We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ole faithful”
Review of Hofbrau

Hofbrau
Ranked #13 of 101 Restaurants in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, German, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating
Morro Bay, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“ole faithful”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have lived in Morro Bay for 40 years. Hofbrau has been a staple and a go to for us as long as I remember. Beer battered fish and chips and you have to have roast beef. Carved right in front of you! Yummy!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rambuncious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    120
    51
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodland Hills
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Roast Beef Sandwich”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

My favorite place to eat. The best Roast Beef sandwich in the world, carved right in front of you.

I go surfing (I call it bible study with the baby dolphin) then to communion (Hofbrau Roast Beef with a beer)... I am thankful that I live here!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tujunga
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY ”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Don't eat here. My roast beef was cold, fatty & dry. The roll wasn't anything that great. The au jus juice was too salty. The sweet potato fries were way over priced at $4.35. The portion for the price was inadequate. I did complain & the girl was very nice. She give me another order of fries at no cost. Other than that, I will never eat here again. What happened to this place?

Helpful?
1 Thank carmerlgreco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good fried fish”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We had the fish and chips and fried clams. It was not greasy and it tasted like they used good oil. We had a bucket sized pitcher of Hofbrau Hefe to go with it but before that affected our judgement we decided the fish was good.
This is a very casual fried fish place but nice and very well run - they got our food cooked fresh and right to us.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank KAdams2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

The roast beef sandwich... great!!!clam chowder was good and the deep fried squid and Chips not bad, I will recommend! !

Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hofbrau also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Hofbrau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing