We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where's the value at Best Value Inn?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Seaside Inn Morro Bay
Ranked #27 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
GreenLeadersSilver level
Menlo Park, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Where's the value at Best Value Inn?”
Reviewed September 10, 2005

Thought that $130 a night would get a reasonable room but apparently the fact that it was a holiday weekend was reason enough for the proprietors to charge probably double of what the room was worth.

3 homeless-looking guys were rolling a joint in the parking lot when we arrived but at least they were quieter than the all-night party that was in the room next door.

Walls are paper-thin and we could hear our neighbors both to the side and above us. Bathroom window in room 14 wouldn't lock. Blankets were holey and box spring was stained with who knows what down the sides. Thankfully the peepholes in the bathroom were stuffed with kleenex so the group of Clydesdale horses that was staying next door - or whoever was stomping around all night - couldn't get a gander of us taking a shower or using the WC.

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
5 Thank matrophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    64
    72
    43
    86
See reviews for
85
124
31
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam,Holland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2004

On our way down the coast we have slept here for a night. It was the cheapest we've stayed in throughout our californian trip. It's close by to the coast and some restaurants there. For the price, you shouldn't expect any frills, but if you are on a budget, this will be it in Morro.

Helpful?
3 Thank Dennis_eco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2004

This place seems to be the cheapest place to stay in Morro Bay, which is very pricey on summer weekends. The price is good, and it is just a short walk from the harbor, which is nice. However, it is very rundown. The first room I was assigned to reeked of dogs and other things you don't want your room to reek of. I asked to be moved and got another room, which was much cleaner but still pretty ratty - rusty fixtures in the shower, uneven paint on the walls, pilly blankets, some stains on the towels, and so on. The main problem, though, was the noise. The walls are very thin. We could hear everything going on in the rooms below us, on either side of us, and outside in the parking lot. This was particularly bad since most people staying there seemed to be under age 10 and were up being noisy quite late. I complained to management but nothing was done. So if you value your sleep, it might be worth paying the extra money for another hotel.

Helpful?
1 Thank fleame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Morro Bay hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 29, 2004

The driving trip was great. The town is awesome and we stayed at the Best Value Inn. The only complaint I had about the place we stayed is that the shower had mold around the walls and the ceiling. But other than that it was great. I plan on going back in September for about 3 or 4 days. The restraunts were very good. The service was good and the enviroment was great. We ate at the Blue Dolphin and we also ate at The Fish Market Restraunt. Perfect places. I can hardly wait to return.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 2, 2004

The rooms are small. There's no pool. The interior is very 'retro'. But if you are like me and are only at the motel long enough to sleep, they all look the same with the lights off. And there is PLENTY to do, most within walking distance to keep you busy ALL day. The pier is just a short trip downhill with all the shops, the aquarium, the beach, etc.
It is a family operation and very friendly. And I've checked ALL the cheaper motels around and it is by far the cheapest. Motel 6 is $15 more and at least 4 blocks farther up the hill (not far on the way down, but an eternity on the way back up).

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 9, 2003

Bad: Dogs and hotels do not mix! I was hoping for a clean, quiet, and updated room. What I got was something stuck to my shoe. The room was something out of the 50's and I was never so happier to be on my way after paying a "less than" Best Value price for the room.

Of course, it would be perfect for the person looking for a pet motel.
I would choose several of the "cleaner" and "more modern" hotels on adjacent corners.

Good: The location was within easy walking distance to the Embarcadero and Morro rock.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 12, 2003

This motel was a really good value. I have stayed there three or four times. The rooms were not fancy, but clean and well appointed. I got a good night's sleep after a tiring day of running around at the beach!
The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, a real family-oriented operation, yet quite professional. The location of this property cannot be beat for the price-- only a few minutes walk down to the main street where you can enjoy the many great shops, restaurants and views of the Rock, and a five minute drive over to the beach.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#12 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay View Inn
Bay View Inn
#20 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fireside Inn
Fireside Inn
#24 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rockview Inn and Suites - Morro Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Inn Morro Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Inn Morro Bay

Property: Seaside Inn Morro Bay
Address: 220 Beach St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2002 (Formerly Travelodge)
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Seaside Inn Morro Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaside Inn is under New Management as of Feb 22, 2017. Our hotel was renovated in October 2015. The hotel will be doing some more updates soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Seaside Inn Morro Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Inn Morro Bay Hotel Morro Bay
Anchor Hotel Morro Bay
Anchor Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing