We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIS PLACE IS THE WORST I MEAN THE WORST”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Seaside Inn Morro Bay
Ranked #27 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
GreenLeadersSilver level
san francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“THIS PLACE IS THE WORST I MEAN THE WORST”
Reviewed August 15, 2010

This place has smelly sheets, you can hear through the walls, bathroom has disgusting smells, and its NEVER been UPGRADED. We payed 188.88 dollars on this room and what did we get, A RAT HOLE. The lamps are broken, EVERYTHING is horridble, you cant sleep without the smell of something bad. DO NOT STAY HERE.... Honestly. The water is sticky.. nothing has been washed. ITS JUST BAD!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kumyon52chong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    65
    73
    43
    86
See reviews for
86
124
31
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2010

I have stayed here several times over a period of years. Nothing--and I repeat, NOTHING--has ever been upgraded or thoroughly cleaned between visits. In shoulder season the motel is full of fisherman who will get an early start, or occasionally, rowdy types. The management is pleasant enough, but it is what it is--a low-priced dump of a place where you need your flip-flops to take a shower, you sleep, and you take off early to enjoy the town. Unfortunately, along the central coast, you can choose this or choose something obscenely overpriced.

Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Mommya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Morro Bay hotels

Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

After seeing the property, we refused to stay here. The room was dirty, the carpet was stained and torn, mold in the shower. The manager was surly and we had to argue about cancellation. I don't understand how this place stays in business when it is surrounded by other motels with the same rates and clean rooms.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jppAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2010

If you are thinking of staying in this dump of a town do not stay here. All hotel is dirty all floor and all carpet we asked to see room before even checking in and a lady cleaning with her kid opened a room for us ....all we could say was wow. Cnc reservation and immediately. I would not recommend to anyone. "Hey Tripadvisor.com send a pro out here and review yourselfs and take this dump off your listings asap and stop allowing your customers being screwed."

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationinvasioncom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaver Lake, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2010

While this hotel in not a 4-star property---what do really want for the price? The location, rooms and service are better than the price. Stay here and you will be happy. It's a great place with excellent value!

I stayed two nights and was happy!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tooch55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
195 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2010

I stayed here recently and thought it would be nice to walk to restaurants, shops, etc. The price seemed reasonable and when I got there, I knew why. There were large stains in the carpet and duct tape on the stair carpeting. The room was not clean, the bedspread had burn holes, and the blanket was worn with large holes in it. There was no lock on the room window; although it looked like there were new door locks installed. There was a new wall heater installed, but the new paint did not match the rest of the room, so it really looked unappealing. They advertised a continental breakfast, which actually consisted of weak coffee, watered down orange juice and refrozen bite size muffins that were tasteless. Go across the street for breakfast! HOWEVER, the worst part was finding two roaches - one on the bed and one in the bathroom! I understand from reading other reviews that this motel has improved. Unfortunately, they have a long way to go.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotspringqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2009

We stayed here one night and it was the worst night I've ever had in a hotel!!! The ONLY thing going for this hotel is it's location.
We arrived in the afternoon and put our stuff in our ground floor room. The room was so shabby- that should have been a sign of things to come. The carpet didn't go all the way to the wall, the bottom of the bathroom door had a 2 inch gap to the floor, the carpets had stains. I kept my socks on at all times and I slept with a t-shirt on the pillow, but that's not the worst of it. After dinner and movie we retired to the hotel room to read and watch tv- I felt uncomfortable but figured that we'd paid so we needed to stay.
The first thing that happened was we were awakened at about 1am by the sounds of an amorous couple, which made us laugh- but we didn't laugh when 20 minutes later we heard the woman leave the room and make a transaction outside the door. We realized quickly that she was a prostitute. We laugh about it now, but at the time it wasn't funny, it creeped me out. After finally falling asleep we were again awakened at about 2 am by what sounded like my car alarm going off. I put on shoes and quickly ran outside only to find about 20 people having a party in the parking lot, complete with music blaring and people sitting on the cars in the lot, it wasn't my alarm after all so I quickly shut the door but felt even more uncomfortable after that. Someone else mentioned a similar incident in their review, so this must happen a lot.
We woke up early the next morning so we could get the heck out of there. As we were leaving we noticed a room with the door wide open, with a man sitting on the bed watching some very inappropriate morning viewing-that, is the kind of person who stays here, I suggest you don't.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissPea1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
827 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay View Inn
Bay View Inn
#21 of 29 in Morro Bay
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#12 of 29 in Morro Bay
281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fireside Inn
Fireside Inn
#24 of 29 in Morro Bay
157 reviews
0.8 mi away
Morro Shores Inn & Suites
Morro Shores Inn & Suites
#23 of 29 in Morro Bay
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Inn Morro Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Inn Morro Bay

Property: Seaside Inn Morro Bay
Address: 220 Beach St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2002 (Formerly Travelodge)
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Seaside Inn Morro Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaside Inn is under New Management as of Feb 22, 2017. Our hotel was renovated in October 2015. The hotel will be doing some more updates soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seaside Inn Morro Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Inn Morro Bay Hotel Morro Bay
Anchor Hotel Morro Bay
Anchor Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing