We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything about this hotel says "Welcome".” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN El Rancho

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
BEST WESTERN El Rancho
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
El Dorado Hills
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything about this hotel says "Welcome".”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2011

Everything about this hotel says "Welcome". From the moment we arrived we felt welcome and taken care of. The rooms were nice, (everything is new, fresh and inviting) the food was just right, and the hostess did a great job of telling us what was available in the area. Pets are made very comfortable and that was a big plus for our trip. This may not be the most posh hotel in the area but it is by far the best value and suited our needs perfectly. We will always return to this motel when we have the chance.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharjenElDoradoHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bw_elrancho, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate any and all feedback-that is what helps us to improve the property. We are very happy that you felt welcome and taken care of from the time you arrived. We are very happy that your pet was comfortable during your stay. We can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    182
    71
    27
    30
See reviews for
162
240
32
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sun City West, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2011

We stayed here for 3 days. Our room was very clean. Very thing worked. Had microwave, fridge, very good flat panel TV, DVD player (free DVDs in the office), a good sized wardrobe, a very comfortable bed with good linens, and, bless them, free WiFi. The small swimming pool, although not in season, looked very clean and in good condition. Although the motel is close to the 101, we did not notice any highway noise. The morning breakfast fare was adequate and included the standard things such as waffles, cereal, fruit, bagels, muffins, etc.

We got to the motel at 9:05 pm and the clerk had just called us to leave us instructions about how to handle a late arrival. He was friendly, helpful, and didn't seem to be in the least annoyed at us for holding him up from going home. Other motel employees we have encountered were all friendly, well-trained, and happy to help us.

There is an adjoining Mexican restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadJayhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bw_elrancho, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, March 25, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate any and all feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay, the comfortable bed, and the free WiFi. We will also pass your comments along to the staff so that they know what a wonderful job they are doing. Thank you very much. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

I've been a guest at this property numerous times over the years -- and for good reason. The rooms are exceptionally clean, fresh, and well maintained. The front desk is operated by friendly and professional employees. It's only a short drive to downtown Morro Bay and the ocean and a good starting point for the drive north through the Big Sur.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rt66traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bw_elrancho, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, March 10, 2011
Thank you so much for your continued business over the years. We are very happy that you enjoy staying with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehachapi, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2011

We stayed here in February, mid-week and it was comparably priced to other like hotels. The rooms have just been renovated with new beds, linens, furniture and fresh paint. The rooms may have been a little on the small side but ample room, after all your not paying for a Hilton. The staff was very friendly and attentive. They serve an excellent hot continental breakfast . The hotel is located right off Hwy. 1 and was very quiet. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2crzytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bw_elrancho, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, February 16, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We appreciate any and all feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed the news beds, new linens, and continental breakfast. We are very glad that you would stay here again. Thank you so much for your comments. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paicines, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2011

We have stayed here many times and are always so happy here. Freiendly staff, great location, great restaurants, not far from town and good prices. Nice view of the ocean as well. This last stay we were so happy to be sleeping on new beds. Very comfortable, we sleeped like babies....new bedding, new flat screen TV's, and DVD's, What a delight!!! We highly recommend this hotel if you're staying in Morro Bay. :)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LABryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bw_elrancho, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, January 29, 2011
Thank You so much for taking the time to post your review. We are very happy that you have enjoyed many stays with us. We can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline, Washington USA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2010

We recommend this Best Western. It obviously has been renewed, updated and improved since it first opened in the early 1950's. It is one of the few dog friendly hotels in Morro Bay. The swimming pool was open, clean and large enough to swim - one of the few in the San Luis Obispo - Morro Bay area, we were told.
The bathroom had just been redone - very nice. Too bad, flow restricters were in place in both the shower and the sink.
The staff was pleasant at both sign in and check out. Same for the on premises Mexican restaurant.
It is convenient to and from Highway 1, but not to the Morro Bay Rock and town waterfront.
The breakfast was on par with what road warriors experience today. The eating area however was small/cramped. In nice weather, the pool area would make a good alternative.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank groupsnoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bw_elrancho, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, December 5, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed our pool and the fact that we are pet friendly. Thank you very much for recommending our property. We would love to see you next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2010

This is the old style one story, park in front of your room motel. It is spotless, has delightful smooth and soft sheets, and a waffle bar breakfast. Plus, they serve breakfast until 11 AM so no having to rush on vacation to get something to start your day. It's an easy drive to the Embarcadero for the tourist things, and up the coast to Cambria and San Simeon. The front desk staff is helpful, the wi fi works better than some four star hotels I have stayed at and parking is free. The Maya restaurant next door is good and has the friendliest staff and they didn't mind sitting a single in a booth. This is a most comfortable and enjoyable bargain.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ottosmom123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bw_elrancho, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, November 22, 2010
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to Morro Bay. We appreciate you taking your time to provide us with feedback from your stay. We are very happy that you enjoyed our sheets and our breakfast. Please come stay with us again next time you are in Morro Bay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
#8 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
2.5 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
1.2 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN El Rancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN El Rancho

Property: BEST WESTERN El Rancho
Address: 2460 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-1552
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Morro Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN El Rancho 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN El Rancho!Escape to this Morro Bay, California hotel offering comfortable and affordable accommodations near Hearst Castle, Morro Bay Beach and Cal Poly University. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN El Rancho where guests will receive personalized customer service, quiet accommodations. Newly refurbished, this California Best Western hotel offers convenient access to many local attractions, shopping and dining options in and around Morro Bay. Guests staying at this Morro Bay hotel will enjoy single story accommodations with well-appointed guest rooms featuring cable television, coffee maker, refrigerator, microwave, iron and ironing board and free high-speed Internet access. Dining is made easy with the hotel's complimentary breakfast and a restaurant right across the parking lot as well as 2 patios for our guests' use. The outdoor heated swimming pool(SEASONAL) provides a great place for guests to unwind and refresh.enjoy the sunset view from our garden area. For added convenience, the BEST WESTERN El Rancho offers large vehicle parking.There is no better lodging choice than the BEST WESTERN El Rancho when visiting Morro Bay. Located midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, guests at the hotel will have convenient access to a variety of area attractions including views of the Pacific Ocean. Spend an afternoon touring nearby Hearst Castle or San Luis Obispo Mission, exploring Morro Bay Rock, biking or hiking through Morro Bay State Park or enjoying some beach fun at Atascadero State park. Cal Poly University and Cuesta College are both located close by making the BEST WESTERN El Rancho ideal lodging when touring the campus or visiting friends. The caring staff at the AAA-3 Diamond BEST WESTERN El Rancho is ready to ensure an enjoyable stay in Morro Bay, California. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Best Western and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN El Rancho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western El Rancho Hotel Morro Bay
Best Western Morro Bay
Morro Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing