We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great motel in lovely town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Masterpiece Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Masterpiece Hotel
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Merseyside, England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great motel in lovely town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights while driving down the coast, so we could go sea kayaking. It was a great choice, lovely big rooms, excellent fitness centre and spa pool. The staff could not have been more helpful, telling us all about the area and recommending places to eat.

The cheese and wine buffet in the late afternoon was a really welcome feature, and the breakfast was fine.

We ate at the Dockside restaurant, recommended by the motel, and had 2 excellent meals there

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weberfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    133
    41
    12
    11
See reviews for
79
159
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2009

If you want a good hotel in a quiet resort then this is the hotel for you. Absolutley no complaints and the staff were friendly with free wine thrown in for good measure.

Morro bat itself was a bit too quiet for us but

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jambo43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fratspin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2009

Stayed here for 1 night as part of a weekend birthday get away. I would have to say that, considering this is supposed to be just a small Motel in Morro Bay, that it is perfectly designed and very well run. Management was very friendly, the indoor spa is actually pretty cool, and the wine and cheese is a nice touch. We stayed in the El Mirador "Penthouse" and would say that the site does not do the room justice. It has a secluded and large sized private patio, and the room is overall big with nice amentities. I would recommend this place to anyone staying in Morro Bay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FortMason4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2009

We were a family with two teenagers and a 10 year old traveling up to Morro Bay for a surf contest. The motel was really charming, and felt more like a hotel than it did a motel. After a long day at the beach and being out exploring Morro Bay it was really nice to be able to come back and unwind with the wine, cheese, and crackers offered in the lobby the afternoon, as well as sparkling apple cider for the kids. There was free high speed wireless internet, which we used often. The roman style indoor spa was great, and quite large, and the art in every room and along the halls was beautiful- we plan to stay again next year and set some time aside to walk the halls with the artist key provided in our room and check out all of the beautiful artwork throughout the motel. The rooms were extremely clean, which was a plus, and the front desk was helpful with any questions that we had. The continental breakfast offered in the morning was standard, but still good, and there were cookies and some snacks offered at all other hours, which was nice when we wanted to grab a snack before we headed out for the day. By the end of our trip, we felt as if we had been there forever, which was a good thing, because we didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachfam1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2009

Nice place, nothing to complain. Wine in the lobby during the evening added a nice touch. There was also a pile of menu's from local restaurants, nice idea that should be adopted by other hotels as well!

hint: Morro Bay Brewing co. is just a few blocks away, great place for a burrito and a beer!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smerikal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2008

My wife & I stayed here for three nights recently while my son played in a basketball tournament at El Morro High School. The room was fine but nothing special. The best I can say is that it was clean and inexpensive. The staff was friendly & polite.
Our friends staying in another room did have a few issues - a water leak forced them to move to another room. Also a noisy late night party in the room below revealed that the night manager was actually offsite. But she did take care of the party.
Frankly after reading reviews on Trip Advisor, I was expecting more.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank OhBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2008

I booked this hotel based on all the positive feedback I saw on hotels.com. Very convenient to the Main St exit off of SR-1 in Morro Bay. We really enjoyed staying at this hotel. All though we did not have a direct view of the ocean, we could see it from our balcony which is nice since we did not book into one of the ocean view rooms. The hotel was in nice condition and the room had added touches like a microwave and a refrigerator. They put on a nice wine and cheese hour in the evening which is open to all of the guests. In the morning there is a very light continental breakfast but if you are looking for something more substantial the hotel offers some great local recommendations. The staff were very friendly and at hand to help you whenever they could with your stay. Also the spa they have is awesome! A great respite after a day of sightseeing! Terrific value for money, and located in a beautiful area on the Central Coast, I highly recommend this inexpensive but comfortable stay for anyone looking to get away!

  • Liked — The beatiful jacuzzi spa
  • Disliked — There wasn't one
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ukbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
#8 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.6 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ascot Inn at the Rock
Ascot Inn at the Rock
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masterpiece Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masterpiece Hotel

Property: Masterpiece Hotel
Address: 1206 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2008 (Formerly El Morro Masterpiece Motel)
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Masterpiece Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Masterpiece Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Morro Masterpiece Hotel Morro Bay
El Morro Masterpiece Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing