We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and comfortable older motel. Perfect for Morro Bay”
Review of Sundown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sundown Inn
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Washington
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very nice and comfortable older motel. Perfect for Morro Bay”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Like many of the small motels in Morro Bay, this is an older motel. And also like many others it has been carefully and lovingly restored by the owning family. My room was clean and comfortable. The décor was a friendlier and personalized than most chain motels and motor lodges with family touches on the walls and in the selection for furniture and accessories. The bed was comfortable and when the environment is quiet then you can get some good sound sleep.

(OK, so that sounds a little conditional. The nice thing about older Morro Bay is that many of the motels are on obscure downtown streets and intermixed with houses and the like. There is clearly no highway noise since SR 1 is way out to the east. The only problem with my room is that the walls between adjoining rooms curiously transmitted more noise than most motor lodges. I don’t know why. In other motels you can hear your neighbors in a muffled sort of way. In my room I could hear the exact conversation of the two people in the one room next to me all through the evening! They certainly did not know that by the way they were carrying on, and I could have done without it too. But that’s the way it is. When they finally went to bed it was very quiet.)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Road_Rambler59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    175
    30
    3
    0
See reviews for
81
257
37
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Passing through the area, we booked a room for one night because of the good reviews and the fact that it was half the price of nearby Best Westerns -- and we were not disappointed! Our motel-style room was immaculately clean and comfortable, and stocked with a decent-sized fridge, microwave, coffee-maker, and small flat-screen TV. No complaints whatsoever, and we'd definitely stay here again, even if we were staying for longer.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikelovesutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

My friends and I stayed here with our kids and we had such a comfortable and pleasant stay! The hosts were welcoming and accommodating to our needs. The rooms were comfortable, clean, and the hotel is walking distance to downtown Morro Bay. We got in late and they made sure we were taken care of, and we had all sorts of requests and questions for the hosts the next morning and they happily assisted us with directions to the nicest breakfast places and whatever else we needed. They were pleasant and friendly. Thank you! I would recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyLaffalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We were a bit leery because of the incredibly low price but all the positive reviews about this place proved accurate. The rooms are very clean. They provide you with a microwave,a half size refrigerator, coffee maker, a vertical, oscillating fan and a flat screen TV. The bathrooms have been renovated and the rooms have nice big closets. The beds, while not pillow-top luxurious, are comfortable. The wireless worked but was rather slow and sometimes intermittent. We left the fan on at night to block any noises and slept very well. The motel is located in a safe, residential area within easy walking distance of down town and the waterfront tourist district. The owners were very welcoming and eager to help or provide information.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

My husband and I and my parents were driving down the coast towards La and we stayed here two nights. I chose this place as for the rating and the price and I was surprised with how nice it really was. The owners take pride in this place and it shows. Had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisalou63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

This is a lovely motel in Morro Bay. The owner is very friendly and helpful and gave us some great tips for places to go for dinner and breakfast.

The room was clean and very floral! The shower was one of the best we encountered in our two week trip, and the bed was really comfortable. The free wi-fi was great, and there are phones in all the rooms, so we were able to make a couple of local calls to arrange further accommodation and excursions. The massage bed is worth a go for fun! Would definitely recommend for anyone staying in the Morro Bay area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

We had planned to camp, but we were tired and wanted creature comforts instead of a tent. The room was super comfortable, clean and really cute. The owners were great and thought of everything, from a room fan to a hand-held shower. Great value.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayaker1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
832 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
686 reviews
0.2 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
615 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
314 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundown Inn

Property: Sundown Inn
Address: 640 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2291
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Morro Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sundown Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Morro Bay motel that has been featured in the Los Angeles Times. Walking distance from the waterfront, golf course, state park and other city attractions. Only 30 minutes from Hearst Castle. Clean, comfortable, and cozy rooms to brighten your stay in Morro Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Sundown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundown Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing