We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extreme good value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Reviewed May 18, 2010

I feel this place should have a higher rating after reading the reviews then actually staying here myself. On May 16 we traveled for business to the Paso Robles area. The motels in Paso are just too expensive so we decided to try Morro Bay. I made the reservation through the Choice system. We could have paid less, but we opted for the $41 king room. This little place is a 50's era motel that has been restored and remodeled with a seaside color scheme and motif. When we arrived on Sunday eve, a rather cranky desk clerk(owner?) checked us in and assigned us room 3. We saw that the room was roomy, very clean, well stocked and appointed. We promptly turned on the heat as it was COLD and it worked fine also. The motel is on the edge of a residential neighborhood which was great for walking our small dog in, yet it was also literally steps away from shops, restaurants and sights. It was SO QUIET that night that we slept as if we were home. The breakfast is not set up until 7am and we had to check out before that time so I cannot comment on it. For the price of the room, we were able to 'splurge' on breakfast at the McDonalds on the way out of town.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldDutch57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
There are newer reviews for Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

288 - 294 of 398 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2010

I am a 100 night per year traveler for business and pleasure. We have stayed at this hotel many times over the last 3 months. It is not the Ritz, but it is clean, comfortable and ideally located. Where else are you going to get a partial ocean view for these prices. The harbor and shops/restaurants are an easy walk, and this hotel is convenient to San Luis Obispo attractions. If you are looking for four star accomodations--forget it-there aren't any in this area. If you want a clean comfortable room for an economical price, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baseballguy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2010

Ok this hotel is decent, and the rooms are kept up and smell nice but when it comes to service, don't expect much. Yes is a motel but we had an issue where there were a few bikers staying at the hotel. At 7am sharp they started their engines and kept reving them up for like 20 minutes in the parking lot.

I called to the front desk and the oriental employee said "they are leaving, don't worry" but then the engine noise continued on for another 10 minutes. This was not right, everyone in the hotel was up after the bikers finally took off.

I would have preferred the employee to have gone out there and to tell them they were being disruptive. I will not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacationperson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2009

The room are very clean and the service and breakfast
were great. Very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dingo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Booked online and shouldn't have. The place had a bad stench of body odor throughout. Beds were made up fine, TV had bad reception on every channel, refrigerator worked and A/C and heater did too.

Forget about any type of continental breakfast. Sucked bad. Two types of cereal, bread for toast and Tang or something that was not OJ for drinking.

Had to pay an extra 20% for my daughter who came along as well. For as much as the room was, I would recommend about 10 others. Will NEVER visit this hotel again. Will NEVER recommend it to my friends or family.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Col_traveler_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2009

We had a great time at small Econo Lodge now called the Rodeway Inn. The room was clean and had everything we needed microwave, fridge, coffee, large parking lot. We arrived late at night. Mr. Lee the owner checked us in. He took a little longer than what we expected but finaly we made it to our room. In the morning Breakfast was a surprise Fresh fruit, bagels with creamcheese was excellent. We will have stay there next time we travel through the central coast.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pillowpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Не рассчитывайте на обильный завтрак
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lawoman666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
851 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sundown Inn
Sundown Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
494 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
459 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#20 of 29 in Morro Bay
335 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#11 of 29 in Morro Bay
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn

Address: 540 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2536
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Morro Bay
#17 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range: $61 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn is centrally located in a quiet downtown area. Less than a mile from the Museum of Natural History, which is located in Morro Bay State Park. This Morro Bay, CA hotel is 30-40 minutes from Hearst Castle and 15 minutes from California Polytechnic State University. The San Luis Obispo County Regional Airport is 12 miles away. There is never a shortage of things to do in Morro Bay. Visitors will enjoy browsing boutiques and shops, or playing golf at the Morro Bay State Park on a world-champion course. Discover a coastline of clean dunes, or paddle down a silent estuary and spy on beautiful and rare birds. The beach, fishing and kayaking are within two blocks of the hotel. Free Continental breakfast. The Morro Bay Sandpiper is a clean and affordable property. A variety of restaurants and cocktail lounges are located in the surrounding area. Special discounts are available for nearby restaurants and complimentary tickets to the Morro Bay Aquarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Morro Bay
Econo Lodge Morro Bay
Morro Bay Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing