We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New find.”
Review of La Serena Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Serena Inn
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 6, 2014

My husband and I agree on this: we have found a new 'home away from home' when wandering through Morro Bay. Quiet and peaceful. Very helpful front desk and friendly staff. Comfortable bed. Thanking the hotel for their attention to detail!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cra41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G. M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are thrilled to know how pleased you were with your stay. It would be our pleasure to provide you with another wonderful stay when you visit Morro Bay.
Happy Travels,
La Serena Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 298 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed two nights,hotel and staff were very friendly and helpful. Hotel was quiet and we felt safe,would definately return to this hotel. Rooms were clean,had coffee, microwave and a small fridge. Parking was easy and convenient.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mehoe29084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Be sure to call us direct for the best rate and exact room type. We look forward to seeing you again.
happy Travels,
La Serena Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

For our anniversary (58th) we made reservations at the La Serena Inn in Morro Bay, CA. Our room was the suite on the second floor had a fireplace and its balcony overlooked the Morro Rock. It is located near the center of town, near many restaurants, and the embarrcadero. There are hiking trails, Hearst Castle, wine tasting and other small quaint villages within a few minutes drive.

When we arrived there was a botttle of chilled champaigne waiting for us.

La Serena Inn is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a view of the rock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

We'll be here for your next anniversary celebration. Call us direct for the best rate and exact room type.
Regards,
La Serena Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

To say we enjoyed a four day stay at La Serena - Morro Bay, is an understatement! The room was near the elevator on the 2nd floor, and, but for luggage being rolled across a tile floor during checkin/out, was serene and comfy. Large room, king bed and bathroom is tastefully decorated. We travel a lot, cross-country with our quiet, calm, non-shedding poodle Curly. He'd even give La Serena four paws up - except for the $28/nt pet charge(s). Friendly management, helpful staff, satisfying breakfasts, attractive landscaping, and cool covered parking are definitely pluses.

Room Tip: View rooms - 2nd floor and above. Small bay-facing balcony is great for sunset libations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

The staff of the La Serena Inn is so pleased to know you both and Curly had such a nice stay with us. We look forward to seeing you all again on your next trip to our beautiful area.
Best Regards,
La Serena Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

My family and I stayed here on a trip down the coast last month via Groupon and it was such a good deal! The room was clean and comfortable, the staff was very friendly, the kids loved the waffle machines, and the location was great, I'd definitely stay here again and recommend it to others!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

We are happy to read that you and your family had a wonderful stay with us. Be sure to call us direct for the exact room type and the best rate.
Happy Travels,
La Serena Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed one night here. The room was large and the bed was very comfortable. The room and bathroom were very clean and all the staff polite and helpful. Breakfast was awful. I appreciate they state it is complimentary but I would rather they did not offer any. I know it's down to personal taste but this was aloud of sugary rubbish on offer. Apart from that if returning we would consider staying here.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Corran9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

The staff of the La Serena Inn is happy to know your stay was comfortable. We apologize for not meeting your expectations regarding breakfast, we do try and provide something for everyone. We hope you'll visit us again when you come to Morro Bay.
Regards,
La Serena Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Welcoming and friendly staff, rates were good. Great location, walking distance to ocean and Main Street. Our room was spacious and clean and the king bed was very comfortable. We will defiantly be coming back... Thanks for such a nice getaway :)

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Candie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

It's our pleasure to know you had a lovely getaway, thanks for giving us the opportunity to provide you with excellent guest service. We look forward to seeing you again. Be sure to call us direct for the exact room type and the best rate.
Happy travels,
La Serena Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
862 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
697 reviews
0.2 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
650 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#12 of 29 in Morro Bay
309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Serena Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Serena Inn

Address: 990 Morro Ave, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range: $99 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Serena Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Serena Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Serena Hotel Morro Bay
La Serena Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing