We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On arrival my first thought was that...”
Review of Sundown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sundown Inn
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, England
Level Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“On arrival my first thought was that...”
Reviewed July 27, 2010

On arrival my first thought was that there must be a mistake, the motel could not be the number 2 best place to stay in Morro Bay. After all it's small and quirky, the rooms are functional but need updating as they seem trapped in the 70's. However, having just spent the night here, it has it's attractions. Part of the charm is it's size, it's owner run and you can see the care they put into the place. The beds are comfortable, the wifi works and the shower was great. The location to the sea front is a bonus. Then I reminded myself what I paid for the room. I have paid a lot more for far worse stays. This place is and I guess will forever more be quirky but I feel rested and gladly recommend it to others.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lymph1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    175
    30
    3
    0
See reviews for
81
257
37
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2010

This is a no-frills, clean, best-bang-for-your-buck type of lodging. The twist is that the people running the place are the owners themselves. The room was clean and renovated, the linens relatively new. There never really was a need to contact the owners, though they were pleasant and accessible. Pros: clean, value, convenient location. Cons: small room, thin walls.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank easytraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine, USA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2010

We selected this gem of a family-run motel (same owners 20+ years) based on previous TripAdvisor reviews and were not disappointed. This is a modest, but lovingly attended establishment. The rooms are smallish, but nicely decorated, and immaculately clean and comfortable. Wireless internet available. Very pleasant and helpful owners. Nicely tended grounds. And VERY reasonably priced.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeeDubya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2010

Our stay at the Sundown Inn was great! The room rate was reasonable. The room was very clean and nicely decorated. All our needs were met and the location is quiet. The owners, Ta and Ann Lin, were friendly and courteous.
I wouldn't hesitate to reccommend this motel to my friends and family. We enjoyed our stay and look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mofun02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanford, Ca
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2010

It is hard to find a nice clean hotel in Morro Bay. The Sundown Inn is very clean and the owners are nice but that is all the polite things that I can say about it. First of all we received 2 double beds after stating that we were on an anniversary trip so we didn't even sleep in the same bed on our anniversary. The beds were uncomfortable, the magic fingers didn't work and the walls were so thin that I woke up to someone coughing in the room next to us. The TV was not centered between the 2 beds and it was small. It is in a nice location and we were within walking distance of The Embarcadero. We will never stay there again but I am sad to say that it is hard to find a nice hotel in Morro Bay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amelia1842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelingann88, Assistant Manager at Sundown Inn, responded to this review, February 23, 2010
Thanks to Amelia1842 for the comments on our hotel. The double beds were a simple typo on the reservation that was meant for a single bed. Had the guests wanted to change their room, we would have offered a different room to the guests' liking, as the hotel had several rooms available that evening. We invite Amelia1842 and guests to stay at the Sundown Inn again with apologies for the inconveniences.

The Sundown Inn is a small, family-owned establishment that is meant to provide the simple comfort needs of a traveling guest.

The management would like to reassure its guests that all requests are always taken into consideration and are always fulfilled based on availability. We are here to make your stay comfortable. If it is not, please let us know at the time of your stay, and we would be happy to adjust your room to the best of our abilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2009

This looks like your standard motel but it is so much better! Clean updated rooms. Microwave, refrigerator, small flatscreen and a nice fan. Just really cute and really clean!!! Best of all is the fact that the prices are not jacked up for the area, how refreshing!!!!! We only paid $69.00 including taxes.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank withopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2009

This felt like a classic motel, straight out of the movies. Simple structure, easy parking, clean room, good TV/cable. Decor was a bit twee but who cares? Good location for local restaurants, bars and groceries. Friendly staff - the owner explained it was 'expensive' because it was triple A rated - it was only $49 a night! Morro Bay is a good stop off before you go up the Big Sur highway, the rock in the bay is lovely at sunset and we went to a great crab restaurant overlook the sea. Town feels laid back and isn't particularly touristy - a small, sleepy place with quite a bit of charm. Great for one night stopover.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdavies2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
827 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
675 reviews
0.2 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
602 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundown Inn

Property: Sundown Inn
Address: 640 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2291
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Morro Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sundown Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Morro Bay motel that has been featured in the Los Angeles Times. Walking distance from the waterfront, golf course, state park and other city attractions. Only 30 minutes from Hearst Castle. Clean, comfortable, and cozy rooms to brighten your stay in Morro Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sundown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundown Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing