternoon touring nearby Hearst Castle or San Luis Obispo Mission, exploring Morro Bay Rock, biking or hiking through Morro Bay State Park or enjoying some beach fun at Atascadero State park. Cal Poly University and Cuesta College are both located close by making the BEST WESTERN El Rancho ideal lodging when touring the campus or visiting friends. The caring staff at the AAA-3 Diamond BEST WESTERN El Rancho is ready to ensure an enjoyable stay in Morro Bay, California. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN El Rancho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western El Rancho Hotel Morro Bay
Best Western Morro Bay
Morro Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing