We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place in Morro Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Reviewed March 16, 2014

What a delightful motel. Very clean. Very friendly staff. Excellent location. Quiet. Room 22 has a view!!! Rooms were relatively up-to-date w/ decor and were well-maintained. During the week, they have very good prices. We did not partake of the breakfast so have no comments. In-room coffee, cable TV, and a VERY good mattress. We'd definitely come back here!!!!!

Room Tip: Room 22 - has an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandyp33020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

171 - 177 of 401 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2014

A real typical little American motel. Nice and clean nice and quiet, little fella in reception very pleasant and nice indeed. Possibly the most basic breakfast I have seen to date, two types of cereals and two types of muffins all oddly cut in half...........but the coffee was good.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Nazareth9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Because I had spent so much $ at Vegas during the first part of my Christmas holiday break, with a few days of vacation time left, I was looking for a budget trip. I found it with the Sandpiper Inn. The discount was amazing! I booked the inn through Priceline and in total, spent about $45 per night, taxes & fees included! I had no expectations of the place because of the deal I received and the mixed reviews I'd read, but I was more than pleasantly surprised. My 1-queen bed room was clean, roomy, and had a nice big flat screen TV. It also had a coffee maker, a mini fridge, and a microwave, which were the exact amenities I needed. The icing on the lovely cake was the inn staff. The inn is run by a wonderful family. They will make you feel warm and welcome. And best of all, they prepare a continental breakfast for the guests every morning. My room also had a nice wall heater to warm up the chilly winter nights. I only saw one thing that needed improvement, which was the peeling paint in one corner of the bathroom. But of all the positives I experienced at this inn, the paint issue seemed almost minute! As long as you don't hold a 4 or 5-star standard for the Sandpiper Inn, I think you will also be pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: Book through Priceline, the rate is cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilPebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Very nice place, personnel, owners are very warm and helpful for everything. rooms clean, room designs, decorations are good, furniture is contemporary. Location is also very nice, and calm. Breakfeast is simple but satisfactory.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ogul g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This Inn is budget, for sure. But the interior has seen some recent upgrades and it has been decorated with some thought and love. The owners were really nice checking us in. We really enjoyed the stay.

We felt safe and clean.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sab I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We like staying in family run motels and this is our third time at Sandpiper. The rooms are nicer than many more expensive hotels and are decorated with a cheery, colorful look. Very clean. They've landscaped beautifully with succulents and created a welcoming, homey feel to the site. Breakfast is ok, typical of American continental breakfast, not great but adequate. We will stay there again and the family is very nice and helpful. Some nice views to Moro Bay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purna333US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We (young couple) stayed only one night just after Christmas. The staff was friendly, the room was nice and clean with a refrigerator and microwave, and it overlooked the bay and Morro Rock. The breakfast was only coffee, tee, orange juice and pastry, but they also had milk and the muffins were really good. The price was really good. I can imagine it is much busier in the summer. I can recommend this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
861 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sundown Inn
Sundown Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
460 reviews
1.2 mi away
Morro Shores Inn & Suites
Morro Shores Inn & Suites
#26 of 29 in Morro Bay
248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#12 of 29 in Morro Bay
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn

Address: 540 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2536
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Morro Bay
#17 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range: $58 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn is centrally located in a quiet downtown area. Less than a mile from the Museum of Natural History, which is located in Morro Bay State Park. This Morro Bay, CA hotel is 30-40 minutes from Hearst Castle and 15 minutes from California Polytechnic State University. The San Luis Obispo County Regional Airport is 12 miles away. There is never a shortage of things to do in Morro Bay. Visitors will enjoy browsing boutiques and shops, or playing golf at the Morro Bay State Park on a world-champion course. Discover a coastline of clean dunes, or paddle down a silent estuary and spy on beautiful and rare birds. The beach, fishing and kayaking are within two blocks of the hotel. The Morro Bay Sandpiper is a clean and affordable property. A variety of restaurants and cocktail lounges are located in the surrounding area. Special discounts are available for nearby restaurants and complimentary tickets to the Morro Bay Aquarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Morro Bay
Econo Lodge Morro Bay
Morro Bay Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing