We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A Classic "Motor Inn"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sundown Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sundown Inn
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Morro Bay, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Classic "Motor Inn"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

If you are travelling in Morro Bay and want to stay in a classic "old school" California motel, then the Sundown Inn is where you want to be. This place is a vintage "mom and pop" run motel with a great location close to both downtown and the waterfront. Plenty of places to eat and shop close by. Walking distance to Morro Bay's nightlife and during the car show this place is booked solid, so seasonal travellers should plan accordingly.
This place screams Americana, right down to the "Magic Fingers" bed vibrators wich appear to be original and still work! But just because the place is vintage do not assume that it is run down or low quality. Through all my travels in California I have not run across a cleaner hotel than this.
The Lins make regular tasteful upgrades where they count. You will always have a well appointed room, though without many frills: A modern flat screen TV that will always work, a dependable wireless connection, a neat little fridge [perfect to keep that six pack nice and chilly!], a micro, a little coffee maker that works good and is always stocked with coffee and creamers. The showers are steaming hot and the rooms are real cosy with old wall heaters that are very well maintained, not those big noisy plastic monstrosities you get at many of the national chains.
When you stay at the Sundown Inn you are staying at a truly family owned and run operation. And they really do care about your comfort. This is what keeps people like me coming back here again and again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    170
    29
    2
    0
See reviews for
77
243
35
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

Like the others have said, it's an olders tyle motel very simply laid out. The decore is out of date but it's absolutely spotless and has a fridge, microwave and tv. It also has one of those 25c bed massagers - haven't seen one of those before!

The lady at the front desk was very polite and helpful and it's a 5 minute walk to the waters edge.

When looking at value for money I don't know if it can be beat. I hadn't been to Morro Bay before and it was great for an overnight stop and much better value for money than much of the accomodation in nearby San Luis Obispo.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlon34872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

The Sundown Inn doesnt appear to be much from the outside but the rooms were very clean, staff freindly and prices extremely reasonable. Everything was exactly what you would expect from an older motel. We did use a vehicle for getting to the harbor/waterfront but could easily be walked (we didn't arrive till 8pm so were not too aware of our surroundings.)
The biggest suprise of the motel was the vibrating bed feature. Heven't seen that in a room for years so had to give it a try and experience it again. Classic!!
Overall the Inn was a great value and would recommend it for budget minded travels who do not prefer chain establishments, like myself.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LASkeeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

The motel was at an easy to find location and close to the downtown, but requires driving to the waterfront. The room was well remodeled, furnished, and very clean. But room lacked a lot of features that we are used to finding at the motel like hair dryer, iron, air conditioner, and the ice "bucket" was more a "cup" size of only about 1/4 the normal size. The room had very few electrical outlets and no strip plug. The bed comfort was fair. No continental breakfast, fitness room, or complimentary newspaper. We found a coupon on-line and in a travel magazine for room at discount price. Even with the coupon, the room was only average value.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ronald j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sundowmotel, Manager at Sundown Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2011
Thank you for your comment and your patronage at Sundown Inn. Our in-room ice bucket is 32 ounces, which holds enough ice for 4 cups. We are sorry, we are a small motel and do not have a fitness room. Thank you again and please let us know if you need anything at your next stay, so we can accommodate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

The Sundown Inn doesn't look like much, but it's everything that a motel should be -- clean, quiet, with little touches that, though a little too cute at times, show how much the owners care. And the owners are wonderful. Throw in a good location (walking distance to the waterfront) and affordable rates and you have a winner. Rooms are set back a ways from Main Street (which, despite its name, is not very busy at night). Queen bed is the largest they have, and the mattress is somewhat soft, but not really an issue. Very modern flatscreen TV (unusual in this class of motel). Owner said she would give me a future discount "as a repeat customer." Nice touch: memory without a computer. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank metlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

After many hours spent online, trawling through all of the options we spotted the reviews for the Sundown Inn and made our choice. It was fantastic. Very good value and conveniently located for a wide selection of places to eat and drink. The staff/owners were really nice and made us feel at home. My only negative point was the pillows - not very comfortable. That said, I'd definitely stay there again, which I guess says it all.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, VA
Level Contributor
156 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

The other reviewers were right about this place. It's clean as a whistle. The room even came with a refrigerator (can't remember a microwave but I think it had that too). It's just a basic motel but it is furnished very nicely. You can get a bit of a break on the rate if you ask for their internet rate but the rates are really good anyway. Very convenient. We walked to everthing in Morro Bay. Morro Bay is a fun place because even though it's focused on tourism it doesn't seem to be terribly crowded. The lodging and eating prices are very reasonable and it's right on the water. And yes you can see Morro Rock from your room at Sundown Inn (it's not directly on the water but just up the hill a couple of blocks).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MisterMVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#10 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.2 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundown Inn

Property: Sundown Inn
Address: 640 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2291
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Morro Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sundown Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Morro Bay motel that has been featured in the Los Angeles Times. Walking distance from the waterfront, golf course, state park and other city attractions. Only 30 minutes from Hearst Castle. Clean, comfortable, and cozy rooms to brighten your stay in Morro Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Sundown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundown Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing