We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ol' fasion roadside motel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western El Rancho
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Reviewed September 11, 2012

It's kind of like stepping back in time to the 1960's, and I don't mean that in a bad way. This very nice motel is built in the typical 1950,s 1960,s single story, L-shaped, ranch style design that served so well for so many years. The rooms are very clean, quite and roomy, and just a couple of steps from your car parked right outside and in front of your room. For those of you who value your ride, or have a classic car and constantly worry about where it is parked, or more importantly, WHO is parked next to you banging their door into yours, relax! The parking spaces are at least 12 feet wide--no kidding!!! The office and staff were warm and welcoming on arrival. In the mornings there is a full breakfast served in the lobby area, with something for everyone. The pool area was clean, and landscaping well kept. If you need chic, modern and trendy design in your motel, this probably won't fit your pistol. But if you don't mind a little old fashioned design and courtesy, from the good ole American road trip days, this is your place!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToGrandmothersHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bw_elrancho, Manager at Best Western El Rancho, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of our property. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. You're right - our property was built in 1952. We are glad that you appreciated our wide parking spaces, full breakfast, and well-kept landscaping. We hope that you will come stay with us again next time you are in Morro Bay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (578)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

426 - 432 of 578 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stopping at El Rancho was a welcome break. Easy to get to, relaxed, clean and friendly. Good Value for money. Quiet with no stairs which is a bonus. The pool area was open and enjoyable. There was a variety of breakfast items on offer.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lois J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bw_elrancho, Manager at Best Western El Rancho, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed yourselves. Please come stay with us again next time you are in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I would like to start with the owner Mr. Norris, who greeted us by asking " how about a nice cup of coffee".
He gave us a lot of information about the area, where to go and what to see.

At the front desk Keith smiled and said"Be right with ya" Our room was nice and clean and had towels that covered those areas that you want to hide.

The out door space was beautiful, every type and color of roses that smelled wonderful and made a wonderful picture, we did take some pictures.

Around the pool area there were tables and chairs so you could have breakfast out doors. It is good to have a nice hot breakfast to start your day. The Breakfast area had decoration, things that would see in around the area , you can thank Collen for this she changes it once a month, so you could come back and see the changes that were made.

I would like to thank all those that were not seen, but did the work to make it a nice stay. Oh! I for got we received our welcome goodies which is always nice.

Sahara checked us out told us" We love to have you stay with us just give us a call.

Room Tip: the room that we stayed in was nice, I am sure the rest of them are as nice. .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karlakitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bw_elrancho, Manager at Best Western El Rancho, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our property. We are very happy Mr. Norris, Keith, Colleen, and Sarah helped you enjoy your stay with us, as well as those that you did not interact with. We cannot wait to see you again during your next trip to Morro Bay! Come soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the El Rancho in mid August. At first approach this vintage property resembles the beautiful ranches along the central coast. It would be easy to imagine cattle grazing in the large grass "pasture" between the property and the road. But instead of cattle a heated, immaculate pool, ( with glass surround to abate breezes) sits in a manicured grass park with newer swings and bar b que area. Lined in beautiful , blooming roses and a plethera of fauna this area lends more to a resort than a coastal motel.

The lobby has the look of the beachy antique stores along Morro and Cambria. Great decorating in a ranch, nautical, sea shore motif. A comfortable sitting area and an impeccably kept dining area are in the same room but divided comfortably so that morning breakfast diners have room and privacy.

The breakfast... Plain youghurt, fruit, breakfast rolls, quality jellies,scrambled eggs and sausage patty's. A wonderful "make your own waffle maker", ( I appreciate the non sugar syrup....), cereals with 2%, non fat, chilled juices, hot cocoa, varied teas, and a delicious coffee. This is at the top of the often overstated " Continental " breakfast. Place settings with starfish decorations at each table just add to the ambience challenging expensive hotel/ dining rooms in the area.

The room.... I had a single with queen and while smallish it was more than compensated in size by it's excellent amenities. Comfortable mattress and pillows with tight clean fittings, furniture in keeping with a coastal ranch look, clean carpets, ( I wear white socks when in motels and the bottoms tell me how clean the carpet really is).The last hotel that provided you with shaving cream, make up remover, q tips and cotton swabs, decorator shell shaped soaps, creams, conditioners..... A single serve coffee maker with european roast coffee in large ceramic mugs? An antibacterial "sock" contains the remote and antibacterial wipe is provided.
More the feeling of a vintage b&b this dog friendly motel supplied a bed, blanket, towel and treats in a cute cane basket. Included were directions to dog friendly restaurants and areas.
A private washer dryer area is appreciated as opposed to entrusting a launderer or worse yet the " foriegn city" laundromat any traveler shirks from attending.

Value.... The room was $20 to $50 less than the 6 comparable property's I interviewed during my 4 nights at th El Rancho. I'm not opposed to accepting $80 to $200 in savings by finding this haven in Morro Bay.

Cons?.... The Rancho isnt downtown in Morro Bay. In my opinion not within walking distance of the popular Embarcadero tourist strip. Maybe if you are a real "walker".... or European. To me this is an advantage because at best the close in motels will require very hilly walking conditions and the tourist strip holds little for me personally. T shirts, taffy and sea shells are plentiful along the entire coast.
Dining for fresh fish for dinner I would be more likely to drive there at night regardless of where I stayed.

In closing...This is an older property maintained impeccably, pleasurably decorated giving it charm and heritage. The manager Colleen , ("the Irish spelling"), she'll tell you, along with her right hand assistant Sara and maintenance manager Marco make this property. Their attention to detail and professional service ethic with collectively over 40 years AT THIS SAME PROPERTY says it all. An obviously favorable owner/ management relationship exists to retain really good people over that long a period.

Room Tip: Use the Queen singles and enjoy a separate building at the northern part of the properties foot prin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cap10paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bw_elrancho, Manager at Best Western El Rancho, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful compliments. We continually strive to ensure that each and every guest enjoys their stay with us. We are very happy that you did. Please come stay with us again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at the Best Western El Rancho because they allowed pets. The staff was friendly on the phone and friendly at arrival. The rooms, however, need much work. The pet section rooms are tucked away to the side. Good idea to avoid disturbing non-pet guests. The room was extremely small. It barely fit our dog's crate. There was still hair on the floor from a previous guest or pet. The room smelled like a veterinarian's office. The bed was horrible. My husband and I both felt like we were sleeping on a bale of hay.

I don't know why hotels/motels feel they need to shove responsible pet owners into shabby conditions. We are better off saying we are not bringing a pet and getting a better room.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Santacruzin2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bw_elrancho, Manager at Best Western El Rancho, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Thank you for giving us your feedback. Based on your comments, it appears that you had a room with 1 Queen bed with a pet. Half of each room type allows pets. All of the rooms with 1 Queen bed are in the section that it sounds like you stayed in. Other room types are in different sections of the motel. As the hotel was built in the 1950s, all of the rooms are on the small side. All of the rooms of the same type are the same size. If you are looking for a larger room, our 2 bedded rooms are larger than our other rooms (and we have both pet friendly and non-pet friendly rooms of this type).

We apologize that the housekeeper missed the hair and that you felt the room smelled - if you had alerted us to the fact we could have taken care of it. We are very surprised that you were unhappy with the mattress as all of our rooms have new top-of-the-line double pillow top mattresses. We cannot speak for other hotels, but our hotel has the same cleanliness and maintenance standards for pet friendly and non-pet friendly rooms.

We apologize that you were unhappy with your stay. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to accommodate you next time you are in Morro Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Its so nice in this day and age to fine good customer service. My family had the plesure of staying at the EL Rancho for 4days. The rooms were wonderful, the pool warm and clean. Washer and dryer on site for our use. The best hotel breakfast we have ever had. It included a make it yourseld waffle bar!!! Outstanding customer service all our questions and request filled in a blink of a eye!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimberly r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bw_elrancho, Manager at Best Western El Rancho, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are very happy that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed the warm, clean pool, outstanding breakfast, and friendly, responsive staff. Please come stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed here a couple weeks ago prior to me being able to write this review. We were on vacation from Texas and stayed here as we traveled up the central coast to visit the Hearst Castle. We were very pleased with the room. The shower had great water pressure, and we liked that the shower and toilet were separate from the sink area so there was enough room for one of us to shower while the other was able to get ready. We had stayed in a number of hotels during our 6 day trip and found the bed here to be the best of all the places we stayed. The flat screen TV had a good picture and a nice selection of channels, and the wifi internet worked well. A DVD player was also provided with a large number of movies one could borrow from free from the front desk. We did not take advantage of this as we only stayed the one night, but it was a nice touch.

The breakfast was great. In the other places we stayed it seemed like there would be either some type of eggs OR waffles, along with a breakfast meat. Here they had both eggs and waffles along with sausage. They also had a nice selection of muffins as well.

The one small issue I had was that there did not seem to be an A/C unit in the room. Granted, chances are with the weather in Morro Bay you would not need the air conditioner on, but it would be nice to have the choice instead of having to crack a window open. There was a ceiling fan in the room that could be used if needed.

The front desk staff was very nice and seemed to take great pride in their hotel. We would definitely stay here again the next time we visit this part of California.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bw_elrancho, Manager at Best Western El Rancho, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed the water pressure in the shower, flat screen TV and wi-fi internet, and great breakfast. You are correct that there was not an air conditioner in the room because we generally do not need them in Morro Bay. We would love to see you again next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
658 reviews
1.4 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
865 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
460 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sundown Inn
Sundown Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
505 reviews
0.5 mi away
Morro Shores Inn & Suites
Morro Shores Inn & Suites
#24 of 29 in Morro Bay
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western El Rancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western El Rancho

Address: 2460 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-1552 (Formerly BEST WESTERN El Rancho)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Morro Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range: $82 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western El Rancho 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN El Rancho!Escape to this Morro Bay, California hotel offering comfortable and affordable accommodations near Hearst Castle, Morro Bay Beach and Cal Poly University. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN El Rancho where guests will receive personalized customer service, quiet accommodations. Newly refurbished, this California Best Western hotel offers convenient access to many local attractions, shopping and dining options in and around Morro Bay. Guests staying at this Morro Bay hotel will enjoy single story accommodations with well-appointed guest rooms featuring cable television, coffee maker, refrigerator, microwave, iron and ironing board and free high-speed Internet access. Dining is made easy with the hotel's complimentary breakfast and a restaurant right across the parking lot as well as 2 patios for our guests' use. The outdoor heated swimming pool(SEASONAL) provides a great place for guests to unwind and refresh.enjoy the sunset view from our garden area. For added convenience, the BEST WESTERN El Rancho offers large vehicle parking.There is no better lodging choice than the BEST WESTERN El Rancho when visiting Morro Bay. Located midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, guests at the hotel will have convenient access to a variety of area attractions including views of the Pacific Ocean. Spend an afternoon touring nearby Hearst Castle or San Luis Obispo Mission, exploring Morro Bay Rock, biking or hiking through Morro Bay State Park or enjoying some beach fun at Atascadero State park. Cal Poly University and Cuesta College are both located close by making the BEST WESTERN El Rancho ideal lodging when touring the campus or visiting friends. The caring staff at the AAA-3 Diamond BEST WESTERN El Rancho is ready to ensure an enjoyable stay in Morro Bay, California. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western El Rancho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western El Rancho Hotel Morro Bay
Best Western Morro Bay
Morro Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing