We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Potato Scramble!”

Coffee Pot Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 100 Restaurants in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Potato Scramble!”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Went last June and just this weekend - twice, while staying in Morro Bay.

Gordon is a Class "A" owner and despite having to wait a bit - you'll see he has a wonderfully home town sort of place. Thanksgiving weekend was typically slammed - but it was so worth it.

Patty melt for lunch on Saturday - and the place was closing, but he kept it open for me and the lunch was fabulous.

Sunday morning was the Potato Scramble, sourdough toast and coffee: Outstanding.

If you're in town - don't miss this place and the great people that work there!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoganGlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    65
    21
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

My husband and I have been going to The Coffee Pot for the last 3 years while we are on vacation in Morro Bay. We will not go anyplace else for breakfast. They have the best bacon and the Belgian waffles are so amazing they melt in your mouth. Our goal is to try everything on the menu!! The chili verde omelette had a very good flavor as did the Spanish omelette. Everybody is so friendly. Amy and Nancy are the waitresses that we have come to know as well as Gordon the owner. We hope to make Morro Bay our future home :-)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LovesMorroBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Home Cooking”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Coffee Pot restaurant at 1001 Front St, Morro Bay, CA is excellent down home cooking. Great location right by the water though views of the street. We had a party of 8 and everyone really enjoyed their breakfast. Check it out, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great way to start the day....”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Some mornings....especially on vacation.....you deserve to start the day with a good breakfast.....the coffee pot does not disappoint.
Great omelette with toast and potatoes..... other half enjoyed pancakes & syrup.
Good juice & coffee to wash it all down.
Solid service & very clean.
Nice local business....looking after it's customers..... in a good spot......deserves to prosper.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vintage66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Crossing, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great breakfast spot”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

It was recommended by the Inn where we were staying to go to the Coffee Pot Restaurant for breakfast on our last day in Morro Bay. We ended up having a great conversation with Gordon, the owner, who wrote a book about his life. He was delightful, as was the food and service. Good breakfast fair. Hope to return someday.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanTurnerCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coffee Pot Restaurant also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Coffee Pot Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing