We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific”

Windows on the Water
Ranked #5 of 100 Restaurants in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located on the water in the Morro Bay, Windows on the Water celebrates the finest the Central Coast of California has to offer. Fresh, local and sustainable ingredients, an extensive wine and beer list of local and international labels, the best in local musicians each Monday, Thursday and Saturday night, and arguably the most dramatic view on the coast. Join us in the bar for a drink and bar specials and dinner nightly from our menu created by our award-winning executive chef, Neil Smith.
Summit, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We enjoyed perfectly prepared fresh halibut; excellent service and outstanding sunset views of Bay. We highly recommend this restaurant for a special evening meal.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    112
    31
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cambria, California
Level Contributor
192 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great Food & Nice Bay Views”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Delicious filet-mignon & broiled shrimp - dessert was outstanding - Orange Coconut Creme Bruele was the best ever! Nice wine list - attentive service. The nicest restaurant in Morro Bay by far.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank HappyVagabond2458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great View and Food”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We ate dinner here with a large group over the Memorial Day weekend. All meals had been pre-ordered weeks in advance and while the food was excellent the service left something to be desired. The wait for food service to begin was way too long and once started, they seemed to have trouble coordinating getting all meals to each table in close to the same time. Would probably try as a couple as the food was tasty and the views fine.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JPWOTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tifton, Georgia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Loved the restaurant and the town!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We began our drive up California's beautiful coast on Highway #1 at Morro Bay and continued to Monterey. Dinner at Windows on the Water was one of the highlights of the stay there. The view from the restaurant looking out toward Morro Bay's famous rock, the very helpful and friendly staff and the delicious San Dab fish dinner will stand out as one of our best experiences from our trip. Wish we could have stayed there longer and eaten at the restaurant again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
113 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Tps in Bay Front Dining”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The seafood here is as fresh as it gets. Sand dabs were so light they seemed to float off the plate. The abalone appetizer was perfectly prepared and, despite a wasabi-based sauce, was fully-flavored and exceptionally tasty. service as flawless. Even though we had not reserved, they fit us in with only a short wait to be seated overlooking the Pacific and Morro Rock. Any time I'm back this way, I'll be back!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windows on the Water also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Windows on the Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing