We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool Place By The Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Morgan Hill, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Cool Place By The Bay”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Sand Piper Inn. The staff are super friendly and most accommodating to our requests. We slept peacefully every night and there wasn't much noise from our neighbors. The rooms are clean and comfy. The hotel is in downtown Morro Bay and close to restaurants, shops and other attractions. A great deal to our wallet and happy memories of our vacation on the central coast. Check them out when you visit Morro Bay.

Room Tip: This is a pet-friendly 2-story hotel. Pets are allowed on the first floor only. If you want noise re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priscilla K, Manager at Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Hello there,

Thank you for the kind words. I am glad you liked the stay at Sandpiper. I hope you made lots of cool and fun memories that you get to take along with you. I am glad you liked the prices and Morro bay. Have a sunny day ahead.

Thank you,
Mihir Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    160
    89
    25
    12
See reviews for
101
178
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palmdale, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We found the management friendly and helpful to our needs. They offered tips regarding eating establishments and tourism. The rooms were simple, but clean and everything functioned as it should have.We were satisfied for the price we paid. Because the Sandpiper Inn is not on a main street, it was a quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priscilla K, Manager at Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Hey there!

Thank you for the great review. I am always glad to be at your service whenever I can be. Yup that is correct we are just three blocks away from the "main" downtown. That is why you dont too much traffic noise and can rest easily without distraction from the cars. I hope to see you next time. Have a sunny day ahead.

Thank you,
Mihir Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a clean ...older...motel. We were pleasantly surprised at the nice service and the cleanliness of the facility. They have older bath tubs which are comfortable. We were able to park our motor home out front which was handy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Del J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priscilla K, Manager at Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Hello Sir,

Thank you for the kind words. That trailer was amazing, It was quite big. I am glad we could accommodate it with no worries. Thanks for calling and trying to make it work.
Have a great day ahead.

Thank you,
Mihir Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Almost a year has passed since our last visit. They now have another new owner. Somehow, it does not get better. They are now enforcing a $25 per night charge for pets. First of all , that's a little outrageous for a small, hypoallegenic dog. The continental breakfast has gone downhill a bit. Starts at 8:00 AM, which is late. Some muffins, no fruit & the "fresh" OJ is Tang, Bath towel was good size; but, very scratchy. You might want to bring one from home. On the positive side, it was clean & is still a good value. Even when full, it is very, very quiet. There's a great coffee shop called Top Dog about 1/2 mile down the road and it opens at 6:00AM. They make fresh muffins every day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priscilla K, Manager at Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Hello Sir,

How are you? I am sorry that you find the $25 a little bit high for the pet. When I checked our records we actually only charged you $20 because you said the pet was small. So we did consider your request. I am sorry you did not find our "continental" breakfast or towels accommodating. I will take your comments into consideration. Have a blessed sunny day.

Thank you,
Mihir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a budget hotel. It is clean enough, the bed had a nice firm mattress, but they didn't change the bed linens or the towels. Good thing we were only there for 2 nights. Coffee and muffins were complimentary but not great. I think I'll try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beachfolks_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priscilla K, Manager at Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Hello There,

How are you. I am sorry for the confusion you may have experienced. During check in we ask our guest if they want room service or not and unfortunately you had checked off " no, thank you" .
This was the only reason no one came by to clean your room. We always listen to our guests and checking off "no, thank you" means you do not wish to be bugged. I apologize for the confusion and will make it clear next time. have a great day.

Thank you,
Mihir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We are budget travellers, so we're not too fussy. As long as where we stay is clean, well priced and in a safe location we are happy. Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn was perfect. The guy at the front desk was super friendly and helpful. We had great wifi too. A short walk down to the shops or view point of the Morro Rock to watch the sunset.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priscilla K, Manager at Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Hello There,

Thank you for the kind review! I am glad you liked our affordable place. Yes indeed it is very quiet and when its sunny its extremely pleasant to just sit in the little chair and table and enjoy a nice cup of tea. We hope to see you next time.

Have a wonderful day ahead!

Thank you,
Mihir patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed here over Memorial Day weekend and it was wonderful! We even ended up staying for an extra night. We had to change rooms, but they were very helpful and accommodating. Breakfast was coffee, juice, cereal and muffins, but that was fine with us. :) We had my daughter's service dog with us and he received a cool little goodie bag when we checked in. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CaraLacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priscilla K, Manager at Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your warm and kind review. It is always nice to see friendly animals that come along with guests as they bring cheer and joy to us all. Thank you and we hope to see you and your small pall again some other time. have a wonderful day.

Thank you,
Mihir Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sundown Inn
Sundown Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.5 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn

Property: Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn
Address: 540 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2536
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Morro Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Morro Bay
#17 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn is centrally located in a quiet downtown area. Less than a mile from the Museum of Natural History, which is located in Morro Bay State Park. This Morro Bay, CA hotel is 30-40 minutes from Hearst Castle and 15 minutes from California Polytechnic State University. The San Luis Obispo County Regional Airport is 12 miles away. There is never a shortage of things to do in Morro Bay. Visitors will enjoy browsing boutiques and shops, or playing golf at the Morro Bay State Park on a world-champion course. Discover a coastline of clean dunes, or paddle down a silent estuary and spy on beautiful and rare birds. The beach, fishing and kayaking are within two blocks of the hotel. Free Continental breakfast. The Morro Bay Sandpiper is a clean and affordable property. A variety of restaurants and cocktail lounges are located in the surrounding area. Special discounts are available for nearby restaurants and complimentary tickets to the Morro Bay Aquarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Morro Bay
Econo Lodge Morro Bay
Morro Bay Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing