We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The cleanest room I've ever stayed in !!!!!”
Review of Blue Sail Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Sail Inn
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Bakersfield
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The cleanest room I've ever stayed in !!!!!”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

My husband surprised with an awesome dinner at Jacko's and we decided instead of driving home we would try and find a room that turned into an epic disaster !!!! There were no rooms available within a 100 mile radius of morro bay we thought it was because it valentines day weekend but apparently there was a huge horse show in paso Robles and there was absolutely nothing we could not believe it ! After our dinner and calling literally every hotel on the central coast we were about ready to give up and make the 70 mile drive home ..., we decided to call the blue sail we didn't care were we stayed at this point as it was 10:30 pm we got lucky with the blue sail inn the nice front desk man said he just had someone had not shown up and he had one room left two queens with a partial view for $140 . I wasn't expecting much but was I surprised when we walked inn to the room ... I am the most pickiest person alive when it comes to rooms this room was spotless not a speck of dirt or grime anywhere !!!!! It smelled so clean and the liens were stark white and fresh and the room was HUGE !!!!! The bathroom was very clean and big and I know this might be kinda funny but when I was a child the first thing I would do is run to the bathroom to make sure the toilet had a paper band around the it that showed it was clean lol lol lol this place had one I was over the moon lol lol lol ..., we have been coming to morro bay are whole lives and stayed almost everywhere but here ..... We will always and only stay here during ours many visits to morro bay and we can't wait to stay in one of the suites !!!! Thank you Blue sail inn for holding such high standards of service this is what the hotel industry is missing !!!!! Can't wait to come back !!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atruckerhunnie03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    130
    41
    10
    4
See reviews for
100
129
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgecrest, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We stayed here for the first time in December when we visited Morro Bay and watched the Lighted Boat Parade. The offer stated we would have an ocean view which we did, but it was a view over the roof of the hotel. We had expected to be able to watch the parade from our room. Found out we would have to upgrade to get a "real" ocean view......But it turned out well anyway as we had dinner on the wharf with a window seat right on the water.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 5 night stay at the Blue Sail Inn at Morro Bay. The hotel room was very spacious, comfortable and clean. The staff was very friendly, helpful and responsive to our needs. We had a plumbing issue around 9:00pm one night and they were up in our room within 15 minutes to resolve it. The location is excellent--walking distance to many good restaurants and cute shops. "During our stay we traveled up and down the coast a bit and it was an excellent location within 15-20 minutes of Hearst Caste, Pismo Beach and San Luis Obispo.
The one weak area was the breakfast. They only served hard boiled eggs on the weekends--why I am not sure. The first 2 days they had a nice assortment of fruit but by our 3rd day there were no bananas or apples. When I inquired about this they said they hadn't gone shopping yet that week. It seems to me a rather simple matter to keep the fruit supply constant. I also would have liked to have seen the assortment of bagels and muffins varied from day to day.
However, the coffee was good and there was oatmeal and cereal and a variety of spreads to put on the bagels. Orange juice was also available. All in all it was a good experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in the annex across from the main building. It was very quiet and parking was plentiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seniorhiker12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Central location within walking distance of restaurants and shopping. Comfortable king bed with gas burning fireplace next to bed. Listening to the sounds of sea lions barking all night and fog horn didn't affect my sleep at all. Parking was limited but didn't create any problems for us. Helpful staff recommended the seafood restaurant next door Dorns for dinner. Dorns had locally caught Opah and they cooked it to perfection. One of the best seafood dinners ever.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed one night(wish it had been more) at this great find on our way to LA. From our welcome at the front desk to checkout the service was great. The room we had was spectacular, overlooking the town and harbour.
We even had an open gas fire which was so romantic and cosy. Everything about our room was perfect,from the comfortable four poster bed, to the lovely big bathroom, and even a small kitchenette. We also had a open balcony with table and bar stools to sit and take in the sunset.
The room mad perfect, and we even had a friendly seagull perched on our balcony throughout our visit.hopefully one day we can return to the charming town and lovely accommodation.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie-Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metuchen, New Jersey, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This place was recommended by a friend that lives in the area whose opinion I respect, and it did not disappoint. The room was spiffy and clean with cute sail-oriented wallpaper. Nice clean bathroom with sink outside the stall/shower area. We had a bay view of Morro Rock that was outstanding. It's just a block from the harbor. We didn't take advantage of the continental breakfast so can't speak to that. The customer service person was very friendly and gave us great recommendations for our trip up through Big Sur the next morning.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Blue Sail Inn is a beautiful location. The room was comfortable for our visit. Decor was very pleasant. The bathroom needs a little TLC but the rest of the room appeared to be freshly painted. The continental breakfast was the usual with dry cereal, toast, rolls and juice with coffee or tea. We considered it adequate to start the day. We would return to this location since it was so nicely located and overlooking the Village and an easy walk down the hill.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the town are quiet with less wind, which was blowing quite hard when we were there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
681 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
831 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
614 reviews
1.0 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sail Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sail Inn

Property: Blue Sail Inn
Address: 851 Market Ave, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Sail Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Sail Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Sail Hotel Morro Bay
Blue Sail Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing