We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“enjoyed the view”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Masterpiece Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Masterpiece Hotel
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Mexico
1 review
“enjoyed the view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2006

We had stayed at another motel in March and it was a nightmare "cabrillo" which has changed names now.
When we stayed at the masterpiece, it was awsome. We had a nice view of Morro Rock, which we requested the cheese, wine and little snacks they have down stairs held us over till dinner, the staff were very friendly. The swimming area was very clean as was the gym. If get back to Morro bay we will try and get a room at this motel first,
MG
Cedar Crest New Mex

  • Liked — balcony with a view, and the fireplace
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — read reviews on motels and hotels
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank emeraldga5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    135
    41
    12
    11
See reviews for
81
161
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Western U.S.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2006

Stayed here last year with my husband, and we loved the room. We stayed in one of the suites offered and had a great experience. Checking In/Out was a breeze, and the staff was cordial.

The room was very clean, comfortable and well-maintained. Had a very spacious room with nice furnishings and a well -appointed bathroom. Some nice extras were a balcony, electric fireplace, and bathrobes. Great location and close to everything you want to visit in Morro Bay. This is perfect for a romantic getaway, but make sure to book one of their nicer rooms/suites and do expect to pay a pretty penny (ours over 250 a night). Was very diasppointed when I tried to book a night here (4 months in advance) for our annual Morro Bay trip and was told that all of the suites were already booked up. Unforunately I had to book with another local Inn. I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone interested in staying in Morro Bay.

  • Liked — Great location, Nice Ammenities, Beautiful Room, Nice View
  • Stayed November 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Nickel128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2006

It is so funny to see all the reviews and different opinions people have of the same place. We stayed at the Masterpiece even after we read all the reviews posted. Honestly, there is not one bad thing I could say about this place. The staff is so accomodating and nice. The atmosphere was very serene and unique and beautiful to boot! This hotel is by far the best one we stayed in on our month long travels. (and we stayed at 10 different hotels) I would recommend this hotel to everyone I know! We love it here and will definitely come back!

  • Liked — the service
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank llij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tx
Level Contributor
114 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2006

My main complaint was that there was no air-condtioning. You could not leave the balcony door open, because of the street noise The motel is cute, but not worth the price of the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Lovetotravel720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2006

The first thing noticeable about the jacuzzi, king bed room, was the mildew odor. Then there was the noise from the main street, Even at ten o'clock at night you could not leave the balcony door open for fresh air because the street noise was too loud.

The jacuzzi was elevated and decored with drapes and offered planty of bath towels and robes. The down side, was that not all the jets were working and the drain would not lift to drain away the water.

The evening offer of wine and cheese in the lobby was very disappointing. Ritz Crackers and Wheat Thins with plain cheddar or jack cheeses. The wine tasted as if it came from a box. This was very surpsising considering the number of wineries in the area.

Morro Bay itself is quite charming, with plenty to see and do. We just will not consider this place again on our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank rmkahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2006

I was pleasantly suprised by the Masterpiece Motel. This hotel looked like a Mission style hotel, but inside reminded me of a European hotel.
I arrived earlier than expected and my room wasn't ready so they said they would put a rush on the room for me. Within an hour our room was ready. The lobby was nice and clean and our room was just around the corner on the first floor. The hallway walls have beautiful paintings on them which are a nice touch.
Our room was big enough for the two queen beds and a rollaway. I don't think I've ever slept in pink sheets in a hotel though! The bathroom was newly tiled and the toilet was brand new.
The wine and cheese social as well as the breakfast left something to be desired. The cheeses consisted of a block of jack cheese and a block of cheddar with Weat Thins. Nothing to be excited over. The breakfast was very budget as well, with minimal choices.
The Roman style jacuzzi room was incredible! It was beautiful and very large.
All in all, this was a good deal compared to other hotels in Morro Bay. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank toulousaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2006

We stayed here the first week in June. I loved the town because no one was there. The weather was perfect. As for the hotel, it left a few things to be desired. We stayed in the La Bahia Suite. Paid $119 per night. I was expecting a "suite". But instead, it was just a regular room but 1/3 of the room was two steps higher. There is no sofa, only two really up-right chairs that don't face the TV. The dressing area is nice, there is a microwave and large closet, however the bathroom is really cramped. The fridge had a piece of half eaten cake left in it. The shower was dirty and the decoration was just white walls. This hotel is trying to be elegant and special, however, it's just an average hotel with a fancy atmosphere. The wine and cheese presentation was small and the breakfast was quite small as well.
This hotel needs some remodeling and upgrading in order to be called a masterpiece.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
1.2 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#20 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
#8 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.6 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masterpiece Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masterpiece Hotel

Property: Masterpiece Hotel
Address: 1206 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2008 (Formerly El Morro Masterpiece Motel)
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Masterpiece Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Masterpiece Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Morro Masterpiece Hotel Morro Bay
El Morro Masterpiece Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing