We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Experience for a Solo Traveler”
Review of Sundown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sundown Inn
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I was a solo traveler and I stayed for about 5 nights after discovering it on Trip Advisor. I actually really adored this little motel! The decor may be a little vintage but it adds to the charm, in my opinion. I loved the little details such as the decorations surrounding the mirror as well as the real glass tea cups. As everyone else mentioned, this place is super clean! The owners were very friendly and would ask me how everything was going when we saw one another outside.

Bear in mind that this is an older motel so cars are parked right outside of your window. Well a couple of the nights I was there, a loud diesel truck started up around 5-6am and it woke me up each time. This was just an annoyance more than anything. Clearly not something the motel owners can control.

The room was pretty small, but it was perfect for me. I'm not a picky traveler and I was gone the majority of the time anyway.

If you're looking for something like a Hilton - look elsewhere. This is a perfect no frills, clean place in a wonderful location.

By the way, try Top Dog (coffee shop) just up the road from the Sundown Inn! They have a great selection of food and beverages!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenlongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
There are newer reviews for Sundown Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 496 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

It's surprisingly clean given the old-fashioned decor. Really nothing to complain about but don't expect an unforgettable journey back in time. I would recommend it for a one-night stay in Morro bay but the real question is: do you really need to stay in Morro Bay?

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Raph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were just looking for a clean place to stay as we were on a roadtrip. Looked up some tripadvisor reviews and decided for this place, it was dirt cheap, around $60 the night I think. Of course, for that price, don't expect any designer furniture, etc but it was very comfortable, very clean and the service was prompt. The bathroom seemed like it had been renovated recently. I would not spend a whole vacation at this place, but for a one night stop while on a roadtrip it's perfect!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Najebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Located towards the end of Main Street and just a couple of streets back from the waterfront, this single-storey motel is well placed for the shops and eateries this pleasant town has to offer.

As other reviewers have said, the decor is somewhat old-fashioned in style but is fresh and bright, so presumably quite new. The room was very clean and well equipped - fridge, coffee-maker, microwave, TV and a table and chairs. As the rooms are not particularly large, this makes them rather "cosy", but that wasn't a problem for us. The only negative was that the walls are very thin - you definitely will hear the neighbours! The owners were very welcoming and friendly.

Be sure to see the motel's website and take advantage of the Sun-Thu special price which makes this place good value for money as we did - I probably wouldn't feel it was such good value if I were paying full price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

First time in Morro Bay for my lady & I. We didn't have a destination in mind on the coast and just picked Morro Bay off the map and glad we did. If you come in from Sequoia as we did, avoid the main route via Paso Robles and stay on CA 41- beautiful scenic drive through farmland, lots of twisty roads - would have been perfect in the MinI! Anyway, in Morro Bay we picked the Sundown Inn based on TA reviews and, again, glad we did. Very friendly owners - been running the place for 30 years, most customers are repeats and they focus on a clean. comfortable hotel at a reasonable rate. Sounded good to me. Sure it looks like an older motor court motel - because that's what it is!! We had room 16 - very clean, not huge but hey it's just for sleeping right? Shower worked well - albeit it would be a bit of a squeeze for quite a few super-sized citizens. Bed was comfortable. Real china tea cups! And the Magic Fingers - what a hoot - plus it worked. My lady from NL had never heard of them before so I dropped a quarter in and we laughed and then - I dropped another quarter in.

Anyway, great spot to stay. Short walk to Embarcadero and some fine restaurants. While you are there be sure to watch the fishing boats unload - the pelicans stealing squid was hilarious! Enjoy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger61Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is definitely an older property but very clean and well maintained. As another review said it is like staying with your Grandma as the décor is old fashioned but room has everything you need and is located close to Embarcadero. The mattress could be better but we did enjoy the magic fingers for 25 cents. We slept with the window open and had no noise issues at all. Was a great value for our coastal road trip and would stay again when passing through.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HFTSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

What you'll get here is probably one of the most unusual motel room decors on the West Coast, consisting of flower arrangements and wallpaper that could have been picked by your grandmother. Top this off with a coin operated vibrating bed from the 60s and you get the picture.

Rooms are very small, the shower is triggering thoughts of claustrophobia and the TV is only slightly larger than my laptop screen. So for 120+tax I would have expected a little more...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teamberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
851 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
696 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#20 of 29 in Morro Bay
335 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#12 of 29 in Morro Bay
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundown Inn

Address: 640 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2291
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Morro Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range: $77 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sundown Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Morro Bay motel that has been featured in the Los Angeles Times. Walking distance from the waterfront, golf course, state park and other city attractions. Only 30 minutes from Hearst Castle. Clean, comfortable, and cozy rooms to brighten your stay in Morro Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Sundown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundown Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing