We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A real surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pleasant Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pleasant Inn
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A real surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

At $100 a night, we didn't have high expectations from this place. We were pleasantly surprised. The rooms are clean and nicely furnished (if a little dated); the bathroom and kitchen are adequate; it has a decent TV and an amazingly comfortable king size bed that seems out of place in a budget motel (room 4). The location is also excellent as it's about 3 minutes walk to the shops and restaurants at the waterfront where we got some great sea lion photos in the evening when they came to play around the little marina. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PapaJulietRomeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnS32746, Owner at Pleasant Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Hello Papa Juliet Romeo

Thanks for your wonderful comments, we truly appreciate them. We are very glad you loved the Inn and the comfy king size beds too.

Hope to see you again!

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    76
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
38
135
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I love this motel. It's very small but personable. They even allow dogs which was perfect for me seeing I was traveling by myself. The staff is very friendly. And the prices are very reasonable. Close to the embarcadero.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slganser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnS32746, Owner at Pleasant Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thanks for staying with us, we hope to see you again!

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here overnight last month (June 2013) on our way from San Francisco to Los Angeles. Our host were very friendly and helpful, directing us to a wonderful venue for dinner which was within easy walking distance.
The motel is very attractive, with lovely gardens and a real homey feel. Rooms are very comfortable, with full kitchen and very comfy beds and spotlessly clean.
I would recommend this motel to anyone wanting a lovely friendly place to stay, close to waterfront and shops.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liznaz-en
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnS32746, Owner at Pleasant Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thanks for all your great comments regarding our cozy Inn. We hope you also had a terrific visit throughout the states while traveling too. Hope to see you again the future.

Take care,

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
115 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This place is one step up from most motels. In fact, it's more like a B&B, with the difference that breakfast is actually not served.

We stayed in a room with king size bed (really comfy!), decorated with a mix of modern and vintage elements. The bathroom was rather compact, but had everything we needed and was also cute.

The kitchen was actually very nice and for me, as a long term traveler, very useful too. There are enough utensils to cook a simple meal, stove, microwave, coffee maker, etc. And coffee/tea are available for free.

Pleasant Inn is in the very center of Morro Bay (less than 5 minutes walk to the waterfront) - you can see the huge Morro rock from right outside your room.

Overall, really nice place to stay and perfect location!

Room Tip: If WIFI is important to you during your stay, ask for a room closer to reception, where signal is be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zararock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

In a nine day road trip this was by far the best stay in our route. Very friendly staff and hotel/room full of details. Super comfortable bed. Owner is always checking for any need you may have. When returning to Morro Bay no doubt this is going to be our choice!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enrique G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Whilst planning our trip our friends insisted that we visited Morro Bay to view the rock and to stay here. Well, one one thing they were spot-on. This really is a charming little motel. The owners clearly take pride in it; the rooms were great style and very clean.
We were only there one night, but we really enjoyed our stay in Moro Bay. Despite the fog shrouding the Rock!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This was an awesome place to stay. Everyone was so friendly and welcoming - truly felt as if they cared.The rooms are absolutely spotless and comfy - the ocean view is hard to beat. Location was perfect - just a short walk to the Embarcadero for all the restaurants and shops.
Can't wait until our next visit - hopefully will be sooner than later.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen93550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#10 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 410 reviews
0.3 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#6 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Morro Bay
Days Inn Morro Bay
#8 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 745 reviews
1.1 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#18 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pleasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pleasant Inn

Property: Pleasant Inn
Address: 235 Harbor St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pleasant Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Pleasant Inn a newly restored family owned boutique inn just one block from the waterfront, where classic coastal cottage meets contemporary charm. Each our signature guest rooms is uniquely designed with fashionable furnishings and guest comfort in mind. The quaint Pleasant Inn offers top quality amenities that discerning travels desire such as pillow top beds, flat screen televisions, direct tv, refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee makers. The Pleasant Inn offers complimentary beach cruisers, delicious desert cake in the evenings, high speed internet, on site parking, and special occasion packages. All guest rooms are non smoking and pet friendly rooms are available. The Pleasant Inn is conveniently located in the seaside village of Morro Bay. A picture perfect getaway for travelers seeking outdoor adventures in a gorgeous natural setting. Located along scenic Highway 1 midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, Morro Bay is easy to reach and hard to leave. Once you experience the beauty and charm - not to mention the fun you'll have kayaking, biking, fishing, beach combing and just plain relaxing you'll wonder why you'd ever go anyplace else! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Pleasant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pleasant Hotel Morro Bay
Pleasant Motel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing