We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Eve at our Favorite Motel in Morro Bay”
Review of Sundown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sundown Inn
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 24, 2010

We are return coustomers to the Sundown Inn in Morro Bay. This is a great clean friendly little motel with a small frig, micorwave, wifi, flatscreen and charm. Not to mention a decent price. We love the magic fingers bed :).

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank withopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 511 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2010

If you are looking for a high end hotel this is not the place for you, however if you want a decent sized motel room which is safe, super clean and cosy you could do a lot worse. The room was a decent size with flat screen TV, fridge, microwave, coffee maker and free reliable wireless. It's a couple of blocks from the seafront (3 min walk). We paid $39 + tax which was by far the cheapest room rate for our trip down the West Coast. Bathroom small and compact but really clean (and I am the Queen of clean!). Decor is chintzy but it all adds to the charm. We stayed in November so not sure what it would be like in summer as there is no pool but it was perfect for our short stay on our way to San Diego. There is also the "magic fingers" massaging bed to look forward to.......

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carouselgirl1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

This nice little cozy motel is one of the best deals in Morro Bay. Ann the owner is wonderful and friendly. She really cares about what she does and her hard work shows because all the rooms are super duper clean. When I return to Morro Bay I will stay here again because this place is really the best bang for your buck!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aztechnology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

Small rooms and bathroom, but clean with a comfy magic fingers bed and very friendly owner! We will stay here again, for sure!!
Grabe a pizza at Sabetta's in the same street; excellent!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lelici49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Everything was great at the Sundown Motel; from the cordial welcome from Ann (the owner) to the immaculately clean rooms. Nothing fancy, but very economical and central to everything in Morro Bay. Check out their website for available deals. No breakfast available, but, each room has a microwave and coffee maker. The magic fingers bed is a hoot! http://www.sundowninn.com/index.html

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffpsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Older facility, but clean and comfortable. Good location a couple of blocks from shops and tourist locations, within view of Morro Rock, and a leisurely walk or quick drive into the park. I was there on a Saturday night and was able to pick up some fruit and tasty Indian food at a Farmers Market less than 2 blocks away. Comfy bed, hot shower, quiet with no street noise.... what else can you ask for. Owners were friendly, cordial and quick to respond to any questions I had. I would stay here again when I'm in the area

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bogey153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

All the reviews of this Motel/Inn are spot on. As soon as I arrived, I was greeted by Ann at the front desk who was extremely polite and a geniunely nice person. And even though check-in is not until 2pm, she tried her best to accomodate me with a room earlier. Once I got into my room, I noticed how tiny the television was lol : ) Other than that, the room was nice and clean and the beds were comfortable.

You can immediatley tell that they take pride in keeping this place nice and clean. The bathroom is a bit small but effecient, and the shower had excellent water pressure. I can't say that this place has any drawbacks other than the walls are thin....Otherwise If your not to big on a Big TV and fancy electronics...then this place is for you! The location was in walking distance of the Embarcadero too. : )

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canucme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#10 of 29 in Morro Bay
868 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
713 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#12 of 29 in Morro Bay
321 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
672 reviews
0.4 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundown Inn

Address: 640 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2291
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Morro Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range: $61 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sundown Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Morro Bay motel that has been featured in the Los Angeles Times. Walking distance from the waterfront, golf course, state park and other city attractions. Only 30 minutes from Hearst Castle. Clean, comfortable, and cozy rooms to brighten your stay in Morro Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Sundown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundown Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing