We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spir of the moment!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Apple Valley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spir of the moment!”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The Sandpiper Inn was exceptional clean and comfortable. It also had a nice size refrigerator and micro wave. The grounds are beautiful and kept, and to top it off it is reasonable priced...it is small and cozy. The owners and family are very nice. O and did I mention Breakfast....

Room Tip: I wanted to stay on the second floor so I could have. A view of The Rock but my husband doesn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priscilla K, Manager at Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Hey there Kerry!

Glad you enjoyed the trip down here. If you every decide to get the room with the view just let me know I will definitely talk to your husband. Hahaha I am sure he will agree next time. Hope to see you again. Have a warm and sunny day.

Thank you,
Mihir Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    163
    93
    26
    13
See reviews for
102
184
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We had reservations this weekend (2-1,2-13) at a different motel and when we got there we didn't like the looks. Drove around and saw the Sandpiper.....looked nice and close to the bay, so, I went in to check the rates. I was greeted by very friendly people, we talked awhile, I told him by budget and he made it happen. Good, clean room - nice view. The next time we're in Morro this is where we'll stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priscilla K, Manager at Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Hello Steve,

Thank you for stopping by. We enjoyed having you here. Come by anytime and we will always have discounts and promotions. Have a great day.

Thank you,
Mihir Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Sandpiper Inn was my best find on a recent trip up and down California's central coast. The motel is located on a quiet section of Main Street in Morro Bay, but still within walking distance of the harbor and restaurants and shops in downtown. The room was clean, tastefully appointed, and I had a great view of Morro Rock and the bay from my window (I had the corner room, 22, which I highly recommend).

I also appreciated the layout of the rooms -- at least the one I was in, the bathroom was situated between the adjacent motel room and where my bed was -- thus keeping any noise down to a minimum. So many motels are arranged so that bedrooms share walls and it's far too easy to hear TV noise, etc. The Sandpiper was very quiet, even with most of the other rooms filled during my stay.

The owners are very friendly and responsive, and clearly take good care of the building.

Room Tip: Room 22 is a corner room with a window that looks out to the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happynomad32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priscilla K, Manager at Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Hello !

I hope the storm didn't give you more trouble after the second time. I am glad that you enjoyed the stay and like our rooms. Room No. 22 is the top most liked room and I am happy that you like it too! Have a splendid time ahead. Hope to see you again.

Thank you,
Mihir Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trabuco Canyon
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn was a very clean and comfortable Inn with a great view of Morro Rock. The owners were very pleasant. Had a great time with my two kids over MLK weekend. My kids and I can't wait to stay again when visiting Morro Bay/Los Osos/SLO.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikefromOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priscilla K, Manager at Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hello Mike!

Thank you for sharing the wonderful thoughts. I enjoyed having you and the children here. They were very jolly and cheerful. I hope to see them again too. Have a wonderful day.

Thank you,
Mihir Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Sandpiper Inn in Morro Bay was a nice, basic place to stay. It was affordable, the staff was very friendly, and their communication and customer service by email and phone was excellent. The rooms have a nice view out the front window, even for being inland a few blocks. Cleanliness and odor could be improved somewhat. We asked for a room upstairs and that was not for pets. Overall, it is a very good value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priscilla K, Manager at Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Hello Andrew!

Hope your day is going well and sunny. Thank you for the warm and delightful comments.
I am very pleased that you liked our services and offerings. I will most definitely look into the issue you mentioned.

Have a great day ahead and hope to see you again soon.

Thank you,
Mihir Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I travel around the world quite a bit, and stay in everything from shanty to the occasional 5 star with limo service from the airport. The Sandpiper is at the modest end of the spectrum, but it's clean, well positioned and reasonably priced. What's more, Neil at the front desk was very helpful and accommodating. It's true the breakfast will not win any awards, but the Morro Bay foreshore shops have plenty of great brekkie places.

Room Tip: Unless you're traveling with a pet, request an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priscilla K, Manager at Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Hello Paul,

Thank you for the wonderful coment. I am glad you enjoyed the stay here with us at Sandpiper.
Have a wonderful and prosperous new year!

Thank you,
Neal Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lotus
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We needed an inexpensive pet friendly hotel for one night on our way to Newport Beach. This place worked out perfectly. We arrived earlier than we expected but they had a room available and it was extremely clean and well kept. I never expect much from a continental breakfast which is a good thing since the only thing available was some small packaged danish and dry cereal. It is close enough to Marina Street that we could have walked but due to the weather we chose to drive. All in all I think it was a very nice place for the price and I would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LivelaughloveinLotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priscilla K, Manager at Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Hello !

Thank you for the excellent comment you gave us on TripAdvisor! I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Sandpiper.

Have a happy and prospersous new year!

Thank you,
Neal Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
831 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sundown Inn
Sundown Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
486 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
681 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn

Property: Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn
Address: 540 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2536
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Morro Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Morro Bay
#17 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn is centrally located in a quiet downtown area. Less than a mile from the Museum of Natural History, which is located in Morro Bay State Park. This Morro Bay, CA hotel is 30-40 minutes from Hearst Castle and 15 minutes from California Polytechnic State University. The San Luis Obispo County Regional Airport is 12 miles away. There is never a shortage of things to do in Morro Bay. Visitors will enjoy browsing boutiques and shops, or playing golf at the Morro Bay State Park on a world-champion course. Discover a coastline of clean dunes, or paddle down a silent estuary and spy on beautiful and rare birds. The beach, fishing and kayaking are within two blocks of the hotel. Free Continental breakfast. The Morro Bay Sandpiper is a clean and affordable property. A variety of restaurants and cocktail lounges are located in the surrounding area. Special discounts are available for nearby restaurants and complimentary tickets to the Morro Bay Aquarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Morro Bay
Econo Lodge Morro Bay
Morro Bay Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing