We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good location but tired motel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good location but tired motel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed here for one night as we were travelling down the N.Pacific highway to LA. It was fine for one night but wouldn't want to stay any longer.

Room decor was tired, and the bathroom felt quite dirty. Shower wouldn't have been very good had I needed to wash my hair. Good size room though and as I say, fine for a place to crash.

Nice location and in walking distance to the restaurants down at the dock.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mihir P, Manager at Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hello There,

Thank you so much for your input. we will most definitely look into the matter and fix up whatever may be needed to make you feel at home. We hope to see you next time. Have a good day.

Thank you,
Mihir Patel and
Sandpiper Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    148
    86
    23
    12
See reviews for
94
171
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Morro bay is a lovely place and everyone we met was really helpful and friendly but its like being in a different world. We drove up in 104 degrees but 3 miles out we hit the mist and lost visibility, sun and heat. The inn is really central and you can walk to ever thing you need. The room was clean and wifi easy to access and appreciated. There was a fridge and coffee machine. All you need for a short stay. However breakfast was dismal. We didnt bother. Went to bakery on waterfront instead.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angeljoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mihir P, Manager at Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hello There,

Thank you so much for your kind words. I truly appreciate it as well as our staff. Have a wonderful day ahead and we hope to see you next time.

Thank you,
Mihir Patel and
Sandpiper Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

An older motel but the room was clean and comfortable with plenty of towels coffee machine and well stocked bathroom
A problem with the TV was fixed promptly by a pleasant young man and we had a good night's sleep listening to the seals in the bay

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mihir P, Manager at Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hello There,

Thank you so much for your kind words. I truly appreciate it as well as our staff.
That TV had a life of its own on that day. I am glad we got it taken care of. Have a wonderful day ahead and we hope to see you next time.

Thank you,
Mihir Patel and
Sandpiper Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central valley, CA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

The room was spotless which I appreciate more then more modern furniture. The location was great and the area was really quiet which we appreciated.
The bed was really comfortable. We stayed in May and will be coming back.

Room Tip: If you want a fancy motel room it is not for you. It is very clean and quiet the furniture is a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zandofsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mihir P, Manager at Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hello There,

Thank you so much for your kind words. I truly appreciate it as well as our staff. Have a wonderful day ahead and we hope to see you next time.

Thank you,
Mihir Patel and
Sandpiper Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife & I stayed here this past weekend. It was worth every penny. My only concern was the stain on the carpet at the entrance of the room. Run a shampooing machine and there would be no issue. I like a firm bed and fluffy pillows, this place meets my bed requirements. The water was HOT, with the number of rooms on the property, up anticipated a hot water issue. There was also free WiFi, but I suggest you you use your cellular provider if you are using your smartphone, laptop or tablet, its may be a bit slow. one can not fault the hotel, could be the bandwidth of the ISP.
We love family businesses, this place DEFINITELY is that. The owners were kind. The older man, I, guess he was the father of the owner, was awesome. I would stay here again. The continental breakfast had muffins from Costco, there was freshly cut fruit, great coffee and cold cereal. If you are looking for a place to stay, pick this place. Don't give your money to La Quinta or EconoLodge down the street. Keep money local.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m2esquire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mihir P, Manager at Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hello There,

Thank you so much for your kind words. I truly appreciate it as well as our staff.
I am glad that you like the family businesses after all that is what keeps the city and america going.
Have a wonderful day ahead and we hope to see you next time.

Thank you,
Mihir Patel and
Sandpiper Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here one night and it was more than perfect. The only thing I'd make a negative comment on is the breakfast (which we didn't have because it was more than basic, almost non-existent: just juice, coffee in the reception area which is very small. The non-existent breakfast is a shame. But the room (upper floor) was very clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mihir P, Manager at Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hello There,

Thank you so much for your kind words. Thank you for the breakfast input I will most definitely look into it. I truly appreciate it as well as our staff. Have a wonderful day ahead and we hope to see you next time.

Thank you,
Mihir Patel and
Sandpiper Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

I don't know where the other reviewers stayed, but it couldn't have been the Sandpiper Inn where we stayed last weekend!

When I hear the word "Inn" I think of an establishment that is pleasant, clean, and which provides adequate lodging for the traveler. Our room was one of the most dismal we've ever encountered. It was in a serious state of disrepair and in need of refurbishment. The desk chair upholstery was ripped and had the stuffing coming out of it, and someone had put a mismatched kitchen chair pad over it to hide that. Trouble was, the chair pad was in no better shape--threadbare wiith stuffing protruding. The clothes hook on the interior bathroom door was loose and sagging, and the old and decrepit wooden shelving pieces in the bathroom sink area had chipped paint and were not clean. The two side chairs in the room had white pillow cases covering the upholstered seats--I did not care to investigate what was underneath those pillow cases. It was obvious that the tub/shower used to have a glass door enclosure around it. Someone made a slip-shod effort to paint areas of the tub that were left with scratches, mars, and screw holes, and the paint did not cover whatever they were trying to hide. It was applied so carelessly that the spots shone through. The bed was not saggy, but it was so spongy and soft that both my husband and I could hardly walk the next day due to lack of any back support. It took several days for my back to recover.

Now on to the so-called continental breakfast. There were what looked like Costco muffins quartered and placed in a plastic storage drawer item that one might find in an office setting. The muffins were not wrapped in any way--just stuck in that drawer for what looked to be several days. Not knowing who might have handled those muffins (changed their minds, etc.) previous to me, I wouldn't have touched them. There was a pitcher of some kind of orange liquid. My husband took a glass (the pitcher did not have a good pouring lip and some of the liquid splashed into the aforementioned drawer of muffins which was left open) and he mentioned that it made Tang taste good! We retreated from the miniscule "breakfast area" (right next to the check-in desk) where no more than two people could stand, and took a pass on it.

We were originally reserved at the Sandpiper Inn for 2 nights, but because our plans changed we cancelled one of them. What a fortuitous stroke of luck THAT was!! Friends of ours stayed there as well, as we all had a reunion in the area. The state of their room was identical to ours--ours wasn't just the odd room that was in a state of disrepair.

I know that lodging is expensive in Morro Bay, but the cost to endure this dive was $100+ after tax. We will NEVER stay here again, that's for sure. For a few more dollars I'm sure that one could secure a room that is actually habitable. Too bad we believed the reviews here on Trip Advisor!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilee1165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mihir P, Manager at Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Hello there,

Wow it seems like you have had a very bad and long day. I am sorry for all the "negative" things you have seen during your trip here. I would just like to say God bless you and have a "positive" day ahead.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.8 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sundown Inn
Sundown Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.5 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#12 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn

Property: Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn
Address: 540 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2536
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Morro Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Morro Bay
#17 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn is centrally located in a quiet downtown area. Less than a mile from the Museum of Natural History, which is located in Morro Bay State Park. This Morro Bay, CA hotel is 30-40 minutes from Hearst Castle and 15 minutes from California Polytechnic State University. The San Luis Obispo County Regional Airport is 12 miles away. There is never a shortage of things to do in Morro Bay. Visitors will enjoy browsing boutiques and shops, or playing golf at the Morro Bay State Park on a world-champion course. Discover a coastline of clean dunes, or paddle down a silent estuary and spy on beautiful and rare birds. The beach, fishing and kayaking are within two blocks of the hotel. Free Continental breakfast. The Morro Bay Sandpiper is a clean and affordable property. A variety of restaurants and cocktail lounges are located in the surrounding area. Special discounts are available for nearby restaurants and complimentary tickets to the Morro Bay Aquarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Morro Bay
Econo Lodge Morro Bay
Morro Bay Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing