We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great roast beef sandwich”
Review of Hofbrau

Hofbrau
Ranked #12 of 100 Restaurants in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
244 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great roast beef sandwich”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Our family ate here while on our family vacation. We had planned on eating at a restaurant a friend recommended to us but it was closed. We found another restaurant but it closed at 6 PM just as we got there to eat. We saw this restaurant earlier so we came back here to try it. The sandwiches were very good. We had the pastrami dip, roast beef, fish and chips, soup and clam strips. It was all good and we were full when we were done. There is also a good view of the harbor and surroundings. The service was very good and there was a very short wait for our meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    117
    47
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Osos, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not that great”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Had the Clam Chowder and chicken strips with fries. The chowder was decent-a little on the thin side. The chicken strips were somewhat greasy. My husband had a fish combo and said it was decent but not memorable by any means. The ambiance is alright. We aren't tourists so can go here anytime. Tourists may think it's a great place to eat. Prices are a little on the high side. Customer service pretty much sucks. No one asked us how we liked our meal. The place itself was a little dirty when we were there-tables not wiped down, trash lying visibly on the floor and on the counters.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank binksmom92382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best fish fillets EVER! (And no MSG!)”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

My husband and two other people in our party had the beef sandwiches that they are known for. They liked them but were not bowled over by them. For that to have happened, they needed to have pout more beef on the roll. We could not have them, for the meat had MSG in it.

However, this place should be known for its excellent fish fillets!! Moist, tender, melt in your mouth, yet crispy on the outside, delish! I still dream of them! And best of all, NO MSG, guar gum, zanthan gum, or fake sweeteners! Yay! Their tartar sauce was also really good, not too many pickles, and plenty of mayo in it.

Their warm potato salad was worth tasting, just for the novelty factor. (No MSG in this either.) The place had a good view of the bay, and the workers were very helpful.

Thank you Hofbrau for your excellent fish fillets!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank See D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
159 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I am allergic to seafood, so I have a problem finding a restaurant in the area that does not smell strongly of cooking fish. The Hofbrau fills the bill and while it has fish on the menu, it does not reek of the odor. They have a good roast beef sandwich and carve the beef while you wait. There are a few beers on tap. The salad bar is pretty pathetic, however. Staff are nice and there is a nice view of the bay out the windows. If the weather is nice, you can sit outside.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grizz9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Roast Beef Sandwiches!”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

When we want really good roast beef (must be half a cow every day!) this has been the place for more than 25 years. Good German potato salad, too, okay clam chowder; burgers for kids. But the Roast Beef Sandwich is the reason people go there! Yumm

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank cheryll99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hofbrau also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Hofbrau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing