We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Clean budget motel in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean budget motel in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

My boyfriend and I were heading up to San Luis Obispo for a family function and wanted to stay by the water in Morro Bay. Hotels book up pretty quickly this time of year so we made our reservation early. We originally made it for one night and added a second night about two weeks prior to our stay. The hotel is off the main street leading down to the bay and is in a quiet area. It's a small hotel with plenty of parking right outside your hotel room, which I always appreciate. When we opened the window we had a view of "the rock" and could hear the sea lions barking. The rooms were clean and bright, with simple beach themed decor. It had a small fridge and microwave, which is a must for me when traveling. There was an older lady working the front desk when we checked in and she was absolutely adorable. She seems to take great pride in the hotel and is often watering her plants throughout the morning. She chats with the guests and offered us tons of coupons and recommendations on sightseeing and restuarants. I would definitely stay here again when in the area. It is the quintessential beach motel you imagine and is a good value for your money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    142
    81
    19
    11
See reviews for
90
160
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed here as a halfway point on our road trip from San Jose to Los Angeles on Highway 1. As road-weary travelers, we were very glad to check in and find that not only were the rates extremely reasonable, but the motel was bright and clean. The front desk staff was very friendly and hospitable. It was so peaceful at Rodeway that we ended up falling asleep at 9 pm and we didn't wake again until 7 am, which was much needed. I would definitely stay here again, as our stay was a very positive experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Fantastic and Relaxing weekend.. We stayed at the Rodeway Inn aka sandpiper in Morro bay. Room was great; the service was friendly and fast. We dined at Water Front Grill food and service was incredible. In the morning you wake up, have a great Complimentary breakfast and free Coffee from Rodeway Inn . walk to the Bay and the shopping . it is so nice . If you had enough of city madness, you have to try this place. Thank you Rodeway Inn in Morro Bay for making this a very amazing trip.

Room Tip: Call the Motel to get better pricing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
122 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Lady at the front desk greeted me by name when I checked in and when I checked out. Room was very clean; it appears that there was an upgrade in the not too distant past. Bathroom was nice and the shower was A+. The little wall heater was quiet and effective and the mini-fridge worked fine. Rodeway Inn is at the end of "motel row" but only an extra 2 minute walk from motels closer to the action. Well worth the price if you're not expecting an upscale hotel.

Room Tip: It appears that all but room 19 have a view of Morro Rock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milocat007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Traditional motel, with amenities above most comparably priced motels. Very convenient to restaurants and shops. Slightly higher than road improves privacy and quiet. Very clean.
Room featured microwave, coffee maker, refrigerator, bright lights.
Continental breakfast buffet included FRESH FRUIT and raisin bread in addition to the more typical pastries.
Room was attractive, including wall paper border at ceiling which is unusual in a budget motel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nycpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

The bed was hard, the wifi was weak, and the price was right. And they take pets. Good view of The Rock from room #11. We put the "Do Not Disturb" sign on the door until noon, but the maid must not check after noon, as they did not clean the room. Thin sheets, hard pillows, but a good room heater. Suspose to get new management this week. Good location to walk down to the embarcadero. I would probably stay here again if I was feeling cheap.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Lovely clean - basic rooms! All you need, five minute walk to bay and restaurants! Perfect for two or three nights.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SotonWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 576 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Morro Bay
Days Inn Morro Bay
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 767 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#10 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sundown Inn
Sundown Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
#8 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn

Property: Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn
Address: 540 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2536
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Morro Bay
#17 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn is centrally located in a quiet downtown area. Less than a mile from the Museum of Natural History, which is located in Morro Bay State Park. This Morro Bay, CA hotel is 30-40 minutes from Hearst Castle and 15 minutes from California Polytechnic State University. The San Luis Obispo County Regional Airport is 12 miles away. There is never a shortage of things to do in Morro Bay. Visitors will enjoy browsing boutiques and shops, or playing golf at the Morro Bay State Park on a world-champion course. Discover a coastline of clean dunes, or paddle down a silent estuary and spy on beautiful and rare birds. The beach, fishing and kayaking are within two blocks of the hotel. Free Continental breakfast. The Morro Bay Sandpiper is a clean and affordable property. A variety of restaurants and cocktail lounges are located in the surrounding area. Special discounts are available for nearby restaurants and complimentary tickets to the Morro Bay Aquarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Morro Bay
Econo Lodge Morro Bay
Morro Bay Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing