We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great weekend in Morro Bay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Sail Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Sail Inn
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another great weekend in Morro Bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Spent 3 night here at the end of September. Stayed in the units across the street from the office for the first time. the room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. Digital TV, small refrigerator, and a microwave oven were nice to have. The jaccusie near the office was hot and bubbly, and much appriciated after a long bike ride on saturday.This is my fourth visit here and I will be returning again next spring. The front desk is the best, very helpful.

Room Tip: King rooms with a fireplace are very comfy. The views of the Bay are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smogsteve1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    122
    40
    10
    3
See reviews for
92
120
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsdale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Previous reviews, thank you all so much, led us to make reservations here as we worked our way up the coast. The front desk people are very nice and helpful, the breakfast room has a great view, if the fog lifts, of the waterfront and "the rock". Our room was part of the main structure and bordered Market and Harbor so one could hear pedestrian traffic and conversations as tourists worked their way down from other locations to the restaurants and shops. Being a week night after Labor Day, this foot traffic did not extend into the late hours. When the fog lifted in the morning, we could stand on our little patio and see the rock. Our room was clean and there was a small fridge, microwave and coffeemaker in the room. If you are a light sleeper do consider bringing something to eradicate the noise of your next door neighbors who decide to have a conversation at 3:53 AM or the barking sea mammals! The other two in my party slept through it but I am the light sleeper. Should we return to the area we WOULD return here, but perhaps ask for a room upstairs in their other building in the hope that the walls might be more sound resistant there. There is a small parking lot BUT a spacious under-the- building lot at the secondary building.

Room Tip: Be aware that fog is a possibility. We had booked a partial view room which meant we could be on ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank auntjj_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

3.5 rounded up. The location of the Blue Sail Inn is prime, right over the Embarcadero without having to stay in it. The rooms are large and clean, if not slightly out-of-date. Fridge, microwave, and coffee maker were included. The bathroom was large with a separate sink area (of the four hotels we stayed in this trip, the Blue Sail was the only one with this feature). Our room was along the street, so not very private if we wanted to open the thick privacy drapes. But there was a nice little terrace that we could have enjoyed had we experienced better weather. The continental breakfast was a good one, with pastries, toast, yogurt, cereal, juices, coffee, and tea. The breakfast room was big enough to accommodate the guests. The only downside was Fox News playing in the breakfast room, with a sign that said you couldn't touch the television. Being forced to tolerate such divisive programming while partaking of our breakfast was fairly off-putting (and I'd say the same if it was reversed and they featured MSN): I was on vacation here. One more sensitive than myself *might* have been made to feel unwelcome if their political persuasion did not align with the big screen. My suggestion would be to instead put on some vapid morning show that everyone can watch mindlessly, without the running right-wing commentary. Our vacation was almost over, but I didn't want it to be over that soon. But otherwise a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brittany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Had a brilliant stay at blue sail in. Morro bay is a great stop for the coastal California route. The hotel has great views, is only a 2 minute walk to the sea front and rooms a very good size with everything you need.
Car parking facilities are plentiful and the breakfast in the morning had reasonable choice. I would be really happy to stay here again or recommend to friends.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for night on our way down the coast - decent enough if a bit expensive - we were in the rooms in the annexe block so new view, Looks like main block would have been much nicer. Good size rooms though could probably do with a bit of a face lift - staff friendly and helpful - average breakfast. Morro Bay was lovely and had lots of nice places to eat - lots of seafood.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed for one night. The location was very good, just off the sea-front. It is a fairly old motel, but was in good nick. The staff were helpful and recommended a good restaurant a few minutes walk away. The room was a good size, the bathroom was fine. We has a nice view across the bay, but we were kept awake for a while by a group of noisy people that included an American lady with one of the most annoying voices ever. Not the hotel's fault though! Breakfast was reasonable - had to be brought back to the room but that wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Found this hotel when travelling the west coast of California.

Great location for access to Highway 1 and the town of Morro Bay. The waterfront is pleasant (when the wind isn't blowing), the rock is stunning - just ignore the power station.

The rooms were excellent and the breakfast was good.

Room Tip: You can pay more for a sea view, but you really don't have to - it's only a few yards away !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.3 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#12 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sundown Inn
Sundown Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sail Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sail Inn

Property: Blue Sail Inn
Address: 851 Market Ave, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Sail Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Sail Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Sail Hotel Morro Bay
Blue Sail Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing