We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll be back!”
Review of Sundown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sundown Inn
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Last week I went to Morro Bay. Sundown Inn is the place to stay! Clean, quiet, safe. Everything you need: microwave, mini fridge, coffee maker. Comfortable beds - your home away from home. Short walk to the harbor. Privately run by nice people who will take good care of you.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imanexcellentdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (507)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 507 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

Well maintained and very clean-a real find!! My wife left some clothes in the room, we called, and they shipped them to us and we had them within a few days!! Excellent service! This ace is a real value because of the cleanliness, location, and price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at the Sundown Inn while in Morro Bay to celebrate our anniversary. I chose it with a little trepidation because it was so low priced compared to most in the area but it had such great reviews that I just had to try it. We were certainly NOT disappointed and were really pleasantly surprised. The hosts are friendly, always about and really care about their guests. Many motels are managed by people who really aren't invested in their guests. So NICE! The room was REALLY clean. No dust bunnies in the corners, clean bathroom and shower. The location is super, just a couple of blocks to the Embarcadero and close to all of the antique shops in Old Town. We truly enjoyed being there!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I picked this place based on what others have said about Sundown Inn, and was extremely pleased! This is probably the best independently owned little motel I have ever stayed in. The owner was a very sweet lady and sincerely cared about our stay. She's always walking around doing things and whenever she saw me, she asked how everything was. The rooms are decorated nicely with lots of cute little items you don't normally see in a motel room giving it some great personal touches. Grounds are extremely clean and very well maintained. Lots of fresh paint, potted plants about, and everything is very neat. It's only a few blocks from the waterfront and only one block walking distance from a great little local bar if you want to have a few drinks and pizza in the evening.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We enjoyed our stay. The room was very clean and well cared for. The owner was always working on the Inn while we were staying. She always asked how things were and was helpful. We would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50andhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Adorable clean and comfy. Very hospitable owners. This is like the motels of old. Can be noisy in am because you hear the cars coming and going in the parking lot. Not ritzy.....just a great little motel. Mazel tov.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boopatsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I stayed in 2010, but just remembered to leave a review - the place is run by a Taiwanese family who were really kind - they told us where to eat, and were also very warm and friendly. The hostess is a Taiwanese mother of 4, and she's VERY, VERY CLEAN! I am usually very particular about hotels and don't feel clean when I sleep in their beds, but for once during my 2 week trip, I slept feeling like the sheets were clean.

Highly recommend!

It's located about a 10 min walk away from the seaside. Very idyllic place <3

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiku C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
866 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
707 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#13 of 29 in Morro Bay
318 reviews
0.4 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundown Inn

Address: 640 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2291
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Morro Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range: $62 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sundown Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Morro Bay motel that has been featured in the Los Angeles Times. Walking distance from the waterfront, golf course, state park and other city attractions. Only 30 minutes from Hearst Castle. Clean, comfortable, and cozy rooms to brighten your stay in Morro Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Sundown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundown Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing