We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Masterpiece Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn Morro Bay(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
$159
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ascot Inn at the Rock(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
456 Embarcadero Inn & Suites(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
$239
$223
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sundown Inn(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Estero Inn(Morro Bay)
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor House Inn(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
$96
$88
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayfront Inn(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
$110
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Tradewinds(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
$125
$121
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveler rating
133
149
44
12
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
149
44
12
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine and cheeseroman spaart printsworkout roomsparkling apple ciderspa poolcontinental breakfasthard boiled eggsmorro rockhot tubevery eveningwafflesfirst floorceiling fanstayed here for two nightsnice viewroom was large
Filter
Updating list...
188 - 193 of 350 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We renyed a suite. Nice view of the Morro rock. Nice room only problem thee room remained HOT even with fan on high and balcony door open and even with the door open. Was located in the central part of Morrow Bay a big plus.
Embarcadero was only a few blocks away.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. It has been rather warm lately even for us locals. Give us another try when the weather cools. Call us direct for the best rate and exact room type you want.
Regards,
Masterpiece Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This place is a little different, with all the classic prints around, plus wine and cheese. Great breakfast, hotel is nice and quiet. If you're planning on driving highway 41, you need to know that it is a very winding road. Plan on going down to the beach and watching the surfers.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We like to think we are a rather unique motel here in Morro Bay and were happy to read you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to providing you once again with superior accommodations.
Masterpiece Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We spent our 32 anniversary at this motel it was the best! We plan on spending every other one there. The breakfast was great it was quiet, clean, close to everything. The staff is amazing! We have stayed in Morro Bay a hundred times but staying at the masterpiece was so nice. I only pray there will be a empty room every year

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grammy1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

We are so happy to know we were able to make your anniversary a memorable one. Call us directly anytime to book the exact room you want at the best rate available. Be sure to get on our "Repeat Guest Specials" list.
Masterpiece Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a quirky hotel based around the theme of masterpiece artists. All rooms & public areas have reproductions of famous paintings and they are catalogued room by room.

It's only small (26 bedrooms including a penthouse in the tower) but has a 'Roman' spa pool in the basement. In general the hotel is very odd but a welcome change to the standard motel/hotel chains and it indicates some imagination.

Rooms at the hotel are spacious with very good showers. There was no air con but a ceiling fan was provided and Wi-Fi was free but didn't reach our room so we had to go outside. There was an old CRT TV with a terrible picture and this was the only real disappointment.

It's within a fairly easy walk of the embarcadero (i.e. the working seafront) which offers a good choice of restaurants & shops for both tourists and locals. For visitors this is the centre of the town even though it is away from the Main Street. The town itself has some charm, and attracts a lot of surfers to thee area near Morro Rock, but it is unfortunately dominated by a power station on the front.

There's a great store just down the road from the hotel which offers a massive selection of both wines & beers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LichfieldBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. We are in the process of replacing our TVs and hope you will consider our unique little motel on your next visit to Morro Bay.
Masterpiece Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Had the most romantic weekend...ever. This was our second trip. We just love Morro bay and the Masterpiece hotel. I have made a review in the past but I just had to recommend the Penthouse suite. Very comfy bed, fireplace, Jacuzzi. You will not be disappointed. Since we got engaged this weekend I have a feeling we will be getting this room regularly for years to come....My new fiance would also like to say that the do it yourself waffles are fantastic, and he doesn't even like waffles.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra and get the penthouse.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crystalanryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Congratulations on your engagement! We are very happy to know you enjoy our lovely motel. We'll be here for you for those anniversaries that'll be coming.
Best Regards,
Masterpiece Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews