We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice, Basic Motel in Morro Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Orange, California, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Nice, Basic Motel in Morro Bay”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Sandpiper Inn in Morro Bay was a nice, basic place to stay. It was affordable, the staff was very friendly, and their communication and customer service by email and phone was excellent. The rooms have a nice view out the front window, even for being inland a few blocks. Cleanliness and odor could be improved somewhat. We asked for a room upstairs and that was not for pets. Overall, it is a very good value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priscilla K, Manager at Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Hello Andrew!

Hope your day is going well and sunny. Thank you for the warm and delightful comments.
I am very pleased that you liked our services and offerings. I will most definitely look into the issue you mentioned.

Have a great day ahead and hope to see you again soon.

Thank you,
Mihir Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    160
    90
    26
    13
See reviews for
102
180
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I travel around the world quite a bit, and stay in everything from shanty to the occasional 5 star with limo service from the airport. The Sandpiper is at the modest end of the spectrum, but it's clean, well positioned and reasonably priced. What's more, Neil at the front desk was very helpful and accommodating. It's true the breakfast will not win any awards, but the Morro Bay foreshore shops have plenty of great brekkie places.

Room Tip: Unless you're traveling with a pet, request an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priscilla K, Manager at Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Hello Paul,

Thank you for the wonderful coment. I am glad you enjoyed the stay here with us at Sandpiper.
Have a wonderful and prosperous new year!

Thank you,
Neal Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lotus
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We needed an inexpensive pet friendly hotel for one night on our way to Newport Beach. This place worked out perfectly. We arrived earlier than we expected but they had a room available and it was extremely clean and well kept. I never expect much from a continental breakfast which is a good thing since the only thing available was some small packaged danish and dry cereal. It is close enough to Marina Street that we could have walked but due to the weather we chose to drive. All in all I think it was a very nice place for the price and I would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LivelaughloveinLotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priscilla K, Manager at Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Hello !

Thank you for the excellent comment you gave us on TripAdvisor! I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Sandpiper.

Have a happy and prospersous new year!

Thank you,
Neal Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We booked this place because it was pet friendly, but that turned out to be the only redeeming quality. The website said continental breakfast was included but instead they sent us several blocks away with a discount coupon to apply towards breakfast. The motel was further away from the waterfront shops and restaurants than we anticipated but we like to walk so that was OK, just the fact it was drizzly made that a little unpleasant. The gentleman at check in was very nice and professional, but the size of the room was so unacceptable that we wouldn't stay here again if we were paid to.

We sure didn't have any view from our room although other travellers reviews seem to have, but I guess folks travelling with a dog are second class, it was cheap for sure but we only got what we paid for.

Room Tip: Find a place closer to the waterfront with a view, and something with more square footage unless you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priscilla K, Manager at Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Hi Donna, which you stayed queen room is littlebit smaller all others is ok with morrorock view and now is new management is improved about breakfast and service. we are assuring will take care in feature. we apologizie.
thanks.
neal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stopped here as we arrived quite late to Morro Bay and didn't have anywhere else to stay.
On arrival, the landlady was more interested in "upgrading" us to a king size bed. We agreed and were given a room on the ground floor. The room was OK but there was a certain smell that we couldn't identify. We found out later that this inn is "pet friendly" and we had been given a room that is usually given to pet owners (we have no problems with that, but would have preferred to be given another option).
The room itself was a nice size and the view of the rock was good. The hotel is located just at the end of the high street. One good thing is that you are given cards with discounts for your meal/breakfast in places nearby.

Room Tip: If you don't have pets ask for a room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crisp007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priscilla K, Manager at Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Sorry for the smelling and we are very particular about cleaning and our pet policy. we have only few rooms pet frendly. we know you like the room and clanness. we apologise for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goleta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I have been going to the Sandpiper for years, during its varied owners; Keystone, Rodeway, Econo, now Sandpiper. it is a nice place that has great views, clean rooms, yet is close to the South end of the Marina (Marina street). Very friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere. The manager was very accommodating of special needs, and friendly. Reasonable prices, reasonable upkeep and quality. I have never regretted staying there at any time. I am a bit skeptical of the occasional angry review- maybe they work for a competitor? Theses days, the likelihood that a manager would allow any poor service and get hit with low occupancy due to bad reviews does not fit what I have always experienced there. I stayed 'elsewhere' last time in MB, (they were booked up), but returned to the "Keystone" (as I like to remember it) for another relaxing stay. It's not the Ritz, but like most people, I have to stay on budget. A great room for the price, especially in my favorite small seaside town. (Try the Fish & Chips at the 'Lil Hut!)

Room Tip: Upstairs always a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoletaTraveler_X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priscilla K, Manager at Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. is very helpful. we are truly appreciate for your effort.
Have a wonderful day.
Neal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2012

A very few blocks from downtown, but in a residential neighborhood, spectacular view of Morro Rock, great maintenance. I've been visiting family located nearby for years, when it was named Rodeway Inn. It is modest, but fills my need exactly. I plan to return here for the foreseeable future. Room had Mini fridge, microwave, hair dryer, bathtub/shower. A small property, there is no restaurant or pool: but vacation destination Morro Bay is a small town with lots restaurants, ammenities

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank -bfm369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priscilla K, General Manager at Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for a wonderful review.!

What a nice Thanksgiving compliments.

We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
827 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
300 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sundown Inn
Sundown Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
486 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
675 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn

Property: Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn
Address: 540 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2536
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Morro Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Morro Bay
#17 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn is centrally located in a quiet downtown area. Less than a mile from the Museum of Natural History, which is located in Morro Bay State Park. This Morro Bay, CA hotel is 30-40 minutes from Hearst Castle and 15 minutes from California Polytechnic State University. The San Luis Obispo County Regional Airport is 12 miles away. There is never a shortage of things to do in Morro Bay. Visitors will enjoy browsing boutiques and shops, or playing golf at the Morro Bay State Park on a world-champion course. Discover a coastline of clean dunes, or paddle down a silent estuary and spy on beautiful and rare birds. The beach, fishing and kayaking are within two blocks of the hotel. Free Continental breakfast. The Morro Bay Sandpiper is a clean and affordable property. A variety of restaurants and cocktail lounges are located in the surrounding area. Special discounts are available for nearby restaurants and complimentary tickets to the Morro Bay Aquarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Morro Bay
Econo Lodge Morro Bay
Morro Bay Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing