We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Fish - Ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Giovanni's Fish Market & Galley

Giovanni's Fish Market & Galley
Ranked #2 of 97 Restaurants in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Giovanni's Fish Market is Morro Bay's oldest fish market and seafood restaurant, serving and providing the freshest daily catches with the best view on the bay. Open nearly 30 years, our historic market and restaurant has succeeded by supplying our customers with fresh locally caught, sustainable seafood, as well as imported exotics, and a selection of hundreds of different types of seafood. Come take a seat on our wharf patio for the scenic view of Morro Rock, and the Historic Morro Bay Harbor while you enjoy our famous fish and chips, clam chowder, fish tacos, and more. Top it off with a drink from our full bar to complete the perfect meal on the bay. With Giovanni's Fish Market, you can even have our fresh fish at your table, no matter where you are! Have fresh seafood delivered to your door overnight, anywhere in the United States. We are very proud of our heritage, and accomplishments over the years. Our customers and community come first in our business - and your opinion counts! Our reputation for quality service sets us apart from other places along the bay. We strive to provide superb customer service, by utilizing a knowledgeable and courteous staff. Come enjoy fresh fish, and a superb meal that you won't find anywhere else but Giovanni's!
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fresh Fish - Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

In their Market you can have Black Cod (Sablefish) caught at 3000ft. right off the shore and loaded kicking onto Giovanni's docks.. Try a pound and a half lobster boiled before your eyes or a large array of house smoked wonders or several seafood salads including a sublime Ceviche. They have an enormous collection roe,oysters, shrimp,clams and clam chowder, crab or crab cakes and yes; Abalone.

The Galley offers about 100 plus neat choices to be enjoyed on the bay-front deck which is smack in front of Morro Rock - and this part of the bay is streaming with fleet and recreational activity. Quite a site. Can't miss here - you will feel lucky.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Murray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    198
    49
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Fish and Chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Had lunch outside at Giovanni's on a bright sunny afternoon. The 5 piece fish and chips is excellent. Generous portion of really flavorful fish accompanied by nicely browned fries (not the soggy limp things you sometimes get with fish and chips). The tartar sauce was excellent and had a little bite to it. The line moved quickly and the food was ready within 5 minutes of ordering. I also had a small cup of clam chowder and it was also excellent. Lots of clams and very tasty.
Certainly not a fancy lunch sitting outside (I believe they also have an inside restaurant), but was an great meal in a fun location. Would eat here again anytime!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beagleman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious Seafood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Giovanni's has some of the best seafood I've ever had. My family and I visited here twice during our week long trip to the Central Coast. The fish and chips were amazing. The fried fish was crispy, flaky, and fresh. The clam chowder is outstanding. The menu is very extensive and you can find something for everyone. There was a line around noontime, but it moves fast, and it is only indicative of the great food there! There is not any formal seating area here, just some picnic tables outside, but the views and weather in Morro Bay are perfect for outdoor eating. Love Giovanni's!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank stephalyse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
117 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Other places in town are better so why waste your time.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

The birds which we did not feed but others before us must have kept bothering us. They seriously were sitting at the table with us the entire time. I would wave them away and they would move a few inches away then come right back. We didn't even concentrate on food. We were hurrying to eat and leave.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't let the line Scare you away..It moves fast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

The line moves fast and the food is great. During our trip to the Central Coast,we hit Giovanni's twice, The 5 piece fish and chips is a winner for only $10.99. We also had clams and chips,shrimp and chips, and the clam chowder.Everything was a hit. They do offer many grilled fish items that are moderately priced. Dining is on an outdoor patio. No table service. Four people can eat for around $60.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Seacoast2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovanni's Fish Market & Galley also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Giovanni's Fish Market & Galley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing