We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sundown Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sundown Inn
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
“Love this place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

My wife, sister, and brother-in-law were in awe of this place. Very clean and cozy. My sister loved the massage bed. The owners were very kind. The price was great. Will definitely be a repeat in our travels.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    173
    30
    3
    0
See reviews for
79
251
37
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

The couple that operate this hotel do such a great job. The rooms are very clean and well decorated. Their small town friendly attitude is so refreshing. I truly enjoyed my stay here. I was here for two nights while riding back up the coast. What a gem!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank AKJAS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Gabriel, Louisiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Very clean, good beds, great location (a couple of blocks from the shore in residential area but not far from main street), quiet, and unbeatable price. No frills, but who cares. Friendly and helpful owners.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Van R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

This is the best and cheapest place I have stayed in my 4 weeks tour in the West coast. So much better than all the more expensive motels by the Sea.

It is clean, super good location, minutes from Morro Bay, have all the amenities you'll need.

Only problem is that they don't have online booking, only via email or phone, and the owners are American taiwanese who do not speak English super well.

These are super minor once you realized you are paying less than 50 bucks a room and the room is great!

Heater, cable TV, wardrobe, dressing table comfy bed, microwave oven, fridge, coffee maker, armchairs and side table, you name it the room has it. What else can you ask for?

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Yunen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulare, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

This is the latest of 6 trips over the past few years to the Sundowner Motel. As always we had a very enjoyal time . We were given room 14 for the two of us aqnd it was clean and well maintained. The price was excellent as always. Mr. and ms Tan are wonderful hosts. They are very concerned about taking care of their guests and are very cordial to all. We are already planning our next stay. Location is perfect. We park our vehicle and easily walk to the embarcadero and downtown.
A great place to stay. Old retired Fire Captain and beautiful wife of 54 years.

Room Tip: The motel is single story in an "L" shape. All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elmer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Had a great stay at the Sundown Inn with husband, our 2 sons and one of their friends. Family rooms 4&5 connected were very comfortable and affordable. Room 4 did smell faintly of cigarette smoke and I mentioned that to owner. She said it's a nonsmoking motel but i know that doesn't mean everyone is compliant. Other than that I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank chaoticmomto3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

My husband and I stay @ the the Sundown Inn at least once a month. It is very affordable, clean and quiet. The owners are very helpful. Everything is within walking distance. I love that amenities that are offered.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jersjimenez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.2 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
#8 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.4 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundown Inn

Property: Sundown Inn
Address: 640 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2291
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Morro Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sundown Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Morro Bay motel that has been featured in the Los Angeles Times. Walking distance from the waterfront, golf course, state park and other city attractions. Only 30 minutes from Hearst Castle. Clean, comfortable, and cozy rooms to brighten your stay in Morro Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sundown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundown Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing