We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying here is a highly recommended!”
Review of Sundown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sundown Inn
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I'm a Fussbudget...cleanliness is my first priority! Sundown Inn met my standards..unlike some Hamptons, or Super 8's..even a world better than The Cove in Lake Geneva!
Family owned and ran, very personable, prompt, friendly, helpful..Great Value

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FussBudget1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 498 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Cute and cozy!!! Classic Pink bath room tile and flat screen TV. Thus motel is within nice walking distance to many restaurants and the bay. The gentleman at the desk was very helpful and friendly. You can tell the owners truly care. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingCraigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The room had the extra little touches that took what looked like a typical motel from the outside and transformed it into a homier stay. The owners are happy to give extra information about the town. It really is more of an old-fashioned strip motel than an inn, but the rooms are very clean, there is a microwave and small refrigerator, ice, and all you need for a short stay.

The location is superb! Right off the main road, and 2 blocks from the harbor. We were able to walk to local restaurants, and even out to the rock from the inn. I always thought that the rock was an island. You can actually walk, ride bikes or even drive out there.

I left my cell phone charger in the room, and the owners promptly returned it to me, when I called, then sent them a self-addressed stamped envelope. It was just one more service that really helped to make our stay memorable and enjoyable.

Room Tip: Away from the main road, and a corner room are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbrodydhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This family run inn is very sweet. Staying there is as if staying with them in their home. It is a trip to the '60s when California was really magic. Somewhat whimsical and tiny in many ways, the rooms have everything needed. The decor is not "motel box", but has the owner's touch. The inn was full and all guests were smiling. Ask about breakfast to get 15% discount on breakfast just two blocks away at a cozy restaurant. The marina is a few blocks down the hill. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: We got the last room in the back corner. It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camel_Watcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The first thing I gotta say is that this room was very clean. The owners have been there a long time and quite tastefully renovated the place by updating the plumbing and fixtures but keeping the charm. Great location, too! I would definitely stay there again!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hugh867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Super clean motel........really nice owners.............We travel alot and this was one of the cleanest rooms I have ever stayed in...........great shower...........comfortable bed.....close to all the action.............we have stayed closer to the ocean and paid $250 per nite two blocks away.....wont do that again!!!!!..........do yourself a favor.........stay at the Sundown Inn

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yvonne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Tried to Sundown after seeing the ratings for it and we we very happy with it. Not a huge place, but close to everything and beautiful rooms. The people that own the place are very friendly and look out for you. We got in late the first night and they made sure they had a parking spot saved for us.

Room Tip: I am not sure about the rest of the rooms, but we stayed in 12 and it had a King size bed, the place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bdeditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
859 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
697 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#12 of 29 in Morro Bay
308 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundown Inn

Address: 640 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2291
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Morro Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range: $67 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sundown Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Morro Bay motel that has been featured in the Los Angeles Times. Walking distance from the waterfront, golf course, state park and other city attractions. Only 30 minutes from Hearst Castle. Clean, comfortable, and cozy rooms to brighten your stay in Morro Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Sundown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundown Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing