We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Air-condtioning” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Masterpiece Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Masterpiece Hotel
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tx
Level Contributor
114 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“No Air-condtioning”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2006

My main complaint was that there was no air-condtioning. You could not leave the balcony door open, because of the street noise The motel is cute, but not worth the price of the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Lovetotravel720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    133
    41
    12
    11
See reviews for
79
159
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tracy, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2006

The first thing noticeable about the jacuzzi, king bed room, was the mildew odor. Then there was the noise from the main street, Even at ten o'clock at night you could not leave the balcony door open for fresh air because the street noise was too loud.

The jacuzzi was elevated and decored with drapes and offered planty of bath towels and robes. The down side, was that not all the jets were working and the drain would not lift to drain away the water.

The evening offer of wine and cheese in the lobby was very disappointing. Ritz Crackers and Wheat Thins with plain cheddar or jack cheeses. The wine tasted as if it came from a box. This was very surpsising considering the number of wineries in the area.

Morro Bay itself is quite charming, with plenty to see and do. We just will not consider this place again on our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank rmkahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2006

I was pleasantly suprised by the Masterpiece Motel. This hotel looked like a Mission style hotel, but inside reminded me of a European hotel.
I arrived earlier than expected and my room wasn't ready so they said they would put a rush on the room for me. Within an hour our room was ready. The lobby was nice and clean and our room was just around the corner on the first floor. The hallway walls have beautiful paintings on them which are a nice touch.
Our room was big enough for the two queen beds and a rollaway. I don't think I've ever slept in pink sheets in a hotel though! The bathroom was newly tiled and the toilet was brand new.
The wine and cheese social as well as the breakfast left something to be desired. The cheeses consisted of a block of jack cheese and a block of cheddar with Weat Thins. Nothing to be excited over. The breakfast was very budget as well, with minimal choices.
The Roman style jacuzzi room was incredible! It was beautiful and very large.
All in all, this was a good deal compared to other hotels in Morro Bay. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank toulousaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2006

We stayed here the first week in June. I loved the town because no one was there. The weather was perfect. As for the hotel, it left a few things to be desired. We stayed in the La Bahia Suite. Paid $119 per night. I was expecting a "suite". But instead, it was just a regular room but 1/3 of the room was two steps higher. There is no sofa, only two really up-right chairs that don't face the TV. The dressing area is nice, there is a microwave and large closet, however the bathroom is really cramped. The fridge had a piece of half eaten cake left in it. The shower was dirty and the decoration was just white walls. This hotel is trying to be elegant and special, however, it's just an average hotel with a fancy atmosphere. The wine and cheese presentation was small and the breakfast was quite small as well.
This hotel needs some remodeling and upgrading in order to be called a masterpiece.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2006

We stayed here for two nights. We had a second floor room, no view of the rock, but a nice view from the small balcony. It was a large room, the bed was excellent, and a nice shower too. Breakfast was standard but good. Wine and cheese time was fun. the hotel has great ambience and the staff was very helpful with directions and dinner suggestions. It was a great deal! We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seventysx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2006

We had a pleasant stay...rooms facing the street can be a little noisy when lots of traffic but rooms are well kept and comfy, they offer a nice little breakfast and if you hit the large spa pool when not being used, it is unique and fun...just right on a cold day.

We plan to come again since we have a Cal Poly freshman.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sgmarsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2006

I have stayed at the Masterpiece Hotel many times. I really like it. Its very cozy. They have clean comfortable rooms with nice beds, soft sheets, and a nice showerhead. My favorite rooms are the ones upstairs with fireplace and partial view deck. I like being able to leave the slider open at night and hear the water. The staff are always friendly and very helpful. The wine and cheese hour is a nice touch.
I like the location. Its a bit of a walk to the Embaradeo but I have found that its really touristy down there. I enjoy the shops on Main st. and Morro Bay Blvd. better. They have a lot of fun stuff. Every time I go back to Morro bay I find something new. Its a great place to take some time off in.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
#8 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.6 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ascot Inn at the Rock
Ascot Inn at the Rock
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masterpiece Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masterpiece Hotel

Property: Masterpiece Hotel
Address: 1206 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2008 (Formerly El Morro Masterpiece Motel)
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Masterpiece Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Masterpiece Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Morro Masterpiece Hotel Morro Bay
El Morro Masterpiece Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing