We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for couples!”
Review of Masterpiece Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Masterpiece Hotel
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Had the most romantic weekend...ever. This was our second trip. We just love Morro bay and the Masterpiece hotel. I have made a review in the past but I just had to recommend the Penthouse suite. Very comfy bed, fireplace, Jacuzzi. You will not be disappointed. Since we got engaged this weekend I have a feeling we will be getting this room regularly for years to come....My new fiance would also like to say that the do it yourself waffles are fantastic, and he doesn't even like waffles.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra and get the penthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crystalanryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Congratulations on your engagement! We are very happy to know you enjoy our lovely motel. We'll be here for you for those anniversaries that'll be coming.
Best Regards,
Masterpiece Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

179 - 185 of 334 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We were there in August. The weather was great. It isn't always great. We chose the hotel based on an advertised price and ratings. We did not get that price. Perhaps it was because it was an August weekend. We did some checking and other hotels rates were higher than advertised, so we stuck with this locale. In the end, given the options, it was a good choice. It is very near a couple funky restarants and a short walk down to the embarcadero, where the bay and all the tourist stuff is. We enjoyed the room sizes, flat screen TV, service, free breakfast, little gym and wine and cheese in the afternoon.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

We were happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We recommend that you call us directly for the best rate and the exact room type you are looking for.
Happy travels,
Masterpiece Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was our third visit to the Masterpiece. If available we pay the extra for the top floor. That room has the entire 3rd story to yourself. There is a fireplace, a deck with a view of Morro Rock, an in room jacuzzi. The decor of this hotel is art, they give you a pamphlet where you can walk around the hotel and identify the art pieces. They put out wine and cheese every afternoon and breakfast. We love this place!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljmcnally75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

We love our super repeat guests. Have you signed up for our "Repeat Guest Specials"? We'll be here for your 4th visit.
Regards,
Masterpiece Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great Motel!! Very relaxing. Good sized Hot tub, nice exercise room, wine and cheese for the evening. Great place. Rooms are very clean and beds are very comfortable. Quite.Great place to stay with your family or loved one or on Business.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for the awesome review. We'll be here for you for your next get away.
Regards,
Masterpiece Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Initially chose the hotel as an overnight break on the Route 1 run from SF to LA.
What a super surprise - we enjoyed all the things mentioned by other reviewers and endorse all the positive comments. Edward on reception - very pleasant/efficient and helpful also directing us to a casual but sophisticated restaurant called Dorns where we had excellent seafood and wine.
However the gem is Morrow Bay itself - a real place with real people and fishermen who are working for a living. We were extremely disappointed to leave having already made commitments in LA next day. Treat yourself and take an extra night in Morrow Bay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Thank you for the nice review. We are so happy you not only enjoyed your stay with us but also our beautiful little seaside town. It would be our pleasure to be your destination stop on your next visit.
Happy Travels,
Masterpiece Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

A pleasant motel, clean , free wi fi.
Complementary wine and cheese in evening and continental breakfast.
Right on Main street, close to everything.
Good value for the money.
A medium size motel, not large and no elevator to second level.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sierratraveller53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

The staff of the Masterpiece was so happy to know we met your expectations during your stay. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to our beautiful area. Be sure to call us direct for the best rate.
Masterpiece Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had chosen this hotel and area as a stopover so our drive wasn't too long,what a lovely surprise, the hotel was great.Hallways and lobby's filled with paintings,classical music quietly in the background.Our room was great,fridge,microwave.The whole hotel was so clean and well ran,we went down for the crackers and wine which is every evening at 5 and breakfast was a buffet with a good choice,i didn't use the spa but went down for a look and it was nice,also a laundry.Morro Bay was a nice stopover,a quiet seaside resort just known to locals.If we are ever over that way again we would not hesitate to book this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a queen double, gives you lots of room.Easy to find,straight of the motorway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbie2373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you for the lovely review. We are looking forward to once again providing you with another wonderful stay.
Masterpiece Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
861 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
697 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Serena Inn
La Serena Inn
#13 of 29 in Morro Bay
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
460 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
650 reviews
0.7 mi away
Morro Shores Inn & Suites
Morro Shores Inn & Suites
#26 of 29 in Morro Bay
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masterpiece Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masterpiece Hotel

Address: 1206 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2008 (Formerly El Morro Masterpiece Motel)
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range: $85 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Masterpiece Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Masterpiece Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Morro Masterpiece Hotel Morro Bay
El Morro Masterpiece Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing