We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favorite on the central coast”
Review of Sundown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sundown Inn
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is what budget travel should be all about. A beautiful, sparkling little motel in a charming seaside town. I travel to Morro Bay regularly and simply love the Sundown Inn. It's cute, very clean, close to everything, and has outstanding management.

The decor is very nice. Flat screen TVs with wifi that actually works. The shower is great!

I like to check in - rest for a bit- then walk down to the waterfront. Morro Bay is slower and feels more relaxed than the other seaside towns. I cannot recommend a place more highly. You won't be disappointed. Enjoy the quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SouthwestDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (516)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 516 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

Our plan was one or two nights in Morro Bay, then 3 nights in Pismo Beach. We ended up staying 4 nights at the Sundown Inn and took day trips north to Cambria, hiked along the coast in the state park Montana de Oro and great beach walks. We left for Pismo after 2 nights, spent one night there, then returned to this hotel for 2 more nights. It seemed to be a dividing line from a southern California feel (Pismo) to a central coast, more rural feel (Morro Bay). The owners of this hotel are very nice, it felt more like a bed and breakfast atmosphere. The location is downtown Morro Bay, and the price is truly a bargain. I felt like we went back 20 years in time.......

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adventurejen246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

This was a nice place to stay on our way up the coast. The owner Ann, couldn't have nicer and extremely helpful when it came to getting around. Only a short distance to the water. Enjoyed our stay and would go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dancer048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I was a solo traveler and I stayed for about 5 nights after discovering it on Trip Advisor. I actually really adored this little motel! The decor may be a little vintage but it adds to the charm, in my opinion. I loved the little details such as the decorations surrounding the mirror as well as the real glass tea cups. As everyone else mentioned, this place is super clean! The owners were very friendly and would ask me how everything was going when we saw one another outside.

Bear in mind that this is an older motel so cars are parked right outside of your window. Well a couple of the nights I was there, a loud diesel truck started up around 5-6am and it woke me up each time. This was just an annoyance more than anything. Clearly not something the motel owners can control.

The room was pretty small, but it was perfect for me. I'm not a picky traveler and I was gone the majority of the time anyway.

If you're looking for something like a Hilton - look elsewhere. This is a perfect no frills, clean place in a wonderful location.

By the way, try Top Dog (coffee shop) just up the road from the Sundown Inn! They have a great selection of food and beverages!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenlongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

It's surprisingly clean given the old-fashioned decor. Really nothing to complain about but don't expect an unforgettable journey back in time. I would recommend it for a one-night stay in Morro bay but the real question is: do you really need to stay in Morro Bay?

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Raph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were just looking for a clean place to stay as we were on a roadtrip. Looked up some tripadvisor reviews and decided for this place, it was dirt cheap, around $60 the night I think. Of course, for that price, don't expect any designer furniture, etc but it was very comfortable, very clean and the service was prompt. The bathroom seemed like it had been renovated recently. I would not spend a whole vacation at this place, but for a one night stop while on a roadtrip it's perfect!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Najebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Located towards the end of Main Street and just a couple of streets back from the waterfront, this single-storey motel is well placed for the shops and eateries this pleasant town has to offer.

As other reviewers have said, the decor is somewhat old-fashioned in style but is fresh and bright, so presumably quite new. The room was very clean and well equipped - fridge, coffee-maker, microwave, TV and a table and chairs. As the rooms are not particularly large, this makes them rather "cosy", but that wasn't a problem for us. The only negative was that the walls are very thin - you definitely will hear the neighbours! The owners were very welcoming and friendly.

Be sure to see the motel's website and take advantage of the Sun-Thu special price which makes this place good value for money as we did - I probably wouldn't feel it was such good value if I were paying full price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#10 of 29 in Morro Bay
872 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
716 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
462 reviews
0.2 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
391 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#13 of 29 in Morro Bay
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundown Inn

Address: 640 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2291
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Morro Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range: $66 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sundown Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Morro Bay motel that has been featured in the Los Angeles Times. Walking distance from the waterfront, golf course, state park and other city attractions. Only 30 minutes from Hearst Castle. Clean, comfortable, and cozy rooms to brighten your stay in Morro Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Sundown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundown Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing