We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic Comfortable Setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Masterpiece Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Masterpiece Hotel
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kalamazoo MI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Romantic Comfortable Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

The charm of this motel starts in the parking as you scan the exterior. The front desk staff is professional. The entire Hotel is maintained by an efficient cleaning Staff. It is apparent that the management has an excellent training program for all staff members. Great place for a restfull sleep or a get away for the weekend. AJB@Kazoo

Room Tip: Check exterior for large aircondition position on the ground. Noise will reach higher rooms directl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajbadala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review. We were so happy to read of your pleasant stay with us. We'll have the spa hot, and breakfast ready for your next visit.
Happy travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    133
    41
    12
    11
See reviews for
79
159
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Hills
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We just spent three nights at this hotel and had a wonderful stay! The staff were extremely friendly and went out of their way to be accommodating.The large spa, morning breakfast and evening wine and cheese were an added plus aso! We will definately stay here again on our next visit to Morro Bay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M.Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
The Masterpiece Motel was so happy to read of your excellent stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again. We'll have the spa hot and breakfast ready!

Happy travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Very nice one night stay
Staff were truly welcoming and after a long drive they were very pleasant, made all the difference
Nice motel / hotel would recommend
Accommodation bit dated but clean and would be very happy to stay again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdStrongbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
We thank you for taking the time to let us know what you thought of your stay. We look forward to once again providing you with superior customer service and comfortable accomodations the next time you are visiting the Central Coast.

Best Regards,
Masterpiece
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
159 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

After several Motel 6, this wass definitely a nice upgrade during our road trip in California. Nice and cosy with a spa pool. So it's a great choice for a motel. And with a try to imitate breakfast:-)

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ViktorPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for the nice review. We are so happy to read of your pleasant stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,
Masterpiece Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I love the El Morro Masterpiece Motel in Morro Bay and have stayed here several times. The rooms are spacious and clean and they have a very good breakfast every day which includes cereal, waffles and boiled eggs. They also have wine and cheese every evening. I especially like that they are walking distance to the Embarcadero and some fun local bars and restaurants.

Room Tip: I've stayed on first and second floor and have no complaints with either floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ca4niagrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you so much. We love hearing from our repeat guests letting us know that we're doing it right. Can't wait to see you again.

Happy travels
El Morro Masterpiece Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

I have visited the El Morro Masterpiece Motel on two occasions in the past couple of months and have not been disappointed. Located on Main Street with easy access to the highway, the Masterpiece Motel is more of hotel than motel. On my first three night visit I was pleasantly surprised at how large my room was (#227). Bed was very comfortable with nice soft pillows. Lots of towels, two bathrobes and shampoo/conditioner/body lotion was provided. There is also a small refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. I was initially attending a photography event in Morro Bay and on a tight budget, so having the ability to microwave frozen dinners was awesome. A very nice breakfast is available in the lobby consisting of pastries, boiled eggs, a selection of cereals, fruit and a waffle maker and in the evenings there is wine and cheese. There is a small indoor pool which I did not use, but it looked very nice. The desk staff are friendly and efficient. On my second visit I was given a free upgrade to the same room I had previously, so was nicely surprised by that gesture. Any time I visit Morro Bay in the future I will stay here for sure, as you can not beat the location, value and service.

Room Tip: I stayed on upper level on the side (#227). Room was quiet and I slept like a log!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shearerbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate your patronage and hope next time you'll bring your swim suit so you can enjoy our deluxe hydrotherapy spa.

Happy travels,
Masterpiece Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrensburg, Mo.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stopped here one night and found the place to be well kept, clean and friendly. Although it was small, the included breakfast was good. When we arrived to the room we had trouble with the tv and Elizabeht the great front desk clerk offered my friend another room to finish watching her show. We had a great stay. thank you

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mutigerbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M.Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
We are so happy to read of enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to once again providing you with excellent customer service and comfortable accomodations.

Happy Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
#8 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.6 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ascot Inn at the Rock
Ascot Inn at the Rock
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masterpiece Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masterpiece Hotel

Property: Masterpiece Hotel
Address: 1206 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2008 (Formerly El Morro Masterpiece Motel)
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Masterpiece Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Masterpiece Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Morro Masterpiece Hotel Morro Bay
El Morro Masterpiece Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing