We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST fish & chips”

Giovanni's Fish Market & Galley
Ranked #2 of 100 Restaurants in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
Description: Giovanni's Fish Market is Morro Bay's oldest fish market and seafood restaurant, serving and providing the freshest daily catches with the best view on the bay. Open nearly 30 years, our historic market and restaurant has succeeded by supplying our customers with fresh locally caught, sustainable seafood, as well as imported exotics, and a selection of hundreds of different types of seafood. Come take a seat on our wharf patio for the scenic view of Morro Rock, and the Historic Morro Bay Harbor while you enjoy our famous fish and chips, clam chowder, fish tacos, and more. Top it off with a drink from our full bar to complete the perfect meal on the bay. With Giovanni's Fish Market, you can even have our fresh fish at your table, no matter where you are! Have fresh seafood delivered to your door overnight, anywhere in the United States. We are very proud of our heritage, and accomplishments over the years. Our customers and community come first in our business - and your opinion counts! Our reputation for quality service sets us apart from other places along the bay. We strive to provide superb customer service, by utilizing a knowledgeable and courteous staff. Come enjoy fresh fish, and a superb meal that you won't find anywhere else but Giovanni's!
Cambria, California
Level Contributor
192 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“The BEST fish & chips”
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Great outdoor seating & delicious fish / chips with an ocean view. Coleslaw was also really good - service was friendly & fast. Great selection of fresh fish "to go" for cooking at home - the best in a Morro Bay.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyVagabond2458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    203
    52
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My favorte palce to eat in Morro bay”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Great clam chowder, not to creamy just the right consistency. Also love the oyster on the half shell they are always so fresh. Fish and chips are good, I usually buy the food outside and go inside to grab a bottle of wine.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Clam Chowder in a cup”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Had the clam chowder and calamari sandwich. They added bit of butter and some kind of spice on top of the soup. The thickness of soup and flavor was good but little on the salty side for me. The calamari sandwich was ok. It came with the fries but nothing to brag about the fries.
The Calamari was good size but the bread bun was small. It remind me of a hot dog bun but tad bigger and yet smaller than a french roll. The line was long and seating can be hard to find when it is busy. Next time, I will try their fish and chip.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IKADOTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
421 reviews
334 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Always Great”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Still one of the best fish and chips in town. We always enjoy eating here and deep fried oreos are great to. Still the best price for the amount you get. I would like to try there burgers someday, but the fish and chips are so good I can't bring myself to order anything else.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carnutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Awesome calamari !”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

While in Morro bay on our 1st visit, we had to try Giovanni's. The seafood is not only fresh, but well prepared. One of my favorites has always been calamari and theirs aw some of the best I ever had. Lightly seasoned and dusted with a breeding, it was perfect. Not a chewy piece there!
My wife's snapper sandwich was also excellent. Don't both to upgrade to the garlic fires, the others are perfect.
Great lunch and view. Well worth the wait in line.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnZOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovanni's Fish Market & Galley also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Giovanni's Fish Market & Galley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing