We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“It is what it is” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sundown Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sundown Inn
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“It is what it is”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Old type single story motel, you know the type. very old fashioned, and not in a good way. The bathroom was tacky and not very clean, although everything was so old it would be hard to make it look clean. Walls are thin so bring earplugs in case you have noisy neighbours. I didn't like the mouldy smell either. I know you may think that it would be quaint to stay here, but think about it!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank maryc82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sundownmotel, Manager at Sundown Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear maryc82,

We regret that your experience was not what you hoped for at the Sundown Inn. As the managers, we take pride in personally inspecting every room daily to ensure that each room is clean for our guests with the hope of exceeding every guest’s expectations of our motel.

We welcome your detailed feedback over email or on the phone as we value the opinions of our guests. It is important to us that we understand your perspective so that we can provide better service to our guests. Thank you for your feedback and consideration.

Sincerely,
Ann L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    166
    27
    2
    0
See reviews for
74
240
35
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We spent two nights in Morro Bay, and were absolutely delighted with Sundown Inn. The room was spacious, the bathroom ok and we had a frigde and a coffee maker in the room. Everything is 2 blocks away in this town, the centre, the breakfast place, the off licsence, massage place, the laundromat - we loved it!
This is absolutely value for money, and the owner was very helpful and also gave us a discount for the local breakfast place, which served a super nice breakfast. I would definetely stay here if I ever found myself travelling to Morro Bay again :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ottis76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
131 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

I am extremely spoiled when it comes to hotels and live around 240 nights per year in top hotels around the world traveling on business. I usually prefer big chain hotels since they give me upgrades, free nights etc. I checked tripadvisor for hotels in Morro Bay and this small motel stuck out immediately due to the great reviews for budget motel. I am very happy that I gave it a shot and highly recommend this unique little refuge of tranquility. It felt like staying over at my moms guest room for a couple of nights. I enjoyed chatting with the owners - A genuinely friendly couple from Taiwan that keeps their motel in pristine condition while running a successful business with obvious pride since more than 30 years. The rooms are spacious enough, quite comfortable, interestingly stylish (Miss Marple would love it) and really very cozy - they simply have a good atmosphere. The wifi was actually faster than in most big hotels, TV channel selection was good, the shower was nice and the antique massage bed function worked amazingly great. The fridge and microwave were a plus. Owner gave me extra coffee, coupons for breakfast discount at restaurant around the block and a lot of kind hospitality. Two minute walk to waterfront district with all the restaurants, cruises, kayak rentals; two minute drive to the park and 15 minute walk to the rock. Perfect stay for $65 per night - thank you very much/xie xie ni. I will be back.

Room Tip: The walls are a little bit thin - try to stay at corner room or change room in case of noisy neighbo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joerg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is what budget travel should be all about. A beautiful, sparkling little motel in a charming seaside town. I travel to Morro Bay regularly and simply love the Sundown Inn. It's cute, very clean, close to everything, and has outstanding management.

The decor is very nice. Flat screen TVs with wifi that actually works. The shower is great!

I like to check in - rest for a bit- then walk down to the waterfront. Morro Bay is slower and feels more relaxed than the other seaside towns. I cannot recommend a place more highly. You won't be disappointed. Enjoy the quiet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SouthwestDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Our plan was one or two nights in Morro Bay, then 3 nights in Pismo Beach. We ended up staying 4 nights at the Sundown Inn and took day trips north to Cambria, hiked along the coast in the state park Montana de Oro and great beach walks. We left for Pismo after 2 nights, spent one night there, then returned to this hotel for 2 more nights. It seemed to be a dividing line from a southern California feel (Pismo) to a central coast, more rural feel (Morro Bay). The owners of this hotel are very nice, it felt more like a bed and breakfast atmosphere. The location is downtown Morro Bay, and the price is truly a bargain. I felt like we went back 20 years in time.......

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adventurejen246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, Fl
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

This was a nice place to stay on our way up the coast. The owner Ann, couldn't have nicer and extremely helpful when it came to getting around. Only a short distance to the water. Enjoyed our stay and would go back again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dancer048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

I was a solo traveler and I stayed for about 5 nights after discovering it on Trip Advisor. I actually really adored this little motel! The decor may be a little vintage but it adds to the charm, in my opinion. I loved the little details such as the decorations surrounding the mirror as well as the real glass tea cups. As everyone else mentioned, this place is super clean! The owners were very friendly and would ask me how everything was going when we saw one another outside.

Bear in mind that this is an older motel so cars are parked right outside of your window. Well a couple of the nights I was there, a loud diesel truck started up around 5-6am and it woke me up each time. This was just an annoyance more than anything. Clearly not something the motel owners can control.

The room was pretty small, but it was perfect for me. I'm not a picky traveler and I was gone the majority of the time anyway.

If you're looking for something like a Hilton - look elsewhere. This is a perfect no frills, clean place in a wonderful location.

By the way, try Top Dog (coffee shop) just up the road from the Sundown Inn! They have a great selection of food and beverages!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenlongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#8 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.4 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#13 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundown Inn

Property: Sundown Inn
Address: 640 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2291
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Morro Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sundown Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Morro Bay motel that has been featured in the Los Angeles Times. Walking distance from the waterfront, golf course, state park and other city attractions. Only 30 minutes from Hearst Castle. Clean, comfortable, and cozy rooms to brighten your stay in Morro Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sundown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundown Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing