We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Makes me smile”
Review of Sundown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sundown Inn
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Makes me smile”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This family run inn is very sweet. Staying there is as if staying with them in their home. It is a trip to the '60s when California was really magic. Somewhat whimsical and tiny in many ways, the rooms have everything needed. The decor is not "motel box", but has the owner's touch. The inn was full and all guests were smiling. Ask about breakfast to get 15% discount on breakfast just two blocks away at a cozy restaurant. The marina is a few blocks down the hill. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: We got the last room in the back corner. It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camel_Watcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    175
    30
    3
    0
See reviews for
81
257
37
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The first thing I gotta say is that this room was very clean. The owners have been there a long time and quite tastefully renovated the place by updating the plumbing and fixtures but keeping the charm. Great location, too! I would definitely stay there again!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hugh867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Super clean motel........really nice owners.............We travel alot and this was one of the cleanest rooms I have ever stayed in...........great shower...........comfortable bed.....close to all the action.............we have stayed closer to the ocean and paid $250 per nite two blocks away.....wont do that again!!!!!..........do yourself a favor.........stay at the Sundown Inn

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yvonne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oroville, California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Tried to Sundown after seeing the ratings for it and we we very happy with it. Not a huge place, but close to everything and beautiful rooms. The people that own the place are very friendly and look out for you. We got in late the first night and they made sure they had a parking spot saved for us.

Room Tip: I am not sure about the rest of the rooms, but we stayed in 12 and it had a King size bed, the place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bdeditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

If you are looking for a clean quite location, this is it. The Sundown Inn is a classic motor court hotel. The room includes a fridge and microwave. The shower was great nice and to with a good flow. You can easily walk to the waterfront or it is a short drive. All in all a good stay at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcwillis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We reserved a room at the Sundown Inn in Morro Bay, talking on the phone to a very nice lady before making the commitment. Upon arrival and to our pleasant surprise they gave us a very nice room reserved for disabled guests. Very nice queen bed, very clean bathroom with a large door. There was a good-size refrigerator, microwave and a very nice TV set. No air conditioning (no need in Morro Bay most of the time) but there was a fan, which was rather noisy. A family kept the motel as if it was their home.

Room Tip: Ask for the room reserved for disabled guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claremonttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Based on reviews from TA we decided to spend one night at the Sundown Inn. As others have mentioned it was super clean. Cute little pink flowered bedspread and pillow shams. Bed was very comfortable, bathroom adequate, microwave, small refrigerator, coffeemaker. I’d say my only minor complaint was the room was a bit warm as the sun hit the room in the afternoon. But if you opened your windows and the door just slightly there was a nice cross breeze. They have a tower fan too for when it’s too hot. Morro Bay normally isn’t too warm but we hit it on one of those rare occasions. Jon and Ann are the owners and their hand work & maintenance certainly shows.
And it’s the perfect location just two short blocks to the embarcadero. Be sure and have breakfast at Frankie & Lola’s. It’s the best!
We would not hesitate to stay her again. And for our Thurs night stay we had a great rate of $69!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denise1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
832 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
686 reviews
0.2 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
615 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
314 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundown Inn

Property: Sundown Inn
Address: 640 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2291
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Morro Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sundown Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Morro Bay motel that has been featured in the Los Angeles Times. Walking distance from the waterfront, golf course, state park and other city attractions. Only 30 minutes from Hearst Castle. Clean, comfortable, and cozy rooms to brighten your stay in Morro Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Sundown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundown Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing