We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap an convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Morro Shores Inn & Suites
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cheap an convenient”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We were one our way up to San francisco from LA and needed a place to crash. Price was great, area was nice and quiet and it served it's purpose. They used Organic soap and shampoo which was great. Only compliant was location was a way from town which provided the quiet atmosphere but not much for restaurant choices near by (10-15 minute drive to a sit down restaurant). Breakfast was included (costco muffins, three choices of cereal, coffee and orange juice)- Not spectacular but it did the trick.

I was assigned into the ground level handicapped room. It was very clean. Only complaint about the room was the shower had very low pressure and lighting was very dim. All in all it's a cute inn with a 'seashore' theme and it's not to far from 101 hwy north.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    81
    55
    11
    30
See reviews for
91
83
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Check in was great. Hot tub was great. Rooms were clean. A lot of cigarette butts outside around the hotel. Easy access from Highway. They need to stock up on fitted sheets for the bed.
We had a flat sheet that didn't cover the mattress. No fitted sheets to lay on? puzzled us.
As others reviewed breakfast is very thin.
Fairly dim in the room. Bathroom spotless!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parodyqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is a great place for the budget minded traveler. Stayed for one night and was very satisfied with the room, especially for the price we paid. The pros: spacious and clean room; reasonable size fridge, microwave; staff was pleasant and helpful; quiet even though it is right near the highway. Cons: There were no towels in the room and I had to go to the desk and request them, a hassle having checked in rather late at night. More attention needs to be paid to maintenance in the common areas, and overflowing trash bin (with boxes of trash piled next to it as well) in the stairwell to our room both 10 PM and still not attended to at 10 AM the next morning makes a bad impression, as did the very dirty water coolers. The actual rooms were nice and deserve a better approach. And as everyone notes, the breakfast is pretty lousy, but I've had the same stuff served in more expensive "economy" hotel chains. I would go back to Morro Shores.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrlbroman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in a family suite on our California road trip, excellent size suite for 2 adults and 2 children, clean and tidy, friendly helpful staff, good location, visit Avila beach and Pismo beach

Room Tip: Eat at the Gallery restaurant excellent seafood, visit Avila beach and Pismo beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Wholly unprofessional. When I checked in, a seven year-old girl was racing up to crowd in front of me. Turns out, she was the person who began my check-in process, and then yelled for a family member to complete the process. The proprietor showed me a couple of different options for families with dogs--one suite with a back door and one without. The one with a back door opened onto a back alley, littered with cigarette butts (cleaning people maybe, or the last guests?) and the proprietor didn't even blink. No air conditioning--a fan. A mini-fridge tilted precariously on a counter. Right on the main road, so lots of traffic. Misleading advertising--beach across the street means, beach is across Hwy 1 and quite a ways down. Location is far from the Embarcadero. Completely overpriced, even if you are just passing through. When I wanted to let them know their Wi-Fi router had gone down and that my room needed maid service, I called to let them know. When they didn't pick up, I went to the office, and there were two people sitting around, one on the phone. No one said hello, so I did, and the man on the phone said "I'm on the phone." Clear that they don't read their reviews or if they do, they could care less about customer feedback. Stay away.

Room Tip: Choose a room at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Anonime911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Morro Bay hotels

clovis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I was searching for a family suite for a last minute get away. I found Morro Shores Inn on Hotels.com. When I went to book the family suite was not an option so I called Morro Shores directly. The guy who answered the phone was so helpful and very nice. I booked with him. I mentioned that in some of the reviews the rooms had a musty smell. He said don't worry the room will not smell. I said I will trust you and off we went. When we checked in our rooms were ready and we were very very happy. No smell! Large rooms. We did get the family suite. One room had a king size bed and a bathroom and the other room had two full size beds and two sofa beds. It was perfect. We only stayed one night. We would have loved to stay longer and will definitely stay there again. It was very close to beach access also. We didn't realize that until we were leaving. Next time we will take a walk on the beach before checking out. Great hotel!! Thanks for a great nights stay!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank portofino2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, CA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed two nights. When we arrived, both rooms were musty smelling. Opened front and back doors to air rooms out. View was Motel 6 parking lot in back and broken fountain in front. Nice that a microwave and fridge is included in the room. Not enough towels in room for 4 people. Had to go to front office to request more. Was told their was a continental breakfast in the morning. This is not true. I do not think that cheap wrapped danishes and cereal and coffee is considered breakfast. On day two, a bundt cake was supposed to be breakfast. There is no place close to walk to breakfast either. This is not an inexpensive inn.
Convenient that it is right off the freeway. That is a plus.

Check out time is 12 noon. At 11:45 we received a call from the front office from a rude woman who told my husband that if were not out by noon we would be charged for another day's stay. We have stayed at many nice places and have never been given the bums rush. When we left, housekeeper was waiting outside our room.

If you are not ready for your room to be made up when the housekeeper comes by, it will not be made up. You will not get coffee or fresh towels either unless you go to office and ask.

Website says they were newly built in 2007. If this is the case, they have been poorly maintained.

Ok place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spidermansmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.9 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
831 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
456 reviews
0.8 mi away
Seaside Inn Morro Bay
Seaside Inn Morro Bay
#27 of 29 in Morro Bay
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
684 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#12 of 29 in Morro Bay
289 reviews
1.9 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morro Shores Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morro Shores Inn & Suites

Property: Morro Shores Inn & Suites
Address: 290 Atascadero Rd, Morro Bay, CA 93442-1517
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Morro Shores Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Morro Shores Inn & Suites in tranquil Morro Bay, California. Located off Highway 1, we are a block away from the Pacific Ocean and just a 5-minute drive to downtown. A newly built 29 unit craftsman style motel opened in 2007, The Morro Shores Inn offers some of the best lodging on the Central Coast. The Morro Shores Inn & Suites offers guests with an astounding selection of guestrooms and suites featuring several amenities that are sure to meet your needs. Here at our Morro Bay hotel, you will enjoy a collection of comfortable, designer decorated deluxe rooms or luxury suites, all with free Wi-Fi and 40" LED HDTVs, pillow top mattresses, and balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Morro Shores Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morro Shores Inn And Suites
Morro Shores Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing