We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sundown Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sundown Inn
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Fabulous stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We picked based on other's reviews and were not disappointed. Very friendly hosts, spotless room, short walk to the heart of downtown. Very comfortable bed and flat screen TV with lots of channels. Definitely will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanNTerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    153
    27
    2
    0
See reviews for
67
213
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
101 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Good service and price, helpful staff or owner. Clean och cosy. Styled more like a home than a motel. Tv, microwave, fridge, coffemachine. Small showercabin. Good location in Morro Bay, a small nice town on Highway 1.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee0401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We extended a recent vacation to the Central Coast in late September/early October by a day and decided to stay in Morro Bay,and picked this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews. We were not disappointed. Usually I shy away from motels such as this only because I am super noise sensitive and worried that thin walls and cars parked right outside our window would keep me awake, but it turned out not to be a problem at all. The owner was extremely friendly and welcoming and the room was charming...it really did remind me of California road trips with my parents and 3 older brothers in the late 1960's/early 1970's. It was super clean. The price could ot be beat...the most inexpensive motel I've stayed at in years and one of the most fun. There are great thrift stores, a lovely movie theater and a fantastic Foster's Freeze all within walking distance, as is the pier. Would recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sballard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We drove from Vegas and loved the friendly service we received from Ana. We were married the day before and she gave us a wedding gift and the king room. We walked to dinner, breakfast and to see the squirrels and seals at the beach. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsQuigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed here on a quick trip down the coast from San Mateo before heading east to Sequoia National Park. It was very, very clean. It is a basic motel but comfortable. The location is excellent, within walking distance of several good restaurants. The owners were friendly but not too helpful with restaurant suggestions. We relied (as usual) on Trip Advisor for recommendations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reisenoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Opening the door to our motel room made us smile instantly, the decor was soooo cute even though i'd usually vomit at the thought of florals. you can tell they keep their rooms immaculately clean. On top of that, the owners are very helpful and even helped us out by providing a vacuum for our car.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartyGenYAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Good price, very close to the ocean, extremely neat, clean, comfortable, various amenities including a flat screen t.v., wi fi, refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, ice maker, and terrific service.

We will definitely be staying there again soon and would recommend Sundown Inn to any friends and family who want to visit Morro Bay and/or Hearst Castle.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 561 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Morro Bay
Days Inn Morro Bay
#8 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 742 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#10 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 517 reviews
0.2 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#6 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundown Inn

Property: Sundown Inn
Address: 640 Main Street, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Morro Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sundown Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Morro Bay motel that has been featured in the Los Angeles Times. Walking distance from the waterfront, golf course, state park and other city attractions. Only 30 minutes from Hearst Castle. Clean, comfortable, and cozy rooms to brighten your stay in Morro Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Sundown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundown Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing