We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Steal of A Lifetime!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Steal of A Lifetime!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

Because I had spent so much $ at Vegas during the first part of my Christmas holiday break, with a few days of vacation time left, I was looking for a budget trip. I found it with the Sandpiper Inn. The discount was amazing! I booked the inn through Priceline and in total, spent about $45 per night, taxes & fees included! I had no expectations of the place because of the deal I received and the mixed reviews I'd read, but I was more than pleasantly surprised. My 1-queen bed room was clean, roomy, and had a nice big flat screen TV. It also had a coffee maker, a mini fridge, and a microwave, which were the exact amenities I needed. The icing on the lovely cake was the inn staff. The inn is run by a wonderful family. They will make you feel warm and welcome. And best of all, they prepare a continental breakfast for the guests every morning. My room also had a nice wall heater to warm up the chilly winter nights. I only saw one thing that needed improvement, which was the peeling paint in one corner of the bathroom. But of all the positives I experienced at this inn, the paint issue seemed almost minute! As long as you don't hold a 4 or 5-star standard for the Sandpiper Inn, I think you will also be pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: Book through Priceline, the rate is cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LilPebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    159
    87
    24
    12
See reviews for
100
176
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Very nice place, personnel, owners are very warm and helpful for everything. rooms clean, room designs, decorations are good, furniture is contemporary. Location is also very nice, and calm. Breakfeast is simple but satisfactory.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ogul g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

This Inn is budget, for sure. But the interior has seen some recent upgrades and it has been decorated with some thought and love. The owners were really nice checking us in. We really enjoyed the stay.

We felt safe and clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sab I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We like staying in family run motels and this is our third time at Sandpiper. The rooms are nicer than many more expensive hotels and are decorated with a cheery, colorful look. Very clean. They've landscaped beautifully with succulents and created a welcoming, homey feel to the site. Breakfast is ok, typical of American continental breakfast, not great but adequate. We will stay there again and the family is very nice and helpful. Some nice views to Moro Bay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Purna333US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We (young couple) stayed only one night just after Christmas. The staff was friendly, the room was nice and clean with a refrigerator and microwave, and it overlooked the bay and Morro Rock. The breakfast was only coffee, tee, orange juice and pastry, but they also had milk and the muffins were really good. The price was really good. I can imagine it is much busier in the summer. I can recommend this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Alright. The hotel is priced low for a reason. The condition of things could be better - for instance the lamp in our room was held together by painters tape - but at least it worked, right? The hotel was clean, sheets and towels smelled clean and fresh and the bathroom was clean. We were traveling with a small dog so we were forced into a lower level room but the noise from above wasn't that bad. The primo part of this place is its location. It is central to everything! If the price of this hotel stays right (cheap!) I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Upstairs would be best for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurenantics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We got a really good price on priceline. This place is perfect for a budget traveler who doesn't mind having a simple and dated room. We were originally looking at Cambria but we wanted to spend more money on good food and Hearst Castle -- we didn't mind spending less on the room.

We were very happy with our decision. We felt we had more options staying in Morro Bay. Sandpiper was about 2 blocks away from all the restaurants. Don't hesitate bringing leftovers back to the room -- it has a microwave and a frig! I thought that we was helpful for anyone traveling with kids who could use a frig for snack or people wine tasting and want to chill what they bought!

When it came to checking in -- since we paid on priceline -- the owner had all the paper work prepared for us and all we had to do was sign. It was by far the easiest checkin I had.

The room was clean and had a good amount of towels. Only down side was limited channels on the TV and the 1990s decor. But if you have the same traveling philosophy as us -- the room is for sleeping and that is it -- this place is fine.

The breakfast they offered was simple -- muffins, coffee, tea, milk and juice. If you need protein (like me) the breakfast restaurants in the area are nearby (check out Frank and Lola's for breakfast).

FYI - the only reason why I put "average" for sleep quality is because the motel is so close to the water that you can faintly hear the sea lions singing. I thought is was cute. My BF not so much.

The owners/managers were very pleasant and helpful letting you know about the local establishments.

Room Tip: If you have an elderly person in your party and/or A LOT of luggage that you need to bring in your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VacationJunkie714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sundown Inn
Sundown Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.5 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn

Property: Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn
Address: 540 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2536
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Morro Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Morro Bay
#17 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn is centrally located in a quiet downtown area. Less than a mile from the Museum of Natural History, which is located in Morro Bay State Park. This Morro Bay, CA hotel is 30-40 minutes from Hearst Castle and 15 minutes from California Polytechnic State University. The San Luis Obispo County Regional Airport is 12 miles away. There is never a shortage of things to do in Morro Bay. Visitors will enjoy browsing boutiques and shops, or playing golf at the Morro Bay State Park on a world-champion course. Discover a coastline of clean dunes, or paddle down a silent estuary and spy on beautiful and rare birds. The beach, fishing and kayaking are within two blocks of the hotel. Free Continental breakfast. The Morro Bay Sandpiper is a clean and affordable property. A variety of restaurants and cocktail lounges are located in the surrounding area. Special discounts are available for nearby restaurants and complimentary tickets to the Morro Bay Aquarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Morro Bay
Econo Lodge Morro Bay
Morro Bay Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing