We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great place and great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Serena Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Serena Inn
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Berkeley, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place and great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

My family and I stayed here on a trip down the coast last month via Groupon and it was such a good deal! The room was clean and comfortable, the staff was very friendly, the kids loved the waffle machines, and the location was great, I'd definitely stay here again and recommend it to others!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
We are happy to read that you and your family had a wonderful stay with us. Be sure to call us direct for the exact room type and the best rate.
Happy Travels,
La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    113
    33
    10
    6
See reviews for
74
125
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness Scotland
Level Contributor
154 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night here. The room was large and the bed was very comfortable. The room and bathroom were very clean and all the staff polite and helpful. Breakfast was awful. I appreciate they state it is complimentary but I would rather they did not offer any. I know it's down to personal taste but this was aloud of sugary rubbish on offer. Apart from that if returning we would consider staying here.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Corran9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
The staff of the La Serena Inn is happy to know your stay was comfortable. We apologize for not meeting your expectations regarding breakfast, we do try and provide something for everyone. We hope you'll visit us again when you come to Morro Bay.
Regards,
La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanford, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Welcoming and friendly staff, rates were good. Great location, walking distance to ocean and Main Street. Our room was spacious and clean and the king bed was very comfortable. We will defiantly be coming back... Thanks for such a nice getaway :)

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Candie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
It's our pleasure to know you had a lovely getaway, thanks for giving us the opportunity to provide you with excellent guest service. We look forward to seeing you again. Be sure to call us direct for the exact room type and the best rate.
Happy travels,
La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey
Level Contributor
181 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I have stayed here several times over the last few years. The rooms are spacious and clean. The beds are comfortable. The location is within walking distance to the water, beach and restaurants. They have a great, complimentary breakfast every morning. Keep up the great work, La Serena Inn and I will keep coming back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Morro Rock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for another awesome review. We love to hear from our repeat guests and look forward to seeing you again.
Best Regards,
La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

After visiting Disneyland we were all dreading the long drive from Annaheim to Sacramento so we decided to look for a place to stay overnight about roughly half way and I came upon La Serena Inn. What a lovely surprise this Inn is---a short drive just a short drive from the freeway. Check in was fast and painless. We chose a room with 2 Queen size beds and a small balcony(from which we had a lovely view of Morro Rock) such a spacious room--lovely whitewashed oak furniture,coffee/tea maker,microwave, small refrigerator, free wi-fi etc , bathroom was spacious with lovely toiletries etc and for those travellers who may have disabilities the bathtub had several supports.
A continental breakfast is served on the 3rd floor which has a nice dining area plus an outside patio. Breakfast you had a choice of cereals, fruit,hard boiled eggs etc. This was my first visit to Morro Bay and I found it so much more tourist friendly than say Monterey,Pacific Grove etc where parking rates are exorbitant---no parking charges in Morro Bay :) The waterfront was just a short walk and you can drive right out to Morro Rock along a causeway bordered by a lovely beach which my little grandson loved.
I definately would visit Morro Bay again and of course stay at the La Serena Inn. The Inn also participates in Californias Green Lodging Program .

Room Tip: I think the rooms with the small balcony are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greatscot47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M.Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
The staff at La Serena Inn was so happy to know of your stay with us. We'd love to once again provide you with another wonderful stay on your next trip to Morro Bay.
La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We rolled into town and hadn't a clue where to stay, many of the hotels had no vacancy or we're pretty $$. Carly greeted me and I immediately knew we should stay here. Mainly bc she right away offered other options at sister properties in the area if their one vacant room didn't please. The room itself was ok but had a decent view of the water from a balcony and suited us just fine. She was great and I wasn't surprised the next day to see her picture on the wall as employee of the month. Few suggestions: hotel smells very strongly of soap in the hallways and rooms (less is more). Otherwise great- close to restaurants, bars, great view of Morro Rock from the free breakfast room and outside patio.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jodonnell915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Nichole and the staff are so happy to know that we helped make your visit to Morro Bay a good one. Come see us again and be sure to call us direct for the best rate and exact room type.
Happy Travels,
La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 576 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#10 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Morro Bay
Days Inn Morro Bay
#8 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 769 reviews
1.1 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 606 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ascot Inn at the Rock
Ascot Inn at the Rock
#12 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Serena Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Serena Inn

Property: La Serena Inn
Address: 990 Morro Ave, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2138
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Serena Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your La Serena Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Serena Hotel Morro Bay
La Serena Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing