We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Other Pleasure trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN El Rancho

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN El Rancho
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
fresno, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Other Pleasure trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Very nice hotel in Santa Clara California, for pleasure with friends it was a lovely visit. Great hotel accommodations. I was at a convention with my friends and had a great time. One time we ordered delivery pizza to our hotel room. And they delivered it and it was just awesome. Very good. And cheaper than eating in the hotel room cafeteria.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    181
    71
    27
    30
See reviews for
160
237
32
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morro Bay, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

The overall review would have been very good, but if you get a room behind the restaurant then not so much. There are 3 rooms that are located behind the restaurant in the same parking lot as the hotel which blocks the ocean view and we were in one of them. Although we paid the same price as everyone else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank Myesha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
First, I would like to clarify that there are seven rooms in the building that you stayed in.We do not advertise any oceanview rooms, since the view of the ocean is only seen on the common area of the property. Second, after researching the rates for Sat August 17,2013 your rate was the lowest paid in the entire hotel including the rooms larger than yours. We hope that in your future travels you take the time to research where you will be staying as in this day and age, so much information is avaliable to any traveler. Good Luck ln your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

In another location this would be a much better place to stay. The attention to detail is good. We were able to get a reservation when other places were booked. The price was reasonable. The rooms were attractive, clean and comfortable. The service friendly and attentive. Decent full breakfast. Free DVDs. There's a cute little pool and a garden sitting area. But it's all just across from the freeway...albeit with a great view of the rock...but you have to walk out to the road to see it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
We are truly glad you came to stay with us. We do feel we take the time to make those extra little touches so thank you for noticing.We hope you come stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, NJ
Level Contributor
603 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

The El Rancho tries hard to be an excellent place and succeeds in many ways.

The positives are that the place is attactively landscaped with flowers everywhere. Roses in front of the rooms and a well taken care of pool area. The rooms are good size, the beds firm and the tv good sized with a variety of channels. The ammenities are high quality although the bathroom itself has a sliding door and is somewhat awkwardly designed.

The rooms have refrigerators and coffee pot. All the rooms are on the first floor and face an unattractive parking lot. The motel faces on Main Street a one lane each direction street. But, right next to is is route 101 a two lane each direction major highway. You are a few blocks from the ocean but you need to cross a 4 lane high way with fences on both sides.

The noise from the highway was not noticeable from the rooms at all.

The breakfast was pleasant and included eggs and waffles...

The staff is efficient but not particularly friendly or interested in passing the time with a few words.

There are not many choices in Morro Bay and this motel provides good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NJTravellingfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We would like to thank you for your review. As you know feedback on most all things are vital to any business. Here at the Best Western ElRancho we strive to have all our guests enjoy thier stay with us.
Again we want to thank you for sharing your thoughts and hope you have many safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night on our drive up the coast. Nice view of the rock. Friendly service at check-in. Comfortable room. checked out a dvd which the kids enjoyed. Ate at the taco temple just up the street. Stopped at the market (also just up the street) to pick up a few things. Good breakfast in the AM-- enough variety to make the whole family happy. Just a few minutes to drive into town in the AM.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank DLOWENT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent visit to our hotel. We are always thankful to recieve positive feedback from our guests.Please come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucyrus, Ohio
Level Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We had 2 nights that we had to find a night for on our Big Sur drive, we found this place and fell in love. Wow, on the edge of town, but with an Ocean view. The staff was awesome, cookies at check in and great breakfast in the morning. No AC, but it is usually cool. The pool area had very up to date lawn furniture. Stay here if you want quietness and quaint. Stay downtown if you want the bar scene.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DramJana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our little home away from home....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shafter, CA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed one night at the end of July to attend a wedding. Motel is at the north end of town. Quiet, clean rooms. Helpful and friendly staff. They have DVD's you may check out and watch in your room. The included continental breakfast, including instant oatmeal and make your own waffles, was adequate. Lawn furniture scattered around the enclosed pool area. BBQ grill and picnic tables on the premises. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tropicaladdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
We would like to say thank you for taking the time to share all the wonderful things about our hotel. We strive to have every guest feel as if they would stay with us again and again.
We hope your travels bring you to us again..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
#8 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#10 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
2.5 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
1.2 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sundown Inn
Sundown Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN El Rancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN El Rancho

Property: BEST WESTERN El Rancho
Address: 2460 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-1552
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Morro Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN El Rancho 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN El Rancho!Escape to this Morro Bay, California hotel offering comfortable and affordable accommodations near Hearst Castle, Morro Bay Beach and Cal Poly University. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN El Rancho where guests will receive personalized customer service, quiet accommodations. Newly refurbished, this California Best Western hotel offers convenient access to many local attractions, shopping and dining options in and around Morro Bay. Guests staying at this Morro Bay hotel will enjoy single story accommodations with well-appointed guest rooms featuring cable television, coffee maker, refrigerator, microwave, iron and ironing board and free high-speed Internet access. Dining is made easy with the hotel's complimentary breakfast and a restaurant right across the parking lot as well as 2 patios for our guests' use. The outdoor heated swimming pool(SEASONAL) provides a great place for guests to unwind and refresh.enjoy the sunset view from our garden area. For added convenience, the BEST WESTERN El Rancho offers large vehicle parking.There is no better lodging choice than the BEST WESTERN El Rancho when visiting Morro Bay. Located midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, guests at the hotel will have convenient access to a variety of area attractions including views of the Pacific Ocean. Spend an afternoon touring nearby Hearst Castle or San Luis Obispo Mission, exploring Morro Bay Rock, biking or hiking through Morro Bay State Park or enjoying some beach fun at Atascadero State park. Cal Poly University and Cuesta College are both located close by making the BEST WESTERN El Rancho ideal lodging when touring the campus or visiting friends. The caring staff at the AAA-3 Diamond BEST WESTERN El Rancho is ready to ensure an enjoyable stay in Morro Bay, California. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Best Western and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN El Rancho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western El Rancho Hotel Morro Bay
Best Western Morro Bay
Morro Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing