We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4th of July Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sundown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sundown Inn
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“4th of July Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Sundown Inn was very well maintained and homey. The Owner's, Ta& Ann Lin were very welcoming and shared their knowledge of events for the fourth of July weekend. Room#15 was very clean and comfortable, I haven't sleep so well away from home in a long time. I'm sure a lot of people may be swayed to to stay in the newer modern accommodations in town, but for us we will seek out the Sundown Inn for our future stays!!

Room Tip: Specify your sleeping accommodations (king, queen etc...)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    171
    30
    3
    0
See reviews for
78
251
37
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

A friend and I stayed three nights at a very reasonable rate for the area. Although this property is typical of the older motor-court style, everything was clean and well-maintained, and the beds were comfortable. One bed was a Magic Fingers, which was a blast from the distant past for me and a new treat for my companion. Our room was really quiet at night (mid-July) so we slept well. We walked just a couple of blocks to get to a great coffeeshop (Top Dog), some cute shops, or the Embarcadero, and from there we could stroll out to Morro Rock (where we spent an enchanted time observing four pairs of mama-and-baby sea otters in the estuary, just yards from us). The owner, Ann, made us feel very welcome. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AsteriasNorCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
166 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

It is easy to see why this is a TA favorite; these owners care about this property. It is smaller and older but all furnishings have been updated to modern standards. Our room #3 was average-small with 2 doubles (all that was avail that nite) but an open-beam ceiling made it seem bigger; it was clean & well cared-for with clean tile showers. The location is super near the main downtown intersection and within easy walking distance of the harbor front.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidNolanCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here over the 4th of July. It was quiet as could be and clean and welcoming. We walked down to the Embarcadero to shop and go boating during the day and over to Tidelands Park for the fireworks in the evening. The weather was heaven, especially coming away from the heat wave that we were in. Always a great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahsha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Morro Bay is not the cheapest town in the U.S. to visit, but the Sundown Inn offers a very reasonable rate for a clean, safe, well kept, comfortable environment in a prime location. The owners are very friendly and helpful, making it seem like a home away from home. My wife and I have stayed here a number of times over the years and consider this family operated motel to be our number one choice.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Grey_weasle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Sundown Inn in Morro Bay, once again. We have been staying there for many years, and have always enjoyed it. Every time we stay there, it seems that something has been improved. This time, we found a new mattress (very comfortable), and new fixtures in the bathroom. Everything is always clean and fresh. It is close enough to all of our old haunts that we walk almost everywhere, the embarcadero, shops, and even out to the end of the road at Morro Rock to see the Peregrine falcons and sea otters. Their rates are extremely reasonable, so we can stay longer than we could have at another place.

Room Tip: We have stayed in about half or their rooms over the years, all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thomabrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Well, as my "title" (yes, a bit long, oh well ;) ) here says, I had a feeling that staying here at the Sundown Inn would be a pleasant stay, and I was right! I was only able to stay one night, around a 16 hour stay, but that time (even while sleeping--very comfy, quiet) there was very nice, and I must thank the owners--I believe they are a couple, not sure, but I "dealt" with Ann, who was such a sweetheart! And, from the cleanliness and decor of the room (even a pink(ish) bathroom, nice!), to the way the whole grounds looked on the outside, I could easily see how much pride (and hard work!) they have in their motel and property. Thank you, both, and I look forward to staying there again someday!

Room Tip: Room 14 worked for me! :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KelliNicole7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
#8 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.4 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundown Inn

Property: Sundown Inn
Address: 640 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2291
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Morro Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sundown Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Morro Bay motel that has been featured in the Los Angeles Times. Walking distance from the waterfront, golf course, state park and other city attractions. Only 30 minutes from Hearst Castle. Clean, comfortable, and cozy rooms to brighten your stay in Morro Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sundown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundown Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing