We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value!”
Review of Sundown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sundown Inn
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by the attention to detail in this cute motel! It looked like the rooms had been renovated. The bed had a Victorian type quilt at the bottom of the bed and matching pillow shams and wallpaper border. The ceilings were whitewashed boards. It even had a walk-in closet! We were within walking distance of shops and restaurants.
We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ladydi50CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (507)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 507 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2014

I just retired and am doing a little traveling.I'm staying in North County San Diego and when I get itchie feet I head north on HWY 1.always stop in at Morro bay, and stay at the.Sundown Inn.Very clean and comfy.Right in the middle of town,real close to beach and shops.Owners are very accommodating and nice.I'll be back. Mick from Kona,Hi

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The first thing you can tell about this place is the owners take great pride in ownership. Very nice and helpful. They keep a clean and comfy place. It is like an old school roadside motel-not some chain high rise place. The price is right and it is an easy 2-3 block walk down to the water or the other coffee shop and eateries in the area are walking distance. There is parking right in front of the rooms. Nice to see this inn well reviewed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cubuff1453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

thank you sundown for making my parents stay such a nice time by providing them with their own cozy and comfy space .the bean cake for chinese new year was delicious :)
If you want to stay in a quiet ,friendly and reasonably priced place Sundown is the place for you.
You may not have everything you want but you'll have everything you need.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Home away from home awaits you at the Sundown Inn. Clean rooms, beyond comfortable beds (and dont be shy using the magic fingers - only costs a quarter!) Owners take great pride in their business and guests reap the rewards. Be home at sundown! PDG

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank PaulaDavidG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

2nd time we have stayed here, and it does not disappoint, the rooms are spotlessly clean,quaint, bed is comfortable. the motel is centrally located and the price well within our budget. We come to Morro Bay often just for some R & R, and have decided this is our new home away from home. Love it here!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

As part of our eclectic honeymoon tour we found ourselves checking in pretty late at this adorable privately owned Inn. Thanks to the 'online special' our total was just under $45 for the night. The room was spotless and decorated like the strangest mashup of the early 90's and late 70's-too cute! Doilies, plastic roses, white-washed exposed ceiling beams, and a butter yellow bathroom. Maybe not the best option if you want room service and pampering, but if you're looking for something a little more quirky then this is your jam. We grabbed fast food burgers and sat up all night drinking wine-the best! Our magic fingers didn't work, which was a bummer, but other than that i couldn't have been happier.

Room Tip: Check their online specials for discounted room rate-there's only a dozen or so rooms anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
866 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
707 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#13 of 29 in Morro Bay
318 reviews
0.4 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundown Inn

Address: 640 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2291
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Morro Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range: $62 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sundown Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Morro Bay motel that has been featured in the Los Angeles Times. Walking distance from the waterfront, golf course, state park and other city attractions. Only 30 minutes from Hearst Castle. Clean, comfortable, and cozy rooms to brighten your stay in Morro Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sundown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundown Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing