We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, service and view”

Windows on the Water
Ranked #4 of 98 Restaurants in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located on the water in the Morro Bay, Windows on the Water celebrates the finest the Central Coast of California has to offer. Fresh, local and sustainable ingredients, an extensive wine and beer list of local and international labels, the best in local musicians each Monday, Thursday and Saturday night, and arguably the most dramatic view on the coast. Join us in the bar for a drink and bar specials and dinner nightly from our menu created by our award-winning executive chef, Neil Smith.
California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

This place is wonderful. The view is excellent, as is the food and service. This was one of my father's favorite restaurants, and I learned why when celebrating a birthday there. They even have live, relaxing music. Love this place.

Helpful?
Thank dancingsams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    107
    30
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pleasant food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Very nice location with a view of the bay. The food is good as is the service. Can't miss with the fresh local seafood.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good bar specials & pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We live in Morro Bay and this is one of our top picks for a cocktail and a light casual dinner. Our favorites: (1) Wednesday night sliders - 3 mini hamburgers with homemade buns or (2) the wood fired pizza and a salad. On a cool or foggy evening, sitting in front of the pizza oven is a great way to warm up and unwind. The dining room is upscale but the bar area is casual with lots of local flavor.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa rosa,ca
Level Contributor
214 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Upscale,Classy and Wonderful!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Windows on the Water was recommended to us by a tasting room employee at a winery in Paso Robles and we were very pleased w/ the place. A beautiful room w/ large windows "on the water" (No false advertising here!!!) This classy restaurant serves excellent seafood beautifully prepared and presented.
I had the tuna which was outstanding. My wife had sand dabs which were wonderful as well. Service is friendly and efficient. The wine list is well thought out w/ many local wines lots of Pinots and priced very reasonably. Centrally located and an elevator ride up this is an exciting special occasion place which is not to be missed !

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank alan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Simeon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The View's the Thing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

The views the best on the Central Coast for 200 miles. The food, not quite.

I went for Thanksgiving, which admittedly may not be typical. The salad and dessert was great. The turkey, mashed potatoes, stuffing, and cranberries, less so, rather dry, meally and tasteless. And I'd have liked a choice of bread, not being a fan of sourdough, but that was all there was on offer.

The saddest thing I have report is the service. After the entree, I was abandoned. No one checked back for many minutes, and when he did arrive, he was a tad over-familiar for my taste, for a restaurant of this reputation. He approached being rude when I questioned the price of the wine. Be aware of the half and full glasses, in the small print.

The atmosphere otherwise was fine, except the background music far too pop for the site.

If you're in the area for a short time, go for the view, especially as the sun descends. But go easy on the food.

Helpful?
Thank SecretAgentX9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windows on the Water also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Windows on the Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing