We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food OK, but service not so good”

Taco Temple Morro Bay
Ranked #8 of 101 Restaurants in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Food OK, but service not so good”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The tacos are huge with lots of lettuce and greens. My carnitas were overcooked, almost burned. But the service was awful. Three tables that came in after us were served before us. We couldn't catch the server's eye and sat without water for ages.

The seafood is usually pretty good, but I have a problem with a restaurant that only takes cash and will not make reservations. This means that the customer doesn't matter that much, and the service reflects this.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JonieSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    148
    51
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minden, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Some of the best food in Morro Bay. You will need to split your dinner with someone as you get enough for two or more. Be prepared to wait as everyone knows of this great place.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Shabby AND surprisingly wonderful!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

To think of Taco Temple as a typical Mexican restaurant would be like saying McDonalds is the standard for burgers. While the derivation of the food is mostly "south of the border" this restaurant's food could be called nouveau Mexican cuisine. But whatever name you end up giving it, Taco Temple has fabulous food that combines Mexican elements with classic and creative cooking techniques to yield a hybrid that is singularly fantastic. The building is in an old shopping center right along Highway One, and the owners have decorated with a surfer/Mexican theme. The salsa does not meet our standards for "great" but the rest of the menu sure does! We're locals, and when we want a hearty lunch or dinner, or fresh fish cooked with some zest, we head for Morro Bay. WARNING: the size of many of their servings is GIANT! Great value.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Califia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Unbelievably Bueno”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The freshest and yummiest food imaginable in a place that looks like an out of date fast food joint with a surfer/latino theme. I had the Carnitas Taco - ONLY ORDER ONE. It was huge with alot of lettuce/cabbage. The carnitas were spicy and crisp. The fish is fresh. Even my friend who doesn't eat pork usually went wild for this one. Great microbrew collection. Do not pass up the Tres Leches Cake - OMG! OMG!

This place is very busy. Go early for dinner if possible or just take out.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventure_Debi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One Mean Burrito”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Morro Bay is one of my favorite spots and this is probably the best cheap eats in town. They have great burritos, very good seafood, and everything here always seems very fresh. The place is about as far from attractive as you will find...but while shabby, it is clean and the food makes up for the lack in atmosphere. If you just want a good meal and are not trying to impress...this is the place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank erie.mon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taco Temple Morro Bay also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Taco Temple Morro Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing